Menu
Reply
sku11meister
  • 337
  • 25
  • 67
Fibre optic
3,147 Views
Message 1 of 114
Flag for a moderator

Vivid 500 is rubbish

Hi, I'm not happy! Ive been a vivid 350 customer for a few years and every things been perfect! My average speed has been just shy of 400Mbps most times, virtually never dropped below 350Mbps, then I see this new Vivid 500 package! 

So I upgrade, faster speeds and much better upload speeds. BIG MISTAKE! for weeks now my speeds have been as low as 180Mbps, and hardly ever goes over 300mbps! Also have blocking glitching on the TiVo on some channels, so I contact virgin who send an engineer. 

He was great and took a good look, came back and said there was a network issue with frequencies, and he was going to get a network engineer to investigate. Great!! 

week later and my speeds are still at 200mbps or less.. tv still playing up and IM STILL PAYING ABOUT £100 A MONTH FOR THIS?

So today I ring customer services and I have been on hold now for 1hour and 15 mins!! AND STILL ON HOLD! 

seriously!! im getting the hump now to the point I will cancel this package and go back to my 350 package which actually worked! 

Can some one please tell me if this fault is being fixed or even if networks have even looked into this issue? I know it will probably be a few weeks before anyone from virgin replies to this post , but my patience is running out! I just want what im paying for and what im promised! Why sell a package that you cant provide? quite clearly from other peoples posts this vivd 500 is a failing package that you just cant provide! 

sorry for the rant but im getting annoyed 😞

** ++ Superhub 3 (Modem Mode) - Vivid500 - Unifi USG - Unifi Access Points - HP Procurve 24 managed switch - Netgear GS108 Switches - FTP and Plex Servers - NAS Drives ++ **
0 Kudos
Reply
happywithmy350
  • 1.02K
  • 46
  • 137
Well-informed
3,123 Views
Message 2 of 114
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 500 is rubbish

Yeah - total rubbish..

http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest/52140823

I got through in 5 minutes when I called an hour ago - who are YOU calling!?
0 Kudos
Reply
sku11meister
  • 337
  • 25
  • 67
Fibre optic
3,110 Views
Message 3 of 114
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 500 is rubbish

thanks for the sarcastic answer! that really helpful! quite clearly there is an issue in my location, vivid 350 worked perfectly, vivid 500 is terrible and I only get about 200mbps. If I use that speed test you have used it returns with an error and doesn't complete the speed test so some thing clearly not right!

and I called customer services on 150 

** ++ Superhub 3 (Modem Mode) - Vivid500 - Unifi USG - Unifi Access Points - HP Procurve 24 managed switch - Netgear GS108 Switches - FTP and Plex Servers - NAS Drives ++ **
0 Kudos
Reply
Hoogle
  • 54
  • 1
  • 13
Dialled in
3,030 Views
Message 4 of 114
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 500 is rubbish

The better upload speeds would have still applied to your 350 mbps broadband as I am on it (even though I am on the V.VIP package/ooomp package) but the 500 is not available in my street literally every street around me can pretty much get it except mine lol. I have had several days where my speed was barely 50% of what it was 3 months ago consistantly. After a factory reset of router (infact several) I am finally back to where I was. I believe it is just them upgrading network where need be some areas seem to be more effected than others. 

I am guessing they have oversubscribed the line in many places and slowly are adjusting it I don't think going back down to M350 will actually help you and to be fair a few phonecalls and I am paying considerably less getting 2 x tivo boxes with sports/movies etc unlimited phoneline and Sim card and still on 350 mbps broadband Than I would be if I stuck to just my vivid 350 broadband. 

0 Kudos
Reply
happywithmy350
  • 1.02K
  • 46
  • 137
Well-informed
2,969 Views
Message 5 of 114
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 500 is rubbish


@sku11meister wrote:

thanks for the sarcastic answer! that really helpful! quite clearly there is an issue in my location, vivid 350 worked perfectly, vivid 500 is terrible and I only get about 200mbps. If I use that speed test you have used it returns with an error and doesn't complete the speed test so some thing clearly not right!

and I called customer services on 150 


150 has had no such call wait and no one has been waiting that length of time. 

0 Kudos
Reply
sku11meister
  • 337
  • 25
  • 67
Fibre optic
2,958 Views
Message 6 of 114
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 500 is rubbish

i was kept on hold for an hour an 15 mins before some one answered. I spoke to the lady and gave her my details and explained the problem, she said she was going to pop me on hold and speak to networks to see what the outcome was, then i got transfered to some indian bloke. Again he asked for my details and i explained i was supposed to be on hold for this girl to come back to me. After going through my details AGAIN he said he didnt know why id been transfered to him so he said he would transfer me back, then i was left on hold AGAIN for just shy of 50 MIn!

Dont tell me i wasnt on hold for that long.. I was and its quite clear that you are wrong in your assumption that Nobody is ever left on hold that long? Im not going to waste my time arguing with you about some thing which i know is a FACT!

Also the point is that my issue Still isnt resolved and i will be having to call back again today. my speeds are averaging 240Mbps, not even half what im supposed to be getting!

** ++ Superhub 3 (Modem Mode) - Vivid500 - Unifi USG - Unifi Access Points - HP Procurve 24 managed switch - Netgear GS108 Switches - FTP and Plex Servers - NAS Drives ++ **
0 Kudos
Reply
Roger_Gooner
  • 6.53K
  • 472
  • 1.13K
Legend
2,936 Views
Message 7 of 114
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 500 is rubbish

Can you post some stats. Go to 192.168.0.1 (router mode) or 192.168.100.1 (modem mode), do not log in, click on the link "Check Router Status".
Copy and paste the Downstream, Upstream and Network Logs. Mask any public IP address.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
sku11meister
  • 337
  • 25
  • 67
Fibre optic
2,905 Views
Message 8 of 114
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 500 is rubbish

1227000000-0.538256 qam12
21870000001.538256 qam7
3195000000138256 qam8
42030000000.238256 qam9
52110000000.540256 qam10
6219000000038256 qam11
7235000000-0.538256 qam13
8243000000-140256 qam14
9251000000-1.238256 qam15
10259000000-140256 qam16
11267000000-1.538256 qam17
12275000000-1.738256 qam18
13283000000-1.938256 qam19
14291000000-2.538256 qam20
15299000000-2.438256 qam21
16307000000-2.240256 qam22
17315000000-2.538256 qam23
18323000000-2.938256 qam24
19379000000-2.538256 qam25
20387000000-338256 qam26
21395000000-2.238256 qam27
22403000000-2.538256 qam28
23411000000-2.538256 qam29
24419000000-238256 qam30



Downstream bonded channels

1Locked38.91882766
2Locked38.91461692
3Locked38.91776639
4Locked38.91936545
5Locked40.31199424
6Locked38.911581769
7Locked38.9872644
8Locked40.3637639
9Locked38.9753609
10Locked40.3584412
11Locked38.6685397
12Locked38.6634221
13Locked38.9584372
14Locked38.9665258
15Locked38.9669419
16Locked40.3594291
17Locked38.9506380
18Locked38.6684174
19Locked38.9534203
20Locked38.9599125
21Locked38.9615210
22Locked38.964176
23Locked38.6652132
24Locked38.6630108
** ++ Superhub 3 (Modem Mode) - Vivid500 - Unifi USG - Unifi Access Points - HP Procurve 24 managed switch - Netgear GS108 Switches - FTP and Plex Servers - NAS Drives ++ **
0 Kudos
Reply
sku11meister
  • 337
  • 25
  • 67
Fibre optic
2,902 Views
Message 9 of 114
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 500 is rubbish

ok now im getting annoyed.. please can some one explain to me how am I supposed to copy and post those stats?

its telling me it exceeds 20,000 characters when it quite clearly doesn't !!! then when it does paste its saying there is an ivalid link in the post?? THERE ARE NO LINKS??? seriously!!!

 

** ++ Superhub 3 (Modem Mode) - Vivid500 - Unifi USG - Unifi Access Points - HP Procurve 24 managed switch - Netgear GS108 Switches - FTP and Plex Servers - NAS Drives ++ **
0 Kudos
Reply
sku11meister
  • 337
  • 25
  • 67
Fibre optic
2,897 Views
Message 10 of 114
Flag for a moderator

Re: Vivid 500 is rubbish

doesn't matter what I do it refuses to let me post any info from upstream, even if I copy a singe character..tell me ive exceeded 20,000??? actually laughing right now! pathetic!

 

** ++ Superhub 3 (Modem Mode) - Vivid500 - Unifi USG - Unifi Access Points - HP Procurve 24 managed switch - Netgear GS108 Switches - FTP and Plex Servers - NAS Drives ++ **
0 Kudos
Reply