Menu
Reply
  • 47
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
249 Views
Message 1 of 19
Flag for a moderator

inconsistent speeds

I've been with VM for years, but working from home has made me notice how bad the speed is!

Varying speeds as shown below, the latest one being hard wired into the router  (superhub 2) and still nowhere near the 100mbps package I am paying for.

speedtest.jpg

Also, ironically, the 98mbps on the 29th was when the speed was at its worst!

Downstream  DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz) 139000000 147000000 155000000 163000000 171000000 179000000 187000000 195000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock) Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked
Channel ID 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Modulation 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec) 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000
Interleave Depth I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV) 6.68 6.52 6.61 6.46 6.03 6.06 6.10 6.02
RxMER (dB) 36.84 37.09 37.09 37.09 37.36 37.36 37.64 37.64
Pre RS Errors 51271 49062 8844 10012 2613 1785 1206 1581
Post RS Errors 283 304 305 296 277 287 299 914


Upstream  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type 2.0 2.0 2.0 2.0
Channel ID 10 7 8 9
Frequency (Hz) 32600000 53700000 46200000 39400000
Ranging Status Success Success Success Success
Modulation 64QAM 64QAM 64QAM 64QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec) 5120000 5120000 5120000 5120000
Mini-Slot Size 2 2 2 2
Power Level (dBmV) 40.00 41.50 40.75 40.50
T1 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
T2 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
T3 Timeouts 1 0 0 1
T4 Timeouts 0 0 0 0


Upstream Burst  Req(1) Init Maint(3) Per Maint(4) Adv Short(9) Adv Long(10) Adv UGS(11)

Modulation Type 16QAM QPSK 16QAM 64QAM 64QAM 16QAM
Differential Encoding OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF OFF
Preamble Length 56 640 384 104 104 104
Preamble Value Offset 652 0 0 716 716 716
FEC Error Correction (T) 0 5 5 10 16 5
FEC Codeword Information Bytes (K) 16 34 34 81 223 86
Maximum Burst Size 0 0 0 3 255 255
Guard Time Size 8 48 48 8 8 8
Last Codeword Length Fixed Fixed Fixed Shortened Shortened Shortened
Scrambler On/Off ON ON ON ON ON ON



Any help appreciated.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.3K
  • 952
  • 1.58K
Alessandro Volta
244 Views
Message 2 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: inconsistent speeds

What speed do you get at >> speedtest.net << with a direct connection using a Cat 5E/6 cable between the Hub in Router Mode and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other devices connected ?

Can you Login to the Hub Settings and navigate to the Connected Devices page - what does it report the 'connection speed’ as for the cable connected device you used for the speed test ?

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 47
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
141 Views
Message 3 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: inconsistent speeds

this morning has been TERRIBLE!  The lowest I saw was 25mps, but the results from just now are below

wiredwiredwirelesswireless

 

I can't get to http://192.168.100.1/ so can't check the router!

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.3K
  • 952
  • 1.58K
Alessandro Volta
137 Views
Message 4 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: inconsistent speeds

Try 192.168.0.1

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 47
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
135 Views
Message 5 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: inconsistent speeds

I can't find 'connection speed’ for my device, only time connected

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.3K
  • 952
  • 1.58K
Alessandro Volta
130 Views
Message 6 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: inconsistent speeds


@simpadrr wrote:

I can't find 'connection speed’ for my device, only time connected


Sorry, my mistake; you have the Hub 2 and that function isn't available.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.3K
  • 952
  • 1.58K
Alessandro Volta
129 Views
Message 7 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: inconsistent speeds

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 47
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
121 Views
Message 8 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: inconsistent speeds

amazingly I managed to get hold of someone in customer service on the phone within a minute!  He's "running some checks" now....

Will update shortly

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 47
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
113 Views
Message 9 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: inconsistent speeds

I was asked to "reset" via the pin button on the back of the router

time will tell....

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 47
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
104 Views
Message 10 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: inconsistent speeds - made worse after hub reset!

wow, just amazing service!

10mbps after reset.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply