Menu
Reply
Blaiki
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
622 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Very slow speeds since big outage in Brighton in June

I've tried support twice with this problem but they promised it'll be fixed in 2 days but nothing changed. Hopefully someone here can help.

There was a big outage in the Brighton area mid June. Since then my download speed is about 150Mbps, upload 5Mbps. I'm on the 350 package, it normally hits top speed.... until the outage hit.

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
138750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
53700000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
 

1138750000-0.740256 qam1
21467500000.240256 qam2
3154750000-0.440256 qam3
4162750000-140256 qam4
5170750000-140256 qam5
6178750000-140256 qam6
7186750000-0.940256 qam7
8194750000-140256 qam8
9202750000-1.240256 qam9
10210750000-1.240256 qam10
11218750000-1.240256 qam11
12226750000-140256 qam12
13234750000-140256 qam13
14242750000-1.240256 qam14
15250750000-1.740256 qam15
16258750000-1.940256 qam16
17266750000-1.540256 qam17
18274750000-1.240256 qam18
19282750000-0.940256 qam19
20290750000-0.740256 qam20
21298750000-0.540256 qam21
22306750000-0.740256 qam22
23314750000-140256 qam23
24322750000-0.740256 qam24


1Locked40.32720485614105
2Locked40.31916867278637
3Locked40.92958519619198
4Locked40.32942597768822
5Locked40.91872222395029
6Locked40.31782713231503
7Locked40.92312037297501
8Locked40.92086831448775
9Locked40.31932537347882
10Locked40.31899952134365
11Locked40.91691429122144
12Locked40.91995100200667
13Locked40.32125646242954
14Locked40.9182715476329
15Locked40.9148662036262
16Locked40.3151023448495
17Locked40.3191078984335
18Locked40.3201302570382
19Locked40.9170403232594
20Locked40.3150581618936
21Locked40.9124415417923
22Locked40.9129853514370
23Locked40.9145239014342
24Locked40.9170415618217
 
Upstream 
15370000051512064 qam1
24620000051512064 qam2
33939999551512064 qam3
43260000051512064 qam4

 

1ATDMA0030
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0010
 

----------------------------------------------------------------

My Broadband Ping - VIRGIN MEDIA

Hub 3 in modem mode - M350 - ASUS RT-AX56U

0 Kudos
Reply
Blaiki
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
621 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very slow speeds since big outage in Brighton in June

 
General Configuration
Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062+voc-b.cm


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID13598
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID13597
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

 
Network LogTime Priority Description
13/07/2021 20:46:14criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 18:00:35Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 17:54:59noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 17:01:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 16:46:20Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 16:31:55criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 16:26:6Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 16:13:48noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 16:13:9criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 15:19:20noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 15:10:49Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 14:56:41noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 13:27:2Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 11:54:25criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 01:11:12Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 00:57:38noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/07/2021 22:34:21Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/07/2021 21:09:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/07/2021 19:02:41Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/07/2021 18:25:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Can anyone see any problems there? Any help much appreciated.
I'm in modem mode, wired. It affects all devices. I also tested it in router mode and it was the same slow speed. Many restarts of router and modem. All wiring is good.
It can't be a coincidence that it's been like that since the outage. Strangely, I was getting full speeds from 1st - 7th July, then slow since.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/22294ac35956337194e7d344d204f9efcc...

----------------------------------------------------------------

My Broadband Ping - VIRGIN MEDIA

Hub 3 in modem mode - M350 - ASUS RT-AX56U

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
580 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very slow speeds since big outage in Brighton in June

Upstream power is maxed out - VM will need to send a tech to rectify!

You have 2 options

 

1: Wait for forum staff to pick up - could be a day or so

2: Call it in on 150 (0345 454 1111) as a fault

It'll ask you to reboot the hub (as you already have done - don't)
You will then be cut off
Wait a couple of minutes
Call 150 again - report a broadband fault - The system will recognise that you called before and transfer you to a person!




------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

Blaiki
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
568 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very slow speeds since big outage in Brighton in June

Thanks for your reply, I'll try as you've suggested. I dread VM Customer Support!

I've added my Speed Test history screenshots. (PC, wired).

Upload speed testsUpload speed testsDownloadDownload

I'm in modem mode and the light on the front of the VM Hub 3 is a solid red, or at least it looks red to me. It's not overheating as it's well ventilated and doesn't feel very hot. I tested it in router mode and it was the normal solid whiteish. I guess it should be magenta but just looks red?


----------------------------------------------------------------

My Broadband Ping - VIRGIN MEDIA

Hub 3 in modem mode - M350 - ASUS RT-AX56U

0 Kudos
Reply
Blaiki
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
557 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very slow speeds since big outage in Brighton in June

I just checked the router status page and it now shows this for upstream:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000052512016 qam1
24620000051512064 qam2
33940000051512064 qam3
43260000052512016 qam4

----------------------------------------------------------------

My Broadband Ping - VIRGIN MEDIA

Hub 3 in modem mode - M350 - ASUS RT-AX56U

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
544 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very slow speeds since big outage in Brighton in June

Yup - Upstream is definitely poorly! (mine is too at the moment)

Re: Red vs Magenta - I'm a bloke - I only see in 16 colours!

Red, magenta, salmon, claret, - they are all just red to me!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
Blaiki
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
521 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very slow speeds since big outage in Brighton in June

Tried a status check (a few times) and as soon as it gets to "checking our network...." it stops with a message;
"Technical error. Something's gone wrong with the test."


----------------------------------------------------------------

My Broadband Ping - VIRGIN MEDIA

Hub 3 in modem mode - M350 - ASUS RT-AX56U

0 Kudos
Reply
Blaiki
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
499 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very slow speeds since big outage in Brighton in June

Update:
I got through to support, an engineer will be here on Saturday. Fingers crossed!


----------------------------------------------------------------

My Broadband Ping - VIRGIN MEDIA

Hub 3 in modem mode - M350 - ASUS RT-AX56U

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
478 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very slow speeds since big outage in Brighton in June

Brilliant, keep us posted



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
Hayley_S
  • 3.67K
  • 115
  • 242
Forum Team
Forum Team
454 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very slow speeds since big outage in Brighton in June

Hello @Blaiki.

 

Welcome to the community page, thank you for posting on here.

 

I am sorry for the slow speeds recently. 

 

Thank you for the update on your current situation! Please do let us know how it goes.

 

Many thanks,

Hayley
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply