Menu
Reply
daveleeuk
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
559 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

VM350 = VM80?

I've noticed my downloads speed is consistently slow for the last few weeks on VM350 using Superhub 3.

I connect via cat7 through a network switch, though have tried other cables, with and without the network switch, giving the same speed tests.

Have done hard and soft resets numerous times and the result is always roughly the same.

If I keep a record of these results would I have any hope of a refund from Virgin? It's pretty poor really seeing as they're head and shoulders more expensive than any other provider.

It seems like this is a recent thing - I've had this connection for many years and it always used to test at over the advertised speed both up and down. Vodafone are currently laying a gigabit fibre network and I'm really hoping it's soon! 

See below router stats

Cable Modem Status

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
402750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
60300000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14027500004.540256 qam30
2202750000540256 qam9
3210750000540256 qam10
42187500004.638256 qam11
52267500004.138256 qam12
62347500003.740256 qam13
7242750000440256 qam14
82507500004.540256 qam15
92587500004.540256 qam16
102667500004.840256 qam17
112747500004.840256 qam18
122827500004.940256 qam19
132907500004.940256 qam20
14298750000540256 qam21
15306750000540256 qam22
163147500005.140256 qam23
173227500005.540256 qam24
183307500006.140256 qam25
19370750000540256 qam26
203787500005.140256 qam27
21386750000540256 qam28
22394750000540256 qam29
234107500004.540256 qam31
244187500004.540256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.360
2Locked40.9190
3Locked40.350
4Locked38.9110
5Locked38.6140
6Locked40.900
7Locked40.350
8Locked40.370
9Locked40.960
10Locked40.960
11Locked40.360
12Locked40.960
13Locked40.970
14Locked40.3200
15Locked40.9200
16Locked40.9110
17Locked40.9180
18Locked40.900
19Locked40.300
20Locked40.950
21Locked40.960
22Locked40.950
23Locked40.950
24Locked40.360

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

16030000050.3512064 qam1
24620000050512064 qam3
33940000049.8512064 qam4
45370000050512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0020
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
554 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: VM350 = VM80?

If possible can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Please post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Live Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
daveleeuk
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
547 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: VM350 = VM80?

Thank you Mike

Here is my BQM link

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
543 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: VM350 = VM80?

What speeds do you get at >> speedtest.net << with a direct connection using a Cat 5E or better ethernet cable between the Hub in Router Mode and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other devices connected ?

Then immediately after …

Can you Login to the Hub Settings and navigate to the Connected Devices page - what is the reported 'connection speed’ for the ethernet cable connected device you used for the speed test ?


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
daveleeuk
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
526 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: VM350 = VM80?

hi mike,

router is in router mode, I've used a Cat6 cable, only thing plugged in. Result was 374 down, 37 up. Oddly this is what I always used to get testing, but has not been the case the last couple of weeks.

There was only one connection in the router when reporting lower speeds - a cat 7 into a network switch (10Gbps capable), with cat6s/7s going from the switch to devices (two PCs, both with 10Gbps network cards)

Reported connection speed immediately after the test reads 1000Mbps.

I'm now going to repeat these steps with the network switch in use to compare

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
521 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: VM350 = VM80?

Before you reconnect everything do another speed test with a different cable just to make sure that the cables are up to the job.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
daveleeuk
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
499 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: VM350 = VM80?

Well this isn’t going well! 

I reverted to the old setup:

router > switch > device

with the cables exactly as they were and I can’t connect to the web. I reset everything then turned on the router, the switch, then the computer. 

my computer sees the network but no connection, I can also no longer reach the router through the pc which is even stranger! 
im going to try and leave the switch and computer on whilst I reset the router this time as I’ve a feeling this is some kind of auto config problem

0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 17.12K
  • 734
  • 1.71K
Alessandro Volta
491 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: VM350 = VM80?

Get your own router with 1Gb ports and use the hub in modem mode.

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
daveleeuk
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
225 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: VM350 = VM80?

Well, now I feel silly! After getting back online when I lost the connection I had narrowed the slow speed down to the cat6 cable been my SH3 and Network switch... Being the most difficult cable to change I really didn't want to as I had chased it into solid walls and into the loft.

I confirmed it was indeed a cat 6 cable but I had wired the RJ45 connector improperly on one end giving me cat 5 speeds; re crimped it and im getting 390 down 40 up consistantly across all devices. Thanks for all your help and sorry to waste time! Delete thread if necessary, or I guess leave up incase someone else makes this mistake and find this on Google!