Menu
Reply
Ruchir189
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
1,030 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Virgin Media Broadband Speed is very slow

Hi Team, 

I am facing very slow speed for the last around more than 2 week. Whenever I do the speed test it shows me 10-12 Mbps on the line of 108 Mbps.

I don't understand why the speed is not smooth and every time need to chase it to get it corrected.

I have already tried reset and restarting of HUB but no help. 

Can you check the line issue please get it sorted?

Thanks 

Tags (1)
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
1,026 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Media Broadband Speed is very slow

How are you testing the speed, Wi-Fi or ethernet cable connected device ?


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Ruchir189
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
1,016 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Media Broadband Speed is very slow

Thanks Mike for your prompt response..

There is no much difference in speed either connected via Wifi or ethernet cable. I have just check the same laptop using Ethernet Cable and the download speed is 11.5 Mbps and Upload is 7.02 Mbps.

On Wifi, the current download speed is less than 10.17 Mbps and 8.74 Mbps upload speed.

Currently I am using 2 laptops and 2 mobiles + 1 Tab on my home network.

Hope the above information will be useful to investigate the issue.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
1,014 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Media Broadband Speed is very slow

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

 

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish. Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Ruchir189
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
992 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Media Broadband Speed is very slow

Dear Mike,

Please find all the requested details below for your investigation.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/846360aef9a10833c368a7a45383f11e86... 

Hub 3.0 (DO NOT LOG IN) - Router Status

Cable Modem Status Item Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
202750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
39399897
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12027500004.540256 qam9
22107500004.540256 qam10
32187500004.540256 qam11
42267500004.440256 qam12
52347500004.540256 qam13
62427500004.540256 qam14
72507500004.340256 qam15
82587500004.540256 qam16
92667500004.340256 qam17
102747500003.940256 qam18
112827500003.940256 qam19
122907500004.140256 qam20
13298750000440256 qam21
143067500003.740256 qam22
153147500003.940256 qam23
16322750000440256 qam24
17330750000440256 qam25
18370750000440256 qam26
193787500004.540256 qam27
203867500004.540256 qam28
213947500004.640256 qam29
22402750000540256 qam30
234107500005.340256 qam31
24418750000540256 qam32



 

0 Kudos
Reply
Ruchir189
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
991 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Media Broadband Speed is very slow

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.9540
2Locked40.3250
3Locked40.3130
4Locked40.3150
5Locked40.3190
6Locked40.3130
7Locked40.3140
8Locked40.9190
9Locked40.3160
10Locked40.3160
11Locked40.9220
12Locked40.3180
13Locked40.9160
14Locked40.9180
15Locked40.3160
16Locked40.3270
17Locked40.3320
18Locked40.9280
19Locked40.9160
20Locked40.9280
21Locked40.9170
22Locked40.9160
23Locked40.3190
24Locked40.3170

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Ruchir189
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
990 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Media Broadband Speed is very slow

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1393998974.25512064 qam2
2462000204.275512064 qam1
3258000004.2512032 qam4
4326000004.25512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID335044
Max Traffic Rate117000047
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID335043
Max Traffic Rate10500047
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling Type

Best Effort

 

  Network Log

Time Priority Description

05/10/2020 12:23:2noticeLAN login Success; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/10/2020 22:02:49ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/10/2020 21:51:32ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/10/2020 10:45:20Warning!Lost MDD Timeout; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/10/2020 10:45:16Warning!RCS Partial Service; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/10/2020 10:45:16criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/10/2020 10:45:16Warning!RCS Partial Service; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/10/2020 10:45:16criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/10/2020 10:44:43Warning!Lost MDD Timeout; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/10/2020 10:44:38Warning!RCS Partial Service; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/10/2020 10:44:38criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/10/2020 10:44:38Warning!RCS Partial Service; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/10/2020 10:44:38criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/10/2020 10:44:37Warning!RCS Partial Service; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/10/2020 10:44:37criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/10/2020 10:44:36Warning!RCS Partial Service; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/10/2020 02:36:33criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/09/2020 11:58:15Warning!RCS Partial Service; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/09/2020 11:58:15criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync; CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Ruchir189
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
903 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Media Broadband Speed is very slow

Dear Mike,

Good Afternoon!

I have shared the requested logs yesterday. Speed is still very slow. Have you identified any issues?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
895 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Media Broadband Speed is very slow

Everything looks OK bar the Upstream Channels.

You have one Upstream Channel that is on the wrong modulation, all 4 channels should be at 64 QAM.

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1393998974.25512064 qam2
2462000204.275512064 qam1
3258000004.2512032 qam4
4326000004.25512064 qam3

 

Can you perform a reboot using this exact method to see if the Hub can renegotiate a better connection.

Switch the Hub off using the small switch on the rear of the Hub next to the power cord and pull the PSU plug from the wall socket.

Give it a good 5 minutes put the plug back in and switch the Hub back on.

Allow the Hub a few minutes to fully restart then check your connection again.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Ruchir189
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
750 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Media Broadband Speed is very slow

Dear Mark,

Thanks for your suggestion and I have tried the same but speed is still not even better. Please see the logs just captured and help to resolve this issue. I could see that one of channel highlighted below still have issues.

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
202750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
39399916
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1202750000540256 qam9
2210750000540256 qam10
32187500004.940256 qam11
42267500004.940256 qam12
52347500005.140256 qam13
62427500005.140256 qam14
7250750000540256 qam15
8258750000540256 qam16
9266750000540256 qam17
102747500004.540256 qam18
112827500004.540256 qam19
122907500004.940256 qam20
132987500004.940256 qam21
143067500004.440256 qam22
153147500004.540256 qam23
163227500004.840256 qam24
173307500004.640256 qam25
183707500004.640256 qam26
193787500005.140256 qam27
203867500005.140256 qam28
213947500005.440256 qam29
224027500005.540256 qam30
234107500005.940256 qam31
244187500005.640256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.9380
2Locked40.9450
3Locked40.9330
4Locked40.9310
5Locked40.9430
6Locked40.9330
7Locked40.9170
8Locked40.3290
9Locked40.3240
10Locked40.9460
11Locked40.9540
12Locked40.9300
13Locked40.9360
14Locked40.3710
15Locked40.3660
16Locked40.9610
17Locked40.9770
18Locked40.9480
19Locked40.3330
20Locked40.3234226
21Locked40.9320
22Locked40.9480
23Locked40.35271
24Locked40.9340

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1393999164.225512064 qam2
2462002074.25512064 qam1
3258000854.196512016 qam4
4326000684.25512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

0 Kudos
Reply