Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
323 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

m500 speeds

Hi everyone 

Im new to virgin iv had are new m500 for about 3 weeks now was working grate. But i noticed the last few days the speeds where dropping i was averaging around 33up and 430down on a bad day.

Today when i hit peak times 1min its drops down to 220down and 22up and the next minute its up to 350down and 28up not going over 400down anymore. Iv been tracking my up and down for a few hours now.

All speed tests where done by lan cable iv even tried virgins trouble shooting tips and checked all cables are hand tight.

My setup

Hub 3 in modem mode with a TP link ax11000 wifi6.

I feel like when it comes to peak times the virgin Network cant keep up with the demand. Now alot more people being at home because of lockdown. 

Will post my hub data couldn't seem to fit everything in to this post was maxed out.

Thanks oz

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
318 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

m500 speeds

 

Item Status Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
202750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
39400165
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
 

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm

 

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID331008
Max Traffic Rate575000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0

 

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID331007
Max Traffic Rate38520000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394001653.875512064 qam6
2326002053.85512032 qam7
3462001213.875512064 qam5
4258000183.825512016 qam8

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts  

1ATDMA0000 
2ATDMA0000 
3ATDMA0000 
4ATDMA0000 

 



 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
313 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

m500 speeds

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12027500002.437256 qam9
2210750000237256 qam10
32187500001.738256 qam11
42267500001.437256 qam12
52347500001.237256 qam13
62427500000.937256 qam14
72507500000.737256 qam15
82587500000.737256 qam16
92667500000.737256 qam17
102747500000.737256 qam18
112827500000.537256 qam19
122907500000.737256 qam20
13298750000137256 qam21
14306750000137256 qam22
15314750000137256 qam23
163227500000.937256 qam24
17330750000137256 qam25
183707500000.237256 qam26
19378750000037256 qam27
20386750000037256 qam28
21394750000037256 qam29
22402750000037256 qam30
23410750000037256 qam31
24418750000-0.737256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.650
2Locked37.660
3Locked38.660
4Locked37.650
5Locked37.340
6Locked37.660
7Locked37.350
8Locked37.640
9Locked37.340
10Locked37.660
11Locked37.660
12Locked37.6130
13Locked37.650
14Locked37.650
15Locked37.660
16Locked37.670
17Locked37.380
18Locked37.370
19Locked37.3150
20Locked37.660
21Locked37.640
22Locked37.360
23Locked37.370
24Locked37.650

 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.45K
  • 753
  • 1.81K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
286 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 speeds

Power levels, SNR and modulation are all ell inside permitted ranges.  If there's peak time congestion, then that's bad news.  In some cases this is Covid related and may disappear if we ever get back to normal again, equally "over-utilisation" seemed to be creeping up for some people long before Covid became an issue, and VM's track record on resolving this is poor.

Set up a Broadband Quality Monitor.  Let it run for 24 hours and then post a link to shared live graph.  That'll give us an idea of what's going on, and we can comment accordingly.

 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
272 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 speeds

Thank you for your reply i will set 1 up today.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8.98K
  • 87
  • 586
Hero
229 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 speeds

Some channel levels in the upload are too low should all be 64 qam

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394001653.875512064 qam6
2326002053.85512032 qam7
3462001213.875512064 qam5
4258000183.825512016 qam8

 

Check that wired connections are inserted fully and where they are screwed in are thumb tight

 

Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
196 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 speeds

Thanks for the feedback 

When you mean ? 

Check that wired connections are inserted fully and where they are screwed in are thumb tight.

As in the hub3's and my ax11000 connections or all my lan cables connection around my house.

Thanks oz

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.45K
  • 753
  • 1.81K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
187 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 speeds

No, what @Buffer6 means is that I missed a trick, and he (she) has correctly spotted that your upstream modulation is all over the place, and that's the most likely cause of problems.  If you will give them the time to do so (can take a few days) the forum staff will be able to advise.

@jbrennand : Me too.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
168 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 speeds

Thank you

0 Kudos
Reply