Menu
Reply
Razor1979
  • 21
  • 1
  • 1
On our wavelength
1,290 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

been upgrade to 1gb something not right

We have always been on the 600mb since it came out but with the introduction of volt benefits with o2 we were told we were going up to 1gb, virgin sent us a new hub 4 which didn’t really matter to me as we only ever use the modem in modem mode as I have an internal mesh network 

 

the issue is we always use to get around 550-600 mb now we are getting around 625mb not much of an upgrade 

 

looking through the settings on the modem can someone tell me if perhaps I’m on the wrong speed profile please as to me this would point out I’m only on 690mb ? 

and if this is the case what would I need to do I have tried running the modem in router mode and rebooting several times and nothing changes 

 

C1EBDE68-1686-44B4-B2A4-62145CDAEF17.png

0 Kudos
Reply
Razor1979
  • 21
  • 1
  • 1
On our wavelength
1,273 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: been upgrade to 1gb something not right

98B21382-A545-440B-A602-2505AEBF19F2.png

5D4E1D3D-140C-4FE0-8342-8AD845A01A22.png

4A97A4A5-F1E8-4CFD-99FC-C1B76FEFDE1B.png

Some more screen shots for you 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Stobbsy74
  • 163
  • 3
  • 44
Superfast
1,268 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: been upgrade to 1gb something not right

Your router is set to 650 not 1gig under max traffic rate.

0 Kudos
Reply
Razor1979
  • 21
  • 1
  • 1
On our wavelength
1,253 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: been upgrade to 1gb something not right

Thank you

 

That’s what I thought but wanted to check before I call virgin and sit in a queue 

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
1,251 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: been upgrade to 1gb something not right

If it's a 'volt' upgrade - they can take 14 days to kick-in!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
Razor1979
  • 21
  • 1
  • 1
On our wavelength
1,246 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: been upgrade to 1gb something not right

hi its been over 2 weeks and we received an email to say the new hub was coming and once arrived and fitted the speed increase would already be in place 

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
1,244 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: been upgrade to 1gb something not right

I'd wait for forum staff to get to this - they'll be able to add some clarity!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

Travis_M
  • 3.91K
  • 140
  • 289
Forum Team
Forum Team
1,163 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: been upgrade to 1gb something not right

Hi @Razor1979

 

Thanks for posting on our community forum!

 

Have you still not seen your speed pick up now? How is your broadband performing?

 

Regards

Travis_M
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
Razor1979
  • 21
  • 1
  • 1
On our wavelength
1,158 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: been upgrade to 1gb something not right

I managed to go into virgin website and run a test they identified a problem and reset the modem it now has the correct profile all be it my downloads are around 800mb but I’m sure it’s now just settling in 

 

but thank you guys for your help 

0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 6.1K
  • 512
  • 1.57K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,149 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: been upgrade to 1gb something not right

There is no settling in period with cable. How are you testing the speed? Max ethernet will be around 950 and depending on your WiFi kit could be 600. 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply