Menu
Reply
Quinntence
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
549 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

m500 slow speed

Using the hub 3 as a modem connected to a deco p9, using a cat 6 ethernet while being the only one connected I'm seeing 200 - 240 Mbps on speedtest.net and googles speed test. The downstream on the hub 3 concerns me a little. Here is the hub's status:

 

No issues in the area according to the service checker and when I run a test on the app it says they noticed a problem but it never gets resolved. This is a recent installation and apart from a great first day and one other day with brilliant speeds we've been having subpar speeds.

0 Kudos
Reply
Quinntence
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
548 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 slow speed

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
475000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
53700000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14750000004.140256 qam37
22510000003.240256 qam15
32590000003.740256 qam16
42670000004.640256 qam17
52750000005.340256 qam18
62830000005.540256 qam19
72910000005.640256 qam20
82990000006.140256 qam21
93070000006.340256 qam22
103150000006.440256 qam23
113230000006.540256 qam24
123710000006.540256 qam25
133790000005.640256 qam26
143870000005.140256 qam27
153950000005.140256 qam28
164110000005.140256 qam29
174190000005.340256 qam30
184270000005.340256 qam31
19435000000540256 qam32
20443000000540256 qam33
21451000000540256 qam34
224590000004.840256 qam35
234670000004.540256 qam36
244830000004.140256 qam38



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.95412
2Locked40.388040
3Locked40.359315
4Locked40.345319
5Locked40.925514
6Locked40.915012
7Locked40.39715
8Locked40.310919
9Locked40.917117
10Locked40.333229
11Locked40.912928
12Locked40.94014
13Locked40.95416
14Locked40.96315
15Locked40.94915
16Locked40.35112
17Locked40.94614
18Locked40.94812
19Locked40.34312
20Locked40.34612
21Locked40.94012
22Locked40.34912
23Locked40.94812
24Locked40.95611

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Quinntence
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
546 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 slow speed

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1537000004.875512064 qam10
2394000074.875512064 qam12
3461999794.875512064 qam11
4603000144.875512064 qam9



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

31/08/2020 06:48:13ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/08/2020 02:08:14criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/08/2020 16:47:27noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/08/2020 15:19:32criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.93K
Alessandro Volta
529 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 slow speed

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
carl_pearce
  • 4.73K
  • 402
  • 706
Superstar
526 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 slow speed

Considering your stats look ok to troubleshoot I'd suggest turning off the HUB.

With it still in modem mode plug it directly into a PC/laptop instead of your third party router.

Turn on the HUB, wait for it to initialize, then do another speed test.

0 Kudos
Reply
Quinntence
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
506 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 slow speed

Heres the bqm:

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/0ba1e8ddb84acb035706822003f16f3a63...  

 Will test the network tonight with it in modem mode connected directly.

0 Kudos
Reply
Quinntence
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
498 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 slow speed

My router was blocking wan pings, sorted now so the graph should show proper results soon

 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.93K
Alessandro Volta
461 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 slow speed

Don't forget to update the BQM with the new IP address when you change to Modem Mode.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Quinntence
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
447 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 slow speed

Im still only getting about 200 down and 36.5 up but ping is lower by a millisecond due to not going through the router 

0 Kudos
Reply
Quinntence
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
320 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 slow speed

Bump

It's been a few days, no change, constantly getting slow speeds. Should I call virgin media? I'm paying for 500mbps and im not even getting the guaranteed minimum.

0 Kudos
Reply