Menu
Reply
Musm
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
489 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Very high latency spikes

Speed seems to be fine for the most part but getting very high latency spikes. See my network status below.

Think broadband

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1386750000638256 qam32
22027500005.137256 qam9
3210750000537256 qam10
4218750000538256 qam11
52267500005.137256 qam12
6234750000538256 qam13
7242750000538256 qam14
82507500005.338256 qam15
92587500005.138256 qam16
102667500005.538256 qam17
112747500005.538256 qam18
122827500005.838256 qam19
132907500005.538256 qam20
142987500005.538256 qam21
153067500005.838256 qam22
163147500005.938256 qam23
17322750000638256 qam24
183307500006.438256 qam25
193387500006.338256 qam26
20346750000638256 qam27
21354750000640256 qam28
223627500005.938256 qam29
23370750000638256 qam30
243787500006.338256 qam31


Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.900
2Locked37.650
3Locked37.670
4Locked38.650
5Locked37.640
6Locked38.670
7Locked38.660
8Locked38.650
9Locked38.680
10Locked38.960
11Locked38.660
12Locked38.950
13Locked38.660
14Locked38.660
15Locked38.950
16Locked38.650
17Locked38.690
18Locked38.960
19Locked38.670
20Locked38.640
21Locked40.950
22Locked38.660
23Locked38.6100
24Locked38.670

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000043.3512016 qam3
23259992043.3512016 qam4
34620003644.8512016 qam2
45369992044.8512016 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA000

0

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 10.43K
  • 1.66K
  • 4.77K
Alessandro Volta
467 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very high latency spikes

Dreadful BQM.  Looks like an upstream noise problem based on the modulation dropping back to 16 QAM on all four channels.  I've marked for the forum staff to take a look and advise - might be an area fault that's already being worked on, but if it's unique to your line they can book a technician.

Musm
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
462 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very high latency spikes

Thank you Andrew. I checked if there is an fault in my area but it said there is no issues.

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 10.43K
  • 1.66K
  • 4.77K
Alessandro Volta
443 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very high latency spikes

There's at least two different sets of online diagnostics that often give different answers, and there's a telephone line that often gives a yet different view.  I wouldn't trust VM's automated diagnostics in the slightest.  But forum staff should pick this up tomorrow and advise.

Tom_F
  • 4.22K
  • 250
  • 537
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
362 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very high latency spikes

Hi @Musm, thanks for getting in touch.

 

Sorry for the problems you've had with your connection - thanks for flagging @AndrewG.

 

I've taken a look into it using your forum info, and can confirm there is a known SNR issue being worked on, which is currently estimated to be resolved by 31 JAN 2022. 

 

If you continue to experience issues at that point, or you'd like for us to check for an update in the meantime please don't hesitate to get back in touch - sorry we can't do more to help in the meantime.

 

Tom 

0 Kudos
Reply
Musm
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
355 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very high latency spikes

Hi Tom, thanks for looking into my issue. Does that mean I have to deal with terrible latency for a month and a half and still pay my full bill? Am I entitled to ending my contract with virgin earlier with an issue like this? (I have 3 months left)

0 Kudos
Reply
Ashleigh_C
  • 4.26K
  • 170
  • 319
Forum Team
Forum Team
301 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very high latency spikes

Hi @Musm

 

We do have an automated credit system in place for outages, though this is only applied for a total loss of service after 48 hours and is applied after the outage has been fixed, so it covers the entire time. You can read up on this here.

 

Otherwise, if you would like to discuss credit or cancelling the account I'd be more than happy to raise a complaint for you in regards to this. 

 

I'll send you a PM now so we can discuss it. Please keep an eye out for the purple envelope in the top right corner of your screen alerting you to a new message. 

 

Thank you. 

Ash_C
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply