Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 43
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
494 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Wired vs Wirless

Crazy results here...

 

300meg download, 27 up when wired

wireless - 25 down 11 up?

 

Literally right next to the PC/Console... 

87835483_2543644965917029_7909286295396941824_n.png

f0c28b9124ececfec63bb5613a725d33.png

 any idea why?

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 43
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
492 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wired vs Wirless

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1411000000-5.236256 qam31
2195000000-2.538256 qam8
3203000000-2.738256 qam9
4211000000-338256 qam10
5219000000-3.238256 qam11
6227000000-3.438256 qam12
7235000000-3.538256 qam13
8243000000-3.938256 qam14
9251000000-438256 qam15
10259000000-4.538256 qam16
11267000000-4.738256 qam17
12275000000-4.538256 qam18
13283000000-4.538256 qam19
14291000000-4.737256 qam20
15299000000-4.537256 qam21
16307000000-437256 qam22
17315000000-3.737256 qam23
18323000000-3.737256 qam24
19363000000-3.738256 qam25
20371000000-437256 qam26
21379000000-4.237256 qam27
22387000000-4.437256 qam28
23395000000-4.736256 qam29
24403000000-4.936256 qam30



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked36.610
2Locked38.6370
3Locked38.680
4Locked38.680
5Locked38.690
6Locked38.980
7Locked38.6110
8Locked38.6160
9Locked38.9570
10Locked38.6150
11Locked38.6140
12Locked38.990
13Locked38.680
14Locked37.3170
15Locked37.6250
16Locked37.6260
17Locked37.6300
18Locked37.680
19Locked38.600
20Locked37.650
21Locked37.670
22Locked37.6200
23Locked36.360
24Locked36.618

0

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1461999965.025512064 qam3
2394000365.025512064 qam4
3536999885.025512064 qam2
4603000395.025512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.72K
  • 163
  • 346
Trouble shooter
486 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wired vs Wirless

At the best of times wifi is a fickle beast that can be affected by numerous things such as distance from the Hub,  building construction, other electronic devices, neighbouring WiFi, basically allsorts.

VM supply to the Hub, after the Hub it is up to you.

.............................................................................................

You may be as well refining your wifi management, it might not fix your problem but will certainly help keeping track of your wifi frequencies.

Log in to the Hub.

Advanced Settings > Wireless Signal > click ‘Disable Channel Optimization’ > Click ‘Apply Changes’.

Advanced Settings > Wireless > Security > Add 2 to the 2.4GHz Channel name > Add 5 to the 5 GHz Channel name > Click ‘Apply Changes’

You can leave the passwords the same as they are. 

Log out of the Hub.

You will need to reconnect all you WiFi devices some will want to connect to 5Ghz and some to 2.4GHz and some will connect to either.

2.4GHz is a stronger signal but slower than 5GHz so if you have problems on 5GHz change to 2.4GHz.

*********************************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson


Ex UK Armed Forces
Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 43
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
482 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wired vs Wirless

Refresh data
Cable Modem Status
Item Status Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
411000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
46199996
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 43
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
333 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wired vs Wirless

anyone tell me if these levels are OK please?

I upgraded from SH2 to 3 🙂

still getting packet loss, download speed looking good and so is upload but still freezing when watching streams on Computer and unable to live stream on twitch.tv when wired.
badly need this fixing as I'm a semi pro gamer and rely on this for income.

 

I was told engineer was going to come out and upgrade from SH2 to SH3 but then day easrlier found out that its coming via YODEL and no engineer therefore could not do my downstream power levels... 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.72K
  • 163
  • 346
Trouble shooter
330 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wired vs Wirless

Set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

*********************************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson


Ex UK Armed Forces
Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 12.79K
  • 1.32K
  • 2.13K
Alessandro Volta
323 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wired vs Wirless

Your upstream power levels are all at the top of the maximum level in the recommended range and could be causing your issues.
Someone else should comment on this soon but I reckon you will need a tech visit to rectify them

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 43
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
252 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wired vs Wirless

thanks john.

Any gurus here?
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 28.74K
  • 1.34K
  • 4.95K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
247 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wired vs Wirless

as you are getting the correct speeds wired your connection is performing. It look s like a local wireless problem. Are you using a 802.11ac device

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.27K
  • 177
  • 503
Wise owl
229 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Wired vs Wirless

This does sound very like a device limitation. Check that you are using 5GHz with an 802.11ac rated device, otherwise you will not get the full bandwidth.

Your downlink power levels are pushing at the lower limits but are clearly sufficient to give a satisfactory connection. 

0 Kudos
Reply