Menu
Reply
RomeoFoxtrot
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
Settling in
395 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

VM350 - Consistently limited to 100Mbps for over a month

Hi,

I have been getting consistently slower speeds than what I pay for. I called up VM support who advised a total factory reset of my router which I carried out. This solved my problem for approximately 5 minutes, after which my speed went back from 350Mbps+ to 100Mbps. At this point it almost looks like I'm being throttled by VM but I want to be absolutely sure something is not going wrong on my end.

Having seen many posts on here already, I have gone ahead and started up a BQM in advance. The link to which is here.

Here are my downstream bonded channels:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12990000002.537256 qam21
21390000004.337256 qam1
3147000000437256 qam2
4155000000437256 qam3
5163000000437256 qam4
61710000003.737256 qam5
71790000003.538256 qam6
81870000003.737256 qam7
91950000003.438256 qam8
102030000003.237256 qam9
112110000002.737256 qam10
12219000000337256 qam11
13227000000337256 qam12
142350000002.737256 qam13
152430000002.237256 qam14
16251000000237256 qam15
172590000002.238256 qam16
182670000001.737256 qam17
192750000001.938256 qam18
202830000001.937256 qam19
21291000000237256 qam20
223070000002.237256 qam22
233150000002.538256 qam23
243230000002.537256 qam24

 

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.61040
2Locked37.61710
3Locked37.6850
4Locked37.6680
5Locked37.6770
6Locked37.3860
7Locked38.6720
8Locked37.61140
9Locked38.6830
10Locked37.6780
11Locked37.31100
12Locked37.6770
13Locked37.6940
14Locked37.61500
15Locked37.61520
16Locked37.61920
17Locked38.61630
18Locked37.61350
19Locked38.61230
20Locked37.61390
21Locked37.61881
22Locked37.61000
23Locked38.6860
24Locked37.61240

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394000243.95512064 qam4
2603000054.025512064 qam1
3462000543.95512064 qam3
4537000004512064 qam2


and:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

If anyone could shed some light on this, it would be very appreciated. My gut says that an engineer will have to come take a look as something is going wrong. The I have the VM Hub 3.0.

Full disclosure, I briefly had remote access setup to allow for remote desktop to a personal server machine and I was too lazy to setup a VPN so my network was briefly under a siege from brute force login attempts from various IPs around the world. I've since reverted those changes and my windows event security log has calmed down since. I'm a bit of a power user and usually solve my own problems but I don't fully understand how to interpret the tables above which is why I'm here!

Thanks in advance!

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
Reply
Buffer6
  • 11.14K
  • 93
  • 630
Hero
374 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: VM350 - Consistently limited to 100Mbps for over a month

Your stats look OK but the BQM shows peak time latency

is your connection wi-fi or cable?

What comes to mind and what might be happening

is your NIC (Network Interface Card) could be getting hot after running

for a while and might be getting noisy so has to renegotiate

to a lower speed, or noise on your connection line

or from the Hub could be causing the speed drops

Make sure all connections are tight, try a different

rj45 cable and ensure that the Hub is moved away

from other electrical devices where it might pick up noise.

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.94K
  • 1.21K
  • 3.03K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
369 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: VM350 - Consistently limited to 100Mbps for over a month

The hub stats are all in order (though if you post the Network log that might have evidence in it of other matters).  However, your BQM looks like you are a victim of over-utilisation, where VM's network doesn't have the capacity for the traffic being demanded.  If that suspicion is correct, then a solution is probably many months away, and you'll get no honest and accurate answers from VM because the customer facing staff either don't know or are not allowed to say when an over-utilisation fix date is a made up date with no accompanying work.

When your area is upgraded to DOCSIS 3.1 (enabling gigabit speeds, but increasing network capacity), and they've handed out enough Hub 4's then it is probable the over-utilisation will disappear.  But if you're on the back end of the D3.1 programme, that could be the end of next year.  If your area is already part of the circa 30% of the network already D3.1 enabled, then it comes down to whether they've dished out enough Hub 4's (I don't think the Hub 4 on its own solves the problem, I believe it's the aggregate effect of most customers in a segment having one - though if we have any DOCSIS experts around I'm open to correction).  

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
RomeoFoxtrot
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
Settling in
358 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: VM350 - Consistently limited to 100Mbps for over a month

Hi Buffer,

My connection is cable. I think you may be onto something about the NIC getting hot. I'll move it somewhere a bit cooler and see what happens. I'll also check connections and try a different cable and report back. Thanks!

0 Kudos
Reply
RomeoFoxtrot
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
Settling in
357 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: VM350 - Consistently limited to 100Mbps for over a month

Hi Andruser,

I thought this was a possibility and it makes sense. Definitely looking forward to the 3.1 upgrade, hopefully that will be a longer term fix.
0 Kudos
Reply
RomeoFoxtrot
  • 4
  • 1
  • 0
Settling in
352 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: VM350 - Consistently limited to 100Mbps for over a month

Thanks to Buffer and Andruser for the suggestions. It looks like moving the router to somewhere a bit cooler and away from electrical interference, then replacing the cable (which was surprisingly damaged after months of twists and turns!) has resolved the problem. I'm now getting 360Mbps and the change was instant.

0 Kudos
Reply