Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 20
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
735 Views
Message 1 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Upload Speed Halved

Hi,

I'm on the M350 broadband only package and my upload speed used to consistently be 36Mbps.

Then, we got a letter about how on Jan 13th (last month) there'd be some maintenance work in our area or something and so a bit of downtime on that day, and there was.

But when the internet came back, the upload speed had been halved from 36Mbps to 18Mbps-22Mbps. The download speed was unaffected and remained the same, being above 350Mbps.

This reduced upload speed is on all devices, through wired connection, that used to have 36Mbps prior to January 13th. So, I know it's not an issue with my device(s). 

 

I called the broadband support, and naturally I reached an unhelpful call centre. They kept telling me things like "we are only concerned about download speed, not upload speed." 

I find that absolutely ridiculous since when you're signing up for the different packages, you're clearly being told you'll get particular UPLOAD speeds depending on which package you sign up to: 

https://i.imgur.com/CRle3DL.png

 

I've waited a month, since Jan 13th when it got halved, for it to maybe return but it hasn't yet and the call centre are of no help. What can I do? I'm paying for 36Mbps (which I used to get consistently up until Jan 13th) and am now only getting the M200's upload speeds.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.91K
  • 511
  • 897
Legend
725 Views
Message 2 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload Speed Halved

Are you testing with wifi or ethernet cable?

Whenever possible always test using a direct connection using a Cat 5E/6 cable between the Hub and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other items connected.

..........................................................................................................................

Firstly set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

then

Type 192.168.0.1 into your browser URL bar and press enter.  When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’. Copy and paste the contents of each tab onto here, a Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 20
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
717 Views
Message 3 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload Speed Halved

As I said in my post:

"This reduced upload speed is on all devices, through wired connection, that used to have 36Mbps prior to January 13th. So, I know it's not an issue with my device(s)."

 

I can assure you it's got nothing to do with hardware on my end. I've made no hardware or connection changes from the last time that I had consistent 36Mbps (Jan 12th) and now. 

Also, what possible hardware/connection change could there be that would suddenly take me down to a consistent 18-22Mbps? If it was fluctuating all the time and going extremely low, yes I'd imagine a hardware/wire issue but no this looks more like a cap at 22Mbps than my previous 36Mbps cap.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.91K
  • 511
  • 897
Legend
705 Views
Message 4 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload Speed Halved

OK, if you don't want assistance just say so.

Bye

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 20
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
700 Views
Message 5 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload Speed Halved

Assistance from somebody who can help? Yeah, I want that.

Assistance from somebody who appears to have shown no comprehension of my post? Indeed, i don't need that.

 

Bye

Highlighted
  • 3.57K
  • 196
  • 547
Community elder
654 Views
Message 6 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload Speed Halved

I would check the upload stats to see if you have lost channels or if the signal levels have changed as a result of that engineering work. 

Highlighted
  • 15.73K
  • 1.64K
  • 2.69K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
632 Views
Message 7 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload Speed Halved


@Enigmo wrote:

I can assure you it's got nothing to do with hardware on my end. I've made no hardware or connection changes from the last time that I had consistent 36Mbps (Jan 12th) and now. 

 


I wouldn't be so dogmatic about that statement if I were you.  Dunno if any of these this applies to you - but there are quite a few post on these fora from people who have just started having speed issues after....

A recent windoze 10 update. 

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Downgrade-from-350-to-200-barely-getting-100/td-p/4154421

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Tech-Chatter/Windows10-version1909-November-update/td-p/4102295

Also, Dell users that suddenly have had Smartbyte activated without their knowing.

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Download-speeds/td-p/3894056

Or where browsers (e.g. Chrome) have suddenly decided to do this

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Another-slow-speed-on-M350-area-20/m-p/4138618#M219126

And 1 or 2 other things I could add too.


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Highlighted
  • 15.73K
  • 1.64K
  • 2.69K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
619 Views
Message 8 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload Speed Halved

Another thought....

Have a look in the Hub settings at the "configuration" page and see what the "max transfer rate" is set to - post up the data/number. Mine is set for the 20mbps package (220000061 bps) like this...

Screenshot 2020-02-24 at 16.57.54.png

 


Whilst you are in there, post up all of the data from the Upstream (& Downstream) pages as well


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 20
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
588 Views
Message 9 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload Speed Halved

Hi jbrennand,

Thank you for the response.

I am on WIndows 8.1, have done no updates since Jan 12th (last time I had full upload speed) and do not use Dell.

I have confidence it's not my device(s) since ALL devices, including my Macbook Air, are only getting 18-22Mbps upload now.

The only thing that happened between Jan 12th (when I had full UL speed) and Jan 14th (when I first saw consistent 18-22Mbps) was the outage on Jan 13th when some maintenance or something was going on by Virgin, hence me thinking it may be to do with that.

Here is max traffic rate: https://i.imgur.com/SyIrJKh.png

 

Here is the Downstream data:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1299000000-4.538256 qam21
2187000000-0.540256 qam7
3195000000-0.740256 qam8
4203000000-140256 qam9
5211000000-1.240256 qam10
6219000000-1.440256 qam11
7227000000-1.538256 qam12
8235000000-1.938256 qam13
9243000000-2.238256 qam14
10251000000-2.540256 qam15
11259000000-2.938256 qam16
12267000000-3.238256 qam17
13275000000-3.540256 qam18
14283000000-4.538256 qam19
15291000000-5.238256 qam20
16307000000-3.938256 qam22
17315000000-3.738256 qam23
18323000000-3.438256 qam24
19379000000-3.738256 qam25
20387000000-3.738256 qam26
21395000000-3.738256 qam27
22403000000-3.738256 qam28
23411000000-3.738256 qam29
24419000000-438256 qam30



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.6150
2Locked40.950
3Locked40.360
4Locked40.3110
5Locked40.380
6Locked40.960
7Locked38.9120
8Locked38.9250
9Locked38.660
10Locked40.3120
11Locked38.9170
12Locked38.980
13Locked40.380
14Locked38.6120
15Locked38.6120
16Locked38.6100
17Locked38.9110
18Locked38.960
19Locked38.910
20Locked38.980
21Locked38.6100
22Locked38.6110
23Locked38.9100
24Locked38.9130

 

 

Upstream:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1603000004.975512064 qam5
2537000004.9512064 qam6
3462000004.775512064 qam7
4394000004.7512064 qam8



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.73K
  • 1.64K
  • 2.69K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
584 Views
Message 10 of 33
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload Speed Halved

Nothing obviously amiss in the Hub stats and you are provisioned for 35mbps uploads.
So can you do what Mike suggested in post 2 before you got the hump with him 🙂
Test hard wired directly (use a new Cat5e/6 cable)  to the Hub which you have put in modem mode... and then if its still at 20mbps repeat the tests with the windoze lappy booted into safe + networking mode.
And set up a BQM just to get more connection data.

It's all just part of a process of elimination to identify the root cause.


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply