Menu
Reply
LeonOfficial
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
467 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

m500 - On the maximum package but my speed doesn't even go past 300mbps

For the past like 5-7 months i've probably had between 90-350mbps, most downloads for some reason being capped at like 20 mbps (which i still don't understand if someone can help me out with that???).

I'm still unsure of the reason as to why my speeds just aren't what i'm paying for. I use Cat 7 cables for everything and my motherboard is way more than sufficient for the speed i'm paying for.

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
454 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 - On the maximum package but my speed doesn't even go past 300mbps

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

 

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish. Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
LeonOfficial
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
253 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 - On the maximum package but my speed doesn't even go past 300mbps

This is downstream
 
Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
12027500005.540256 qam9
21387500004.540256 qam1
31467500004.540256 qam2
41547500004.540256 qam3
51627500004.940256 qam4
6170750000540256 qam5
71787500005.140256 qam6
81867500005.340256 qam7
91947500005.540256 qam8
102107500005.540256 qam10
112187500005.540256 qam11
122267500005.540256 qam12
132347500005.540256 qam13
142427500005.540256 qam14
152507500005.440256 qam15
162587500005.340256 qam16
172667500005.340256 qam17
182747500005.340256 qam18
192827500005.140256 qam19
202907500005.540256 qam20
212987500005.540256 qam21
223067500005.540256 qam22
233147500005.840256 qam23
243227500005.840256 qam24
0 Kudos
Reply
LeonOfficial
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
252 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 - On the maximum package but my speed doesn't even go past 300mbps

This is upstream

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

12580000045.3512064 qam4
24620000046.3512064 qam1
33260000045.5512064 qam3
43940000046512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0020
3ATDMA0020
4ATDMA0000

 

This is network log

Network LogTime Priority Description
21/11/2020 22:41:6noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/11/2020 14:18:8criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/11/2020 12:51:9ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/11/2020 02:37:19criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/11/2020 16:23:31Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/11/2020 04:29:52criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/11/2020 16:28:22Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/11/2020 02:38:24criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/11/2020 00:51:8ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/11/2020 00:18:30noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 21:50:2ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/11/2020 23:34:9criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/11/2020 09:50:2ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/11/2020 11:45:23criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2020 21:50:2ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/11/2020 08:40:32criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/11/2020 15:44:51ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/11/2020 07:07:59criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 05:17:16noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:42criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
LeonOfficial
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
248 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 - On the maximum package but my speed doesn't even go past 300mbps

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
244 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 - On the maximum package but my speed doesn't even go past 300mbps

Can you post the second table from the Downstream tab please.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
LeonOfficial
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
206 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 - On the maximum package but my speed doesn't even go past 300mbps

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.31962789
2Locked40.32973664
3Locked40.92476662
4Locked40.31953238
5Locked40.92123388
6Locked40.92384916
7Locked40.32073249
8Locked40.32742954
9Locked40.31452850
10Locked40.32592819
11Locked40.32042760
12Locked40.32442761
13Locked40.33012805
14Locked40.32562728
15Locked40.33522347
16Locked40.33672563
17Locked40.93442340
18Locked40.93982243
19Locked40.34222170
20Locked40.94002097
21Locked40.34072204
22Locked40.34672147
23Locked40.33602198
24Locked40.33992091
0 Kudos
Reply
DJ_Shadow1966
  • 7.15K
  • 1.36K
  • 2.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
198 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: m500 - On the maximum package but my speed doesn't even go past 300mbps

Hello

There is the problem you seem to have quite a high number of post RS Errors these can be caused by noise on the line, one fix for this is too goo around and make sure that all coaxial connections to all VM equipment are finger tight, best way to do this is too loosen the connection and then re-tighten it, once that i done power off the hub for 30 secs and then back on, recheck you downstream a couple of times and if the post RS errors keeps rising at a large rate between checks then the noise is elsewhere and will need an engineer to find and resolve the problem.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply