forumarchive,nothingtosee,
Menu
Reply
ADSL
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
370 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Upload speed too low - message for tech support

Hello. It appears that rather than having customer support VMED's approach is for users to post here and tech support somehow picks up the thread. So here goes:

Upload speed 66 Mbps is more than enough for streaming video. Download speed of 1.4 Mbps is not enough for video conferencing. Please can you adjust my settings for higher upload speed?

I have tried turning router off and doing full factory reset. I continue to get yellow light at bottom of Hub 3.0 instead of a nice white light so the router knows something is wrong. 

Router status:

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
402750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
60300000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

140275000012.540256 qam30
220275000013.440256 qam9
321075000013.438256 qam10
421875000013.340256 qam11
522675000013.138256 qam12
623475000013.340256 qam13
724275000013.140256 qam14
82507500001340256 qam15
92587500001340256 qam16
1026675000013.340256 qam17
112747500001340256 qam18
122827500001340256 qam19
1329075000013.140256 qam20
1429875000013.538256 qam21
1530675000013.340256 qam22
163147500001340256 qam23
173227500001340256 qam24
1833075000013.140256 qam25
193707500001340256 qam26
2037875000012.938256 qam27
2138675000012.540256 qam28
2239475000012.540256 qam29
2341075000012.538256 qam31
2441875000012.340256 qam32

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

16030000034.5512064 qam1
24620000036.8512064 qam3
33940000036.3512064 qam4
45370000036.3512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID607092
Max Traffic Rate117000047
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID607091
Max Traffic Rate10500047
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.52K
  • 970
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
359 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Upload speed too low - message for tech support

Your downstream power levels are too high.  I've flagged that for a staff intervention (probably tomorrow), and they can book a technician visit as required.

Aside comment: The last place on earth any VM customer should go for support is VM's telephone response.  I think I'd rather eat my own foot than deal with VM by telephone.  And my foot is NOT something nice.  It's cheesy, scaley, and got talons.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

JitteryPinger
  • 1.73K
  • 188
  • 340
Super solver
357 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Upload speed too low - message for tech support

It don't quite work like that,

Your hub is configured to receive up to 110Mbps Download and up to 10Mbps upload this is described in the service flow tables you have attached and as is also mentioned in those boxes its a best effort service and due to everybody at home using more bandwidth than usual and technical limitations of residential cable broadband services you are not receiving these speeds because of the congestion from other users.

There isn't anything in the short term that can be done about this, the light on the router isn't in anyway relating to this, if its yellow its suggesting a wireless device 'has' at some point had trouble connecting or it is appearing as yellow but in fact is white.

If I've helped please let me know 🙂 Matt

A 10+ Year Virgin Media veteran, been here through the Up's and the Down's and Down's....
Vodafone 5G EE BQM Hub 4 BQM Hub 3 BQM Hitron CGNV4 BQM TT BQM

Technical Support - AV & Networking - Customer Service - Finance - Culinary - Construction
ADSL
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
340 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload speed too low - message for tech support

Thank you very much. So you think the download is interfering with the upload because the voltage is too high? Looks like there are too many download channels and not enough dedicated to upload to me. Maybe that is not easy to change but it seems like mine is a common issue. 

0 Kudos
Reply
ADSL
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
337 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload speed too low - message for tech support

What about changing the number of upload channels so instead of 100 Mbps down and 10 Mbps up they had a target of 80 Mbps down and 30 Mbps up? In my house BT delivers about 36 Mbps down and 9 Mbps up. The total bandwith (45 Mbps) might be less than VMED but the ratio of up/down is far more practical. After all, who really needs 100 Mbps download speed?

0 Kudos
Reply
jem101
  • 1.52K
  • 215
  • 713
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
333 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload speed too low - message for tech support

Also, I should really point out that the chances of anyone who works for VM’s network engineering team, seeing these threads is vanishing low - this is more of a community ‘self-help’ setup.

Having said that, the first question is ‘how exactly are you measuring the speeds, Ethernet connected device or over WiFi? The latter can be a bit problematic (ie all over the shop) for getting reliable figures, also you might care to copy and paste the network log from the hub.

0 Kudos
Reply
jem101
  • 1.52K
  • 215
  • 713
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
329 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload speed too low - message for tech support


@ADSL wrote:

What about changing the number of upload channels so instead of 100 Mbps down and 10 Mbps up they had a target of 80 Mbps down and 30 Mbps up? In my house BT delivers about 36 Mbps down and 9 Mbps up. The total bandwith (45 Mbps) might be less than VMED but the ratio of up/down is far more practical. After all, who really needs 100 Mbps download speed?


Not possible I’m afraid, cable connections don’t work like that.

0 Kudos
Reply
ADSL
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
314 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload speed too low - message for tech support

Ethernet connected PC. Same results on smartphone over WiFi. 

There is a character limit on posts so I couldn't include the Network log before. Here it is:

Network Log

Time Priority Description

03/02/2021 20:42:50noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/02/2021 19:51:51criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/02/2021 18:54:35noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 14:34:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 14:01:9Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 14:01:5criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 14:01:4Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 14:01:4criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 14:01:4Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 14:01:3criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 13:40:56Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 13:40:40Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 13:40:36criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 13:40:36Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 13:40:36criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 13:39:49Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 13:39:43criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 13:39:41Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 13:39:36criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 13:39:33Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
ADSL
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
311 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload speed too low - message for tech support

Yes they do. It just costs money:

"The DOCSIS 3.0 standard allowed a mid-split option to increase the frequency for upload to 85 MHz. or a more-aggressive high-split option to assign all of the bandwidth up to 204 MHz to data upload. DOCSIS 4.0 is going to offer even a wider range of upload speeds, as high as 684 MHz of spectrum."

https://potsandpansbyccg.com/2020/11/16/will-cable-companies-tackle-faster-upload-speeds/

0 Kudos
Reply
cje85
  • 2.58K
  • 162
  • 674
Trouble shooter
260 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload speed too low - message for tech support

The level of spectrum available for upstream is still much less than download, and cable modems are designed with this is mind and can only handle 8 upstream channels, compared to 24 or 32 downstreams.

DOCSIS 4.0 has the potential for symmetrical upload/download speeds, so in theory VM could offer 500/500, but that is a long way off yet. They're only just getting started on DOCSIS 3.1.