Menu
Reply
stewo
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
504 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Very Intermittent Connection and It Is Impossible to Contact Virgin Media

Hello, 

My internet connect has been very intermittent for months now but recently it's been much worse. My ping when playing games will constantly spike to unplayable levels and I suffer from significant package loss. I've used a ping monitoring tool which has confirmed there is clearly a problem.

I've called the Virgin Media contact number which is an automated system that states they need to send a signal to fix it. They do this and it doesn't fix it. I then tried the other phone option of being sent a text to start a chat with a help desk person but the text never comes through on my phone. There is no other way to contact Virgin Media. 

Am I just stuck with almost unusable internet until I can leave or is there anyway to get in contact with virgin media?

 

Any help is greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.38K
  • 2.4K
  • 3.99K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
489 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Intermittent Connection and It Is Impossible to Contact Virgin Media

First question is always... are you connected on ethernet cable or wifi?

Second as always is... what Hub model are you using on what package?

Can you do this so we can look at the Hub data
-------
First do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any splitters/attenuators/etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

Then do a Hub “pinhole reset” - disconnect any ethernet cables and with the Hub "switched on" throughout, press pin in firmly with paper clip/SIM tray tool and hold it there for 60 seconds – release the pin then leave it 10’ to stabilise. But, make sure the 2 passwords on the Hub sticker are still there and legible first !

If that’s all good.... Post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there. In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before] click on the “router status” icon at top right (SH2’s) or text at bottom-middle of first page up (Hub3) and then copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – from the Downstream, Upstream, & Network Logs pages. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button a second time).

Also, in the meantime, if you haven’t already, set up a free “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” (as per instructions on the TB website) when you have the first 24h period.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
stewo
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
480 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Intermittent Connection and It Is Impossible to Contact Virgin Media

Hello,

Thanks for the reply. I'm connected by Ethernet, however it's all devices that seem to be suffering from intermittent connection.

I'm using the Hub 3 with 200Mb speed. I've checked all connections going to and around the hub and they all seem properly connected and in good condition. I've also tried the hub reset with the small pin hole reset button in the back, this seems to fix it for a few hours but then the problem happens again.

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

04/09/2020 20:45:9noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/09/2020 20:45:4Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/09/2020 13:49:40ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=c-MAC=:cc;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/09/2020 19:02:0criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/09/2020 23:23:51noticeSW Download INIT - Via NMS
28/08/2020 13:16:5criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/08/2020 09:58:2noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxl20016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=fb;CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/08/2020 09:58:2ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/08/2020 00:01:45ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/08/2020 21:58:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=cc;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/08/2020 14:05:29ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/08/2020 06:14:19criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/08/2020 13:13:5noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxl20016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/08/2020 13:13:5ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=c;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/08/2020 21:28:2ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/08/2020 14:23:28criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=cCMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/08/2020 05:43:3ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=cfb;CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/08/2020 21:53:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=b;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/08/2020 19:24:59noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/08/2020 19:24:52Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=fb;CMTS-MAC=c;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

(I couldn't fit the down and up into one post)

 

Here is the graph. 

 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/9972c2193baace1a51bd16c4d7cbf81b6c499338-17-08-2020

 

0 Kudos
Reply
mannz
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
429 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Intermittent Connection and It Is Impossible to Contact Virgin Media

I’ve had the same problem with my M500 service which has only been live barely a week. Intermittent connections with high latency and now total outage!

 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/d76216d853be129c261918d17520384d44f68647-05-09-2020
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.38K
  • 2.4K
  • 3.99K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
400 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Intermittent Connection and It Is Impossible to Contact Virgin Media

Stewo: you havent posted the Hub data I asked for - upstream/downstream tabs - 2 tables in each.

Mannz: if your thread doesnt result in quick resolution - remember you only have 14 days from activation to cancel the contract with no £ penalties.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
stewo
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
364 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Intermittent Connection and It Is Impossible to Contact Virgin Media

Sorry I reached the character limit in the first reply, here they are below. Any thoughts on if there's an issue? 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1451000000-0.540256 qam40
22670000000.540256 qam17
32750000000.240256 qam18
42830000000.540256 qam19
5291000000140256 qam20
62990000000.540256 qam21
7307000000-0.440256 qam22
83150000000.440256 qam23
93230000000.940256 qam24
103310000000.540256 qam25
113390000000.740256 qam26
123470000000.740256 qam27
13355000000040256 qam28
14363000000-0.240256 qam29
153710000000.240256 qam30
163790000000.540256 qam31
173870000000.240256 qam32
183950000000.440256 qam33
194030000000.543256 qam34
20411000000040256 qam35
21419000000-0.540256 qam36
22427000000-0.440256 qam37
23435000000-0.240256 qam38
24443000000-140256 qam39



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.910
2Locked40.3130
3Locked40.3180
4Locked40.990
5Locked40.920
6Locked40.3120
7Locked40.9140
8Locked40.3110
9Locked40.9170
10Locked40.9190
11Locked40.960
12Locked40.970
13Locked40.990
14Locked40.930
15Locked40.360
16Locked40.960
17Locked40.3250
18Locked40.9220
19Locked43.3220
20Locked40.3320
21Locked40.9240
22Locked40.9190
23Locked40.380
24Locked40.980

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1536999934.9512064 qam2
2393999794.75512064 qam4
3462000074.9512064 qam3
4602999934.9512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Thanks for the response.

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.38K
  • 2.4K
  • 3.99K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
358 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Intermittent Connection and It Is Impossible to Contact Virgin Media

Those Hub stats are all fine. The developing BQM isn't though - it looks awful after just a few hours. Can you repost the Logs that cover the period that is looking dire.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Paul_DN
  • 5.8K
  • 341
  • 613
Forum Team
Forum Team
335 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Intermittent Connection and It Is Impossible to Contact Virgin Media

Hi Stewo,

 

Thank you for reaching out to us in our community and a warm welcome to you, I am sorry to hear you are having issues with your connection.

 

 

So I can help further I will send you an invite into a private chat, please click on the purple envelope to accept.

 

Regards

 

Paul

0 Kudos
Reply