Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
petarb
Tuning in
449 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Very Slow Internet Speed

Hello. I have serious problem with the broadband speed. I am on VIVID 200, but the maximum speeds I reach are between 20 - 40 mbps (15 minute ago I did speedtest and the result was 18 mbps) I made a phone call and I've been convinced from the support that the speed is lower because of the high utilization on the street, but all of my friends who are customers of VM have reasonable speeds for the price they pay for it. I see there a lot of helpful people  in the community and hopefully someone will be able to help me.



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.316261
2Locked39.314680
3Locked38.914690
4Locked40.314720
5Locked38.914670
6Locked40.316420
7Locked40.315132
8Locked40.3148519
9Locked40.3147513
10Locked40.314660
11Locked40.314701
12Locked38.915001
13Locked38.914830
14Locked40.914910
15Locked40.3150710
16Locked40.315100
17Locked40.314770
18Locked40.915180
19Locked38.9148112
20Locked40.314841
21Locked40.314719
22Locked40.314725
23Locked40.3147813
24Locked40.314631

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394000444.25512064 qam50
2258000724.125512064 qam52
3326000154.175512064 qam51
4462000204.175512064 qam49



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID152158
Max Traffic Rate230000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID152157
Max Traffic Rate12700000
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

Network Log

Time Priority Description

26/03/2019 05:42:9ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/03/2019 16:16:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/03/2019 19:47:16ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/03/2019 21:09:24criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/03/2019 10:48:0ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/04/2019 01:48:47ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/04/2019 15:41:8criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/04/2019 06:44:13ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/04/2019 17:42:45criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/04/2019 22:28:17ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/04/2019 03:43:3ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/04/2019 06:51:15criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/04/2019 13:09:10ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/04/2019 13:53:13criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/04/2019 15:41:54ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/04/2019 17:27:22criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/04/2019 17:35:40ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/04/2019 19:29:29ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/04/2019 02:01:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/04/2019 04:17:59ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 82
  • 3
  • 9
Mart280
Up to speed
439 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Slow Internet Speed

I've had the samen issue, it seems to have resolved itself now after I managed to get an engineer to come out yesterday to take a look, in the end he replaced the Hub, I only managed to get an engineer thanks to the Forum Team on here, when I called through to the call centre they were like "No! We are not sending one out, as it is a problem with your equipment!!" In the end it was fopund to be a problem with the Hub, how long has this issue been going on for as I can see quite a bit of Pre RS errors appearing in your stats, is this on a hardwired connection or WIFI?

Highlighted
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
petarb
Tuning in
435 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Slow Internet Speed

The problem is for months, but I am patient and expected to be resolved by itself. Unfortunately wasn't. I also have doubt that can be from the hub.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10.71K
  • 1.09K
  • 1.71K
jbrennand
Alessandro Volta
418 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Slow Internet Speed

Nothing obvious leaping out on the stats (at least to my inexperienced eyes).
So, If you think that you have a BB speed problem, then to check the speeds coming in to your Hub properly, and whether they match what you should be getting, you need to do it this way first.
Make sure your device has a gigabit network card and has the up to date drivers. Use a new Cat5e/6a ethernet cable to connect it to the Hub - which you have put into modem mode (to ensure only your device is connected). Then, boot up your device into "safe mode with networking" (to disable any software on it that could be limiting speeds) and run the test at speedtest.net on 2 different browsers one of which is a fresh download of one you haven’t previously used (e.g. Firefox, Opera, etc).
Test it like that and report back what you get

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Highlighted
  • 82
  • 3
  • 9
Mart280
Up to speed
413 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Slow Internet Speed

Well if you've tried all the tests on a hardwired connection and you're still getting this problem and not the speeds you should be getting as going from say 200mbps D/L to say 18.00MBPS D/L is quite a big drop, but like I say I'd get an engineer to take a better look. 🙂

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.03K
  • 157
  • 462
jpeg1
Wise owl
386 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Slow Internet Speed

The OP still hasn't confirmed that they are using a wired connection to the Hub. If they are, it's a problem that needs an engineer visit.

If the speed tests were done over WiFi, they are meaningless.

Highlighted
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
petarb
Tuning in
375 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Slow Internet Speed

Hello. We are using wireless connection for all devices. I've used before VM broadband on different address through wireless and the speed was close to the promised. That's why I am not agree that the speed test is meaningless. According jbrennand there's nothing wrong with the stats. In that case I'll try to book technician visit. Thanks for the help anyway. 🙂
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.8K
  • 1.08K
  • 2.56K
griffin
Alessandro Volta
370 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Slow Internet Speed

The stats monitor the DOCSIS connection between the Hub and VM's CMTS and has nothing directly to do with wireless.

The stats being fine would suggest that the DOCSIS connection is fine which would point the finger of suspicion at the wireless connection between the Hub and your devices which can be affected by many factors outside VM's control, like Range, Client Hardware, Interference, The number of simultaneous connections, the topography of your home, etc. etc. So a VM tech would be unlikely to be able to help.

The wireless environment at your old place will be completely different, so the argument that speeds were better at your old address hold no water at all.

So as Jpeg1 says wireless speeds are meaningless, due to the many variables involved with wireless
The only way to test the internet speed VM's side is to test wired. directly to the Hub

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.03K
  • 157
  • 462
jpeg1
Wise owl
359 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Slow Internet Speed


@petarb wrote:
Hello. We are using wireless connection for all devices. I've used before VM broadband on different address through wireless and the speed was close to the promised. That's why I am not agree that the speed test is meaningless. According jbrennand there's nothing wrong with the stats. In that case I'll try to book technician visit. Thanks for the help anyway. 🙂

By all means call the support number if you wish. They will do an online test, and if they find the connection to your Hub is working correctly (which is very likely based on the stats you have quoted) they will not send an engineer.

But this is not the end of the road. Just as you have had good WiFi performance at your old address there is no reason why you can't have it at your new address, unless it is a particularly difficult site.

At the top of the Networking and WiFi section of this forum you will find several links to advice on how you can adjust your router settings to give a better service. Read them. If you have a large house you may need some extra equipment to cover every room.  And connect as many devices as possible directly to the Hub with ethernet cables.

0 Kudos
Reply