Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
317 Views
Message 1 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Upload qam only 16

Hi,

I live in the London Enfield Area and for about a week now I have had upload problems. Frequently the upload speed during the day drops down to 1 to 2 Mbit per second. Evenings and weekends is better with between 15 and 20, but not close to the 36 it should be. Download is fine with mostly around 370 to 380.

Is there any issue reported in this area or are upgrade works taking place?

We had the same problem a couple of months ago and after around 2 weeks it fixed by itself, but had massive video conferencing problems in the meantime. Installation is quite new. Our streets were installed with Virgin Fibre just last year.

See below my upload router status. I restarted the router today to make sure.

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

12579999534.5512016 qam10
23940000034.5512064 qam4
34620000534.8512064 qam3
43260000034.5512064 qam9



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.46K
  • 755
  • 1.82K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
295 Views
Message 2 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload qam only 16

Well, if you will insist in diagnosing your own problem, then there's no fun to be had here.  I have escalated this to the VM forum staff's queue, so you should get a response in a few hours (office time).  And if you try and phone it in, it'll be no quicker, so my counsel is to wait on the lovely, helpful and over-worked forum staff.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
285 Views
Message 3 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload qam only 16

Thanks for pushing it up. I am very grateful for what you guys are doing. Without reading other posts I would not have known what to look out for. Happy to wait until someone has time to look into it. I appreciate that everyone is very busy in this pandemic.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.46K
  • 755
  • 1.82K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
280 Views
Message 4 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload qam only 16

Some companies are performing better than others, and from what I see here, VM are at the firmly back of the pack.  Customer service was (to put it politely) very variable before Covid, now it is simply abysmal.  VM chose to outsource and offshore customer service to Timbuktoo in pursuit of cost savings, they're now reaping what they sowed.

The UK based forum staff are a tiny glimmer of helpfulness in the dystopian mess that is the rest of VM's apology for "customer service".

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4K
  • 239
  • 467
Forum Team
Forum Team
226 Views
Message 5 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload qam only 16

Hi there @Blaze728

 

Welcome to our Community and thanks so much for your post - I was sorry to understand that you're having some issues with your upload recently. I have managed to locate your account from your forum information to go through a few checks. 

 

We can see it's been around 24 hours since you last rebooted - we have no known area issues showing in your region and no errors are showing at the time of writing. Your signal levels are within the parameters we would expect for your package. 

 

We can however see that you are currently using the Hub in Modem mode; are you able to do a speed check with the Hub in router mode for us? 

 

Keep us posted. 

 

Cheers

Katie - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
223 Views
Message 6 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload qam only 16

Hi Katie,

thanks for looking into this. My Virgin hub is connected to a Gigabit router. I have just plugged in my computer via cable to it and obtain via speedtest.net 382 MBit down and 28MBit up (connected to nearest Virgin Server in Brentford). This is not something that would worry me at this time of day as we have a number of homeworking neighbours and I often see a small decrease in upload speed during the day. This is not comparable to the problems we had last week where upload often went down to less than 1MBit per second and impacted video conferencing.

Below is my current upstream data for the router:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

12580028335512032 qam10
23940007935512064 qam4
34620011935.3512064 qam3
43260018135512064 qam9

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA00130
2ATDMA0040
3ATDMA0030
4ATDMA0080

 

I can see that on channel 1 the modulation is now 32 qam. During the morning it was 64 qam. Is this something that is still within parameters or a sign for potential congestion/other issues in the area? There are also a few T3 timeouts. But the last critical timeout error shown in the Network log of the router is from 6 November.

Best wishes

Timo

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 12.15K
  • 943
  • 1.56K
Alessandro Volta
221 Views
Message 7 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload qam only 16

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting your district. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

Disable any VPNs that you have running.

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 12.15K
  • 943
  • 1.56K
Alessandro Volta
219 Views
Message 8 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload qam only 16

Can you post all your Hub data please.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish.

Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
216 Views
Message 9 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload qam only 16

Hi,

accessible coax connections are tight. Just checked again. The downstream router status is:

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
12987500005.338256 qam21
2202750000640256 qam9
3210750000640256 qam10
4218750000640256 qam11
52267500005.940256 qam12
62347500005.940256 qam13
72427500005.640256 qam14
82507500005.540256 qam15
92587500005.340256 qam16
102667500005.140256 qam17
112747500004.940256 qam18
12282750000540256 qam19
13290750000538256 qam20
143067500005.540256 qam22
153147500005.440256 qam23
163227500005.440256 qam24
173307500005.640256 qam25
183707500005.840256 qam26
193787500005.938256 qam27
203867500005.640256 qam28
21394750000640256 qam29
22402750000638256 qam30
234107500005.540256 qam31
244187500005.840256 qam32


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.92730
2Locked40.3330
3Locked40.9420
4Locked40.3540
5Locked40.3770
6Locked40.3640
7Locked40.3930
8Locked40.31050
9Locked40.3970
10Locked40.31460
11Locked40.31590
12Locked40.31690
13Locked38.92290
14Locked40.32730
15Locked40.33090
16Locked40.33550
17Locked40.34140
18Locked40.36060
19Locked38.97660
20Locked40.97840
21Locked40.99120
22Locked38.910490
23Locked40.312200
24Locked40.313270

 

For upstream data see my previous post in thread. Network log and configurations see next post.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
215 Views
Message 10 of 23
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload qam only 16

 
Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID149394
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID149393
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Network log:

Time Priority Description
06/11/2020 22:50:52criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/11/2020 22:34:42noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/11/2020 22:24:18criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/11/2020 22:20:40Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 17:16:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 16:37:6ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 16:11:30criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 16:07:6ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 15:52:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 12:07:6ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 11:50:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 11:07:6ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 10:40:47criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 10:37:6ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 10:32:19criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 10:07:6ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 09:36:54criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 09:35:22criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 09:31:23Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 09:31:22Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply