Menu
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
395 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Virgin - please leave my router alone in Bristol 5

Dear Virgin,

I am not a gamer.

I have no need of 80MBPS - let alone 100MBPS and would far prefer to have a reliable connection at a quarter of the speed for less money.

You appear to be repeatedly attempting and failing to flash my router remotely.at roughly 5 minute intervals. The most entertaining aspect is that the various levels of broken - is the WIFI being flashed separately ?

When it DOES work, I frequently get far less than 80MBPS.

thanking you in anticipation.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.48K
  • 759
  • 1.83K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
369 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin - please leave my router alone in Bristol 5

There's a single firmware update being rolled out to all VM Hub 3's.  As it is their hub, not the customer's, they can do what they like, although it shouldn't have any impact on your service.

So leaving the firmware aside, do you want help getting a better service?  Usually VM can deliver a reliable service at the full contracted speed.  If that's not your experience, getting help involves us asking you to provide information with a series of questions, us taking a view on what the data shows, and if need be the VM forum staff can arrange a technician.

A description of the actual service problem would be a start.   What's your contracted speed?  Is there any pattern to the problems?  What devices are connected to the hub?  How do you measure speed (device and test site) and what does that show?  Have you spoken to VM's technical support, and if so what happened (yes, I know it's often very poor)?

 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
361 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin - please leave my router alone in Bristol 5

I might actually pick up my landline phone, but it hasn't worked in years .. I even had it repaired once several years ago.

I don't have a pre-paid mobile contract and I can't face being patronised by a call centre.

I'm not specifically  a networking  professional, but I know "broken" when I see it.

I had over a year of regular disconnections at the same minutes past the hour while they tried and failed to renew my IP - how difficult can THAT be ?

I know these things are regular because I set the router up to email me. I have tried several speed tests including Virgin's approved one.

Perhaps they could send me the file so I can flash the wretched thing myself ?

I have the MAC and IP if someone wants to check it out.

It appears to be a "Superhub 2ac - so perhaps outdated (again)

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.48K
  • 759
  • 1.83K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
338 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin - please leave my router alone in Bristol 5

It is possible but unlikely that the hub itself is causing the problems you describe, and those problems won't be caused by or fixed by a firmware update.  You can get a Hub 3 to replace the SH2, but I'd expect the problems to remain until we get to the bottom of what's causing them.  Work with the forum peeps and you won't have to touch your phone and deal with VM's disappointing telephone support.

So going back to those questions I asked earlier, we've got "symptoms=frequent disconnects", nothing on speed or devices.  In addition to giving us that detail, we'll need you to do some digging into the hub's status data:  Connect to the hub by clicking on this link http://192.168.0.1/  That should pull up the log in page for the hub.  But don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"  That'll bring up a window with five tabs.  All we need is the contents of the three titled Downstream, Upstream, Network log.  If you can select all of the data in each of those three tabs, and copy and paste as text, not screenshots or images then we can start looking for the cause of your poor connection.

If you don't want to do that, then you've got the following alternative options:

1) Keep paying for a service you're not happy with.  This would be madness, but it's up to you.

2) Cancel VM and get an Openreach connection in, or buy a 4G mobile router and a data only SIM.

3) Telephone VM, spend hours on hold and either get cut off or patronised, with no guarantee of a fix.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.52K
  • 157
  • 658
Trouble shooter
332 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin - please leave my router alone in Bristol 5


@gentlegreen wrote:

Dear Virgin,

I am not a gamer.

I have no need of 80MBPS - let alone 100MBPS and would far prefer to have a reliable connection at a quarter of the speed for less money.

You appear to be repeatedly attempting and failing to flash my router remotely.at roughly 5 minute intervals. The most entertaining aspect is that the various levels of broken - is the WIFI being flashed separately ?

When it DOES work, I frequently get far less than 80MBPS.

thanking you in anticipation.

 


There's no reason Virgin would be flashing your router every 5 minutes. It is more likely there is a connection problem causing the router to lose sync or reboot frequently. If you post the details requested by Andruser that should help to diagnose the problem. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
260 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin - please leave my router alone in Bristol 5

This was the midnight summary.

 

Network Log- "DHCP WAN IP - **.**.**.**" Time: 14/11/2020 23:53:33 GMT.
Network Log- "TOD established" Time: 14/11/2020 23:52:30 GMT.
Network Log- "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" happen, but "Time Not Established".
Network Log- "Downstream Locked Successfully" happen, but "Time Not Established".
Network Log- "DHCP WAN IP - **.**.**.**" Time: 14/11/2020 23:21:00 GMT.
Network Log- "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" Time: 14/11/2020 23:20:09 GMT.
Network Log- "TOD established" Time: 14/11/2020 23:20:01 GMT.
Network Log- "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" happen, but "Time Not Established".
Network Log- "Downstream Locked Successfully" happen, but "Time Not Established".
Network Log- "DHCP WAN IP - **.**.**.**" Time: 14/11/2020 20:50:29 GMT.
Network Log- "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" Time: 14/11/2020 20:49:32 GMT.
Network Log- "TOD established" Time: 14/11/2020 20:49:24 GMT.
Network Log- "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" happen, but "Time Not Established".
Network Log- "Downstream Locked Successfully" happen, but "Time Not Established".
Network Log- "DHCP WAN IP - **.**.**.**" Time: 14/11/2020 20:45:17 GMT.
Network Log- "TOD established" Time: 14/11/2020 20:44:15 GMT.
Network Log- "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" happen, but "Time Not Established".
Network Log- "Downstream Locked Successfully" happen, but "Time Not Established".
Network Log- "DHCP WAN IP - **.**.**.**" Time: 14/11/2020 20:40:58 GMT.
Network Log- "TOD established" Time: 14/11/2020 20:39:39 GMT.

 

status.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
307 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin - please leave my router alone in Bristol 5

It happens in clusters.not literally EVERY 5 mins.

Not every day .. has been OK since 8am.today

The device actually REBOOTS

Currently fine - 77 down 10 up.

Here's the midnight summary.

Network Log
---------------------------
Network Log- "DHCP WAN IP - **.**.**.**" Time: 14/11/2020 23:53:33 GMT.
Network Log- "TOD established" Time: 14/11/2020 23:52:30 GMT.
Network Log- "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" happen, but "Time Not Established".
Network Log- "Downstream Locked Successfully" happen, but "Time Not Established".
Network Log- "DHCP WAN IP - **.**.**.**" Time: 14/11/2020 23:21:00 GMT.
Network Log- "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" Time: 14/11/2020 23:20:09 GMT.
Network Log- "TOD established" Time: 14/11/2020 23:20:01 GMT.
Network Log- "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" happen, but "Time Not Established".
Network Log- "Downstream Locked Successfully" happen, but "Time Not Established".
Network Log- "DHCP WAN IP - **.**.**.**" Time: 14/11/2020 20:50:29 GMT.
Network Log- "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" Time: 14/11/2020 20:49:32 GMT.
Network Log- "TOD established" Time: 14/11/2020 20:49:24 GMT.
Network Log- "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" happen, but "Time Not Established".
Network Log- "Downstream Locked Successfully" happen, but "Time Not Established".
Network Log- "DHCP WAN IP - **.**.**.**" Time: 14/11/2020 20:45:17 GMT.
Network Log- "TOD established" Time: 14/11/2020 20:44:15 GMT.
Network Log- "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out" happen, but "Time Not Established".
Network Log- "Downstream Locked Successfully" happen, but "Time Not Established".
Network Log- "DHCP WAN IP - **.**.**.**" Time: 14/11/2020 20:40:58 GMT.
Network Log- "TOD established" Time: 14/11/2020 20:39:39 GMT.

 

 
Downstream ChannelsLock Status Channel ID Frequency Modulation Rx Power RxMER Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
Locked1139000000 Hz256 QAM5.1 dBmV 38.3 dB1742304
Locked2147000000 Hz256 QAM5.2 dBmV 38.6 dB1038286
Locked3155000000 Hz256 QAM5.3 dBmV 38.6 dB319312
Locked4163000000 Hz256 QAM5.2 dBmV 38.6 dB330304
Locked5171000000 Hz256 QAM5.1 dBmV 39.4 dB300299
Locked6179000000 Hz256 QAM5.2 dBmV 39.4 dB321315
Locked7187000000 Hz256 QAM5.1 dBmV 39.4 dB292287
Locked8195000000 Hz256 QAM3.0 dBmV 38.3 dB465463

To reset the Pre and Post RS error counts please use the Downstream screen under the router status screen available from the login page.

Upstream ChannelsLock Status Channel ID Frequency Modulation Tx Power Mode Channel Bandwidth Symbol Rate
Locked253700000 HzATDMA49.3 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked439400000 HzATDMA49.3 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked346200000 HzATDMA49.3 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked160300000 HzATDMA49.3 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.48K
  • 759
  • 1.83K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
295 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin - please leave my router alone in Bristol 5

The odd T3 timeout is quite normal, but not the frequency with which yours are cropping up.  Uncorrected error counts are quite high if the modem has been power-cycled recently, and I'm struck by the fact that all the upstream channels are either trying to use a single upstream frequency, or different frequencies so close together that it makes no difference. 

In my book that's well outside the normal range.  I'll flag this for the forum staff to advise.  Response is sometimes near instant, but depends on their workload - might be tomorrow, and they can advise on next steps in improving your connection's performance.  You may well get a Hub 3 to replace the SH2, and that's a good thing, but on its own that may not be enough to fix any line noise issue, so you might need to see how you get on.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
282 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin - please leave my router alone in Bristol 5

Thanks.

it's the sporadic nature that gets me.

OK for days and then a massive batch of dropouts with the router apparently rebooting and then recovering with the WIFI first not visible, then visible but not connectable.

When it first happened I was looking at generic "virgin" WIFI signals in case I'd suffered a factory reset.

It's been fine since 8am this morning for instance after an hour or so of shenanigans ...

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.86K
  • 117
  • 160
Forum Team
Forum Team
268 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin - please leave my router alone in Bristol 5

Hi gentlegreen, we will look into this more closely for you. I wills send you a private message. Chris