Menu
Reply
PVS23
  • 77
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
543 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Virgin Media app broadband diagnostic checks says there is a problem.Website test says no issue.

I have had an issue with unstable broadband speeds for 3-4 days (wired download speed tests fluctuating widely between 300-660 - I am on the 600 package),so did a reboot 3 days ago but issue continued. I then did a diagnostic check on the mobile app yesterday, which confirmed there is an issue but when I do the same test via the website, it says there is no issue. When I go back to the mobile app, it still says there is an issue. Does anyone know why I am getting different results from what is effectively the same diagnostic tool, please?

Regarding the unstable speeds, it may be related to higher than normal average latency, according to my Think Broadband monitor. However, another reboot yesterday seems to have improved this for now, although the connection is still not quite as stable as before and I am concerned the issue may return, as reboots can sometime be a temporary fix. Router stats don't show anything out of the ordinary and power level are all within spec. I have had some minor issues with noise on the line over the past few months resulting in quite a lot of post RS errors and T3 timeouts but, ironically, that has really improved recently and doesn't seem to be the cause this time. There was a brief period of package loss yesterday afternoon but nothing similar over past few weeks, so this may be coincidental and not relevant.

PVS23_0-1607682808476.png

Any help/suggestions would be greatly appreciated? Thanks.

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
524 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Media app broadband diagnostic checks says there is a problem.Website test says no issue.

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then Advanced Settings > Tools > Network Status.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish.

Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
PVS23
  • 77
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
485 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Media app broadband diagnostic checks says there is a problem.Website test says no issue.

As suggested, here are the latest Hub stats. I can't see any problems with these. Latest reboot has improved things for now but mobile app diagnostic test still says there is an issue. 

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 314750000 6 40 256 qam 23
2 138750000 4.5 38 256 qam 1
3 146750000 4.6 38 256 qam 2
4 154750000 5.5 40 256 qam 3
5 162750000 5.5 40 256 qam 4
6 170750000 5.8 40 256 qam 5
7 178750000 5.5 40 256 qam 6
8 186750000 5.5 40 256 qam 7
9 194750000 5.5 40 256 qam 8
10 202750000 5.3 40 256 qam 9
11 210750000 5.1 38 256 qam 10
12 218750000 5.1 40 256 qam 11
13 226750000 5.3 38 256 qam 12
14 234750000 5.6 40 256 qam 13
15 242750000 5.8 40 256 qam 14
16 250750000 5.5 40 256 qam 15
17 258750000 5.5 40 256 qam 16
18 266750000 5.5 38 256 qam 17
19 274750000 5.4 40 256 qam 18
20 282750000 5.4 40 256 qam 19
21 290750000 5.3 38 256 qam 20
22 298750000 5.5 38 256 qam 21
23 306750000 5.8 40 256 qam 22
24 322750000 6 40 256 qam 24


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 40.3 24 0
2 Locked 38.9 11 0
3 Locked 38.9 12 0
4 Locked 40.9 14 0
5 Locked 40.3 21 0
6 Locked 40.3 16 0
7 Locked 40.3 14 0
8 Locked 40.3 7 0
9 Locked 40.3 10 0
10 Locked 40.3 18 0
11 Locked 38.9 10 0
12 Locked 40.3 10 0
13 Locked 38.9 15 0
14 Locked 40.3 11 0
15 Locked 40.3 11 0
16 Locked 40.3 12 0
17 Locked 40.3 11 0
18 Locked 38.9 12 0
19 Locked 40.3 8 0
20 Locked 40.3 11 0
21 Locked 38.9 5 0
22 Locked 38.6 12 0
23 Locked 40.9 26 0
24 Locked 40.3 9 0

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 46199993 46.5 5120 64 qam 5
2 25800000 44 5120 64 qam 8
3 32599988 44.5 5120 64 qam 7
4 39400014 46.5 5120 64 qam 6


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 1 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

General Configuration
Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
DHSUBsgvca69834ncxv987325


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID 6551
Max Traffic Rate 690000278
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID 6550
Max Traffic Rate 44000278
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0
Max Concatenated Burst 42600
Scheduling Type BestEffort

Network Log
Time Priority Description
12/12/2020 07:33:7 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
10/12/2020 19:26:9 notice LAN login Success;C
09/12/2020 20:22:29 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;C
08/12/2020 20:18:37 notice LAN login Success;
08/12/2020 20:17:20 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;
07/12/2020 11:07:49 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
07/12/2020 06:09:27 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078-b.cm modified;
07/12/2020 06:09:27 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;
03/12/2020 19:41:28 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
03/12/2020 18:09:26 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078-b.cm modified;
03/12/2020 18:09:26 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;
01/12/2020 00:08:54 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
30/11/2020 06:09:27 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078-b.cm modified;
30/11/2020 06:09:27 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;
26/11/2020 21:03:40 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
26/11/2020 18:09:27 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078-b.cm modified;C
26/11/2020 18:09:27 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;
24/11/2020 06:55:15 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;C
23/11/2020 06:09:26 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078-b.cm modified;
23/11/2020 06:09:26 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
480 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Media app broadband diagnostic checks says there is a problem.Website test says no issue.

Nothing from the Hub data jumps out as a problem.

 

Please post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
PVS23
  • 77
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
432 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Media app broadband diagnostic checks says there is a problem.Website test says no issue.

My BQM 

0 Kudos
Reply
PVS23
  • 77
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
298 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Media app broadband diagnostic checks says there is a problem.Website test says no issue.

Since raising my issue, I have had 4-5 days of stability and consistent speeds but the issue has started again today with erratic download and upload speeds today, together with latency spikes and packet loss. This seems to be a fairly regular cycle i.e. 4-5 days where everything is fine, followed by 2-4 days of instability. Is anyone able to help, please? Thanks.

0 Kudos
Reply