Menu
Reply
Rocke01
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
430 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Very poor DL speeds on GIG1

Hi Guys, Im new to this forum My neighbour in the flat above me had virginmedia broadband installed and since then i am having very bad download speeds. We are both connected to the same box on the wall outside the property. I have had 2 engineer visits and both said it was my devices causing the problem and suggested i reset my computer. I done a clean install of windows 10 and nothing changed, both engineers did not check the box on the wall even though i explained to them that the problem arose when my neighbour had virgin installed. I am on the GIG1 connection and my download speed is as low as 200KB/sec. I should mention that i have 3 computers and the download speed is the same on them all. On my main PC i bought and installed a stand alone PCI-e network card but nothing changed. Please can someone help me, i have been with Virgin a very long time and dont really want to change to another isp.

Many thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
420 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very poor DL speeds on GIG1

is it a wired or wireless connection?

If wired can you post the modem power levels from http://192.168.0.1
0 Kudos
Reply
Rocke01
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
412 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very poor DL speeds on GIG1

Hi, Its a wired connection, how do i find the power levels please ?

0 Kudos
Reply
Rocke01
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
407 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very poor DL speeds on GIG1

Also, how do i add them to the thread please, sorry this is all new to me.
0 Kudos
Reply
Zak_M
  • 3.4K
  • 214
  • 340
Forum Team
Forum Team
391 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very poor DL speeds on GIG1

Good morning @Rocke01 

 

Welcome to the forums and thank you for taking the time to post. 

 

Sorry to hear that you have had some issues with your broadband. 

 

If you could log in via the link sent above you will be able to copy and paste the information into the thread. 

 

Kind regards,

Zak_M

0 Kudos
Reply
Rocke01
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
379 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very poor DL speeds on GIG1

3.0 Downstream channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
253310000004.540.4QAM25625
11390000005.240.9QAM2561
21470000005.740.4QAM2562
31550000005.540.9QAM2563
41630000004.940.9QAM2564
51710000004.240.4QAM2565
6179000000440.9QAM2566
7187000000440.4QAM2567
81950000003.740.9QAM2568
92030000003.440.4QAM2569
102110000003.340.9QAM25610
112190000003.540.9QAM25611
122270000003.640.4QAM25612
132350000003.640.4QAM25613
142430000003.740.9QAM25614
152510000003.640.4QAM25615
16259000000440.9QAM25616
172670000004.440.4QAM25617
182750000004.840.9QAM25618
19283000000540.9QAM25619
202910000005.340.9QAM25620
212990000005.540.9QAM25621
223070000005.140.4QAM25622
233150000004.840.4QAM25623
243230000004.640.4QAM25624
263710000003.940.4QAM25626
273790000004.140.4QAM25627
283870000004.240.9QAM25628
293950000004.340.4QAM25629
304030000004.440.9QAM25630
314110000004.440.4QAM25631


3.0 Downstream channelsChannel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
25Locked40.36628700
1Locked40.94620900
2Locked40.36628700
3Locked40.946209138520
4Locked40.94620900
5Locked40.36628700
6Locked40.94620900
7Locked40.3662875880
8Locked40.94620900
9Locked40.36628700
10Locked40.94620900
11Locked40.94620900
12Locked40.36628700
13Locked40.36628700
14Locked40.94620900
15Locked40.36628700
16Locked40.94620900
17Locked40.36628700
18Locked40.94620900
19Locked40.94620900
20Locked40.94620900
21Locked40.94620900
22Locked40.36628700
23Locked40.36628700
24Locked40.36628700
26Locked40.36628700
27Locked40.36628700
28Locked40.94620900
29Locked40.36628700
30Locked40.94620900
31Locked40.36628700


3.1 Downstream channelsChannel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
159804K1560QAM4096424


3.1 Downstream channelsChannel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
159Locked435.710139789300
0 Kudos
Reply
Rocke01
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
376 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very poor DL speeds on GIG1

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000045.55120 KSym/sec64QAM4
24620000045.55120 KSym/sec64QAM3
35370000045.55120 KSym/sec64QAM2
460300000465120 KSym/sec64QAM1



3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0000
2US_TYPE_STDMA0000
3US_TYPE_STDMA0000
4US_TYPE_STDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Serena_C
  • 284
  • 12
  • 33
Forum Team
Forum Team
248 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very poor DL speeds on GIG1

Hi @Rocke01

 

I've taken a look at your account and there's nothing out of sorts showing in regard to your connection from there. Have you taken a look at https://virg.in/SpeedUp for information on how to improve your download speeds?

 

Serena

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Rocke01
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
239 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very poor DL speeds on GIG1

Hi Serena,

Thank you for the reply, everyone from Virginmedia tells the same story, saying its my PC's, but how can you explain the same download speeds on 3 computers. Speeds are the same wired or wireless, download speed 200/500Kb/s on a GIG1 connection. I will ring virgin tomorrow one more time and if i can't get an engineer to come out and check the box on the wall then i think its time to change to another isp.

Thank you all for your input.

risc19
  • 346
  • 14
  • 80
Fibre optic
233 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very poor DL speeds on GIG1

Honestly the only thing that looks off is the preRS errors on channel 3 & 7.

With the data we have access to, thats all I can see.

To be honest I think the VM network as a whole is having problems at the moment.

You can tell by how many other people are having similar problems right now on this forum.

It's not normally like this. 

Well, not quite this bad.

All you can do yourself is a pinhole reset and pray it helps.

Did you try different ethernet cables?

My Broadband Ping - 1GIG HUB4 Router mode

HUB4 1Gig Router mode
0 Kudos
Reply