Menu
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
500 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

gig1 Latency, Packet Loss Poor performance

Since upgrading to gig1 I have been having a lot of issues with latency and packet loss. The speeds show fine on Ookla more often than not but sometimes show as low as 100Mbps with nothing else in use. I CAN NOT stream 4k content and have a hard time even streaming in 1080p. Online gaming is also damn near impossible. Had a twitter conversation with VM and was informed to post this in the hopes of getting an answer or an engineer booked.

BQM

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/13f0c035ec61c3a05a7bb57c48052dfda37bd4f7-22-10-2020

 Think Broadband speed test

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1603469788525289555

Router Info

Downstream

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

214675000010.59999836.386890QAM2562
113875000010.90000236.386890QAM2561
315475000010.50000036.386890QAM2563
416275000010.59999836.386890QAM2564
517075000010.50000036.386890QAM2565
617875000010.50000036.386890QAM2566
718675000010.30000336.609653QAM2567
819475000010.30000336.609653QAM2568
920275000010.19999736.386890QAM2569
102107500009.90000236.609653QAM25610
112187500009.59999836.386890QAM25611
122267500008.80000335.779911QAM25612
132347500007.90000234.925610QAM25613
142427500008.90000235.595078QAM25614
152507500009.50000035.595078QAM25615
1625875000010.09999836.609653QAM25616
1726675000010.50000036.609653QAM25617
1827475000010.40000236.609653QAM25618
1928275000010.00000036.386890QAM25619
2029075000010.09999836.386890QAM25620
2129875000010.40000236.386890QAM25621
2230675000011.09999836.386890QAM25622
2331475000011.59999836.609653QAM25623
2432275000012.09999836.609653QAM25624
2533075000011.59999836.609653QAM25625
263707500009.90000236.386890QAM25626
273787500009.90000236.609653QAM25627
2838675000010.09999836.609653QAM25628
2939475000010.09999837.355988QAM25629
3040275000010.09999837.355988QAM25630
3141075000010.09999837.355988QAM25631

 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
499 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: gig1 Latency, Packet Loss Poor performance

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

2Locked000
1Locked203283874600
3Locked203380646700
4Locked203056952800
5Locked203069168200
6Locked202950134800
7Locked202828367100
8Locked103492129200
9Locked103595941400
10Locked103591498000
11Locked103521536800
12Locked101472344800
13Locked101330909010
14Locked101582996700
15Locked101452155600
16Locked125891361800
17Locked125997847000
18Locked125837547500
19Locked125944250700
20Locked119102848300
21Locked126245337700
22Locked126293457100
23Locked126305963000
24Locked181771484300
25Locked181810938200
26Locked181815998900
27Locked219253772600
28Locked181992146500
29Locked180181999700
30Locked182191804800
31Locked200858022610



3.1 Downstream channelsChannel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
159784K1520QAM1024424


3.1 Downstream channelsChannel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
159Locked 11.5119987496186

 

Upstream

3.0 Upstream channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
14620000036.2705995120 KSym/sec64QAM5
22580000036.2705995120 KSym/sec64QAM8
33260000036.2705995120 KSym/sec64QAM7
43940000036.2705995120 KSym/sec64QAM6



3.0 Upstream channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1US_TYPE_STDMA00864
2US_TYPE_STDMA00864
3US_TYPE_STDMA00864
4US_TYPE_STDMA00864

 

Log

Network LogTime Priority Description
Sun 11/10/2020 19:35:273No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun 11/10/2020 19:36:393Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.3K
  • 952
  • 1.58K
Alessandro Volta
459 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: gig1 Latency, Packet Loss Poor performance

Several of your Downstream Power Levels are too high.

This will need an engineer to put right.

You can either phone in (08:00 is the best time) or wait on here for a few days (6 to 7 days average) until one of the VM Forum Staff comes along.

If you wait on here Do Not bump the thread it will put it further down the VM 'to do list'.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.7K
  • 105
  • 171
Forum Team
Forum Team
232 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: gig1 Latency, Packet Loss Poor performance

Hello MVBridgman, 

thanks for using the forums to get this issue looked into with your broadband, I am sorry if its been causing you some frustration. 

Usually what we would ask you to do is just follow these links in order to try and resolve it before we have a look- 

Slow Speeds Help

Intermittent Connection Help

We may also ask you for a bit more information so we can understand your specific issue like have you checked your speed using our Speed test site here, have you used a BMQ graph to gain more of an insight into your HUB's performance. Which I can see you have done, thank you so much for that! We also may need to you reboot your HUB so that the data on the HUB's logs can reset, this helps the performance and also helps us identify any issues on our side. 

I have also looked on my side and can see your power levels are indeed out of spec and you will need an engineer to resolve. I'm going to send you a PM now so we can chat in more detail about dates and times. 

Speak soon!

Megan_L

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.7K
  • 105
  • 171
Forum Team
Forum Team
219 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: gig1 Latency, Packet Loss Poor performance

Hi MVBridgman, 

Thanks for chatting with me in our PM, I am glad we managed to get the engineer booked in at a time that's good for you. 

As mentioned, please update us on here when the engineer has been, then we can continue to help if you need it!

Thanks so much. 

Megan_L

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
187 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: gig1 Latency, Packet Loss Poor performance

Hi Megan, 

The engineer came this morning and fixed the power issues. However if anything this has made things worse.

I am now getting no more than 94Mbps download speed, constant on all speed test sites, almost as of its locked to that and my BQM shows massive latency, way worse than previously. 

I'm hoping this is something that can be solved without another engineer visit as not being able to go out due to lockdown I really do need the Internet working well to get things done.

Thanks for your help so far. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.3K
  • 952
  • 1.58K
Alessandro Volta
185 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: gig1 Latency, Packet Loss Poor performance

What speed do you get at >> Sam Knows Real Speed << with a direct connection using a Cat 5E/6 cable between the Hub in Router Mode and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other devices connected ?

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
  • 5
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
180 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: gig1 Latency, Packet Loss Poor performance

Hi Mike, 

Thanks for the reply. On that site the speed to the Hub4 is around 1085Mbps but to the 3 PCs and one laptop I have tried by directly connecting them its 94Mbps, never higher never lower. I have run the test several times on each and its always consistent. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.3K
  • 952
  • 1.58K
Alessandro Volta
161 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: gig1 Latency, Packet Loss Poor performance

Can you Login to the Hub Settings and navigate to the Connected Devices page - what does it report the 'connection speed’ as for the cable connected device you used for the speed test ?

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
  • 5
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
154 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: gig1 Latency, Packet Loss Poor performance

Hi Mike, 

Thanks for that. Oddly when the laptop was connected last I was getting the 94Mbps, despite it being directly connected the hub with a cat6 cable. But when I checked it was showing as 1000 on the connected devices so I re-ran the test and low and behold, it was working fine 950+Mbps to the device. However the Laptop was the only thing showing as 1000 which confused me as I know form trying to troubleshoot the issues previously all my gigabit ethernet capable devices were showing 1000 and the speed was fine. Now they were only showing 100 connected through a gigabit capable network switch. 

I checked everything and came to the realisation that when I had relocated my Hub4 a couple of days ago I had switched cables from Hub to switch without checking and I had used a 5e not 6. I have switched back now and all devices are showing 1000 in connected devices and the speeds are great. I'll have to try gaming to see if that has improved and will keep monitoring my BQM as that was showing lots of latency too yellow top to bottom.

Many thanks for your help! Have a good day.

 

Mark.