Menu
Reply
janskit
  • 36
  • 1
  • 4
On our wavelength
577 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Upload : 1 channel seems to be locked out of 4

Just had a modem disco, and at the moment, it looks like only 1 out of 4 upstream channels are working correctly:

  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type2.02.02.02.0
Channel ID4231
Frequency (Hz)25800000394000003260000046200000
Ranging StatusSuccessContinueContinueContinue
Modulation64QAM64QAM64QAM64QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000512000051200005120000
Mini-Slot Size2222
Power Level (dBmV)51.0051.0051.0051.00
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts1000
T4 Timeouts0000

 

 

 

Is this a fault that needs an engineer? Speed seems unaffected, strangely. Logs mention "TCS partial service" - is that an issue?

 

First TimeLast TimePriorityError NumberDescription
20/08/2020 16:11:07 GMT20/08/2020 16:11:07 GMTWarning (5)85010200TCS Partial Service
20/08/2020 16:11:07 GMT20/08/2020 16:11:07 GMTWarning (5)85010300Initializing Channel Timeout Expires - Time the CM can perform initial ranging on all upstream channels in the TCS has expired
20/08/2020 16:10:01 GMT20/08/2020 16:10:01 GMTError (4)68000407TOD established
20/08/2020 16:09:55 GMT20/08/2020 16:09:55 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
20/08/2020 16:09:50 GMT20/08/2020 16:09:50 GMTNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
20/08/2020 16:09:46 GMT20/08/2020 16:09:46 GMTCritical (3)73000200REG RSP not received
20/08/2020 16:09:46 GMT20/08/2020 16:09:46 GMTError (4)73027100T6 Timeout and retries exceeded
20/08/2020 16:09:46 GMT20/08/2020 16:09:46 GMTCritical (3)73025103Registration RSP rejected unspecified reason
20/08/2020 16:09:45 GMT20/08/2020 16:09:45 GMTCritical (3)73025104Registration RSP rejected message syntax error
20/08/2020 16:09:39 GMT20/08/2020 16:09:39 GMTError (4)68000407TOD established
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
20/08/2020 16:08:07 GMT20/08/2020 16:08:07 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
20/08/2020 16:07:55 GMT20/08/2020 16:07:55 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
20/08/2020 16:07:52 GMT20/08/2020 16:07:52 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
20/08/2020 16:07:49 GMT20/08/2020 16:07:49 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
20/08/2020 16:07:43 GMT20/08/2020 16:07:43 GMTNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
20/08/2020 16:07:39 GMT20/08/2020 16:07:39 GMTCritical (3)73000200REG RSP not received
20/08/2020 16:07:39 GMT20/08/2020 16:07:39 GMTError (4)73027100T6 Timeout and retries exceeded
20/08/2020 16:07:39 GMT20/08/2020 16:07:39 GMTCritical (3)73025103Registration RSP rejected unspecified reason
20/08/2020 16:07:39 GMT20/08/2020 16:07:39 GMTCritical (3)73025104Registration RSP rejected message syntax error
0 Kudos
Reply
DJ_Shadow1966
  • 6.86K
  • 1.31K
  • 1.9K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
574 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload : 1 channel seems to be locked out of 4

Hello

The upstream power levels are right on max, which also shows in the network logs with the T3 errors, and engineer will be need to fix that I am afraid, as long as there is no local / area issue you can find this out by clicking on https://my.virginmedia.com/faults/service-status for area issues or calling for more localized issues 0800 561 0061

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
janskit
  • 36
  • 1
  • 4
On our wavelength
556 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload : 1 channel seems to be locked out of 4

seems to be fluctuating. What's the acceptable upstream signal level on the Super Hub 2ac?

 

  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type2.02.0N/AN/A
Channel ID31N/AN/A
Frequency (Hz)3260000046200000N/AN/A
Ranging StatusSuccessSuccessN/AN/A
Modulation64QAM64QAMN/AN/A
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)51200005120000N/AN/A
Mini-Slot Size22N/AN/A
Power Level (dBmV)54.0054.00N/AN/A
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts0000
T4 Timeouts0000
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
550 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload : 1 channel seems to be locked out of 4

Max is 51dBmV.

Yours are too high and will require an engineer visit.

You can contact VM to report your problem using ...

Text service on 07533051809

150 from Virgin landline.

0345 454 1111 from any other UK  phone.

The best time to call is weekdays 08:00 to get a UK agent, anything after 10:00 you must realise that you are quite likely to get through to an offshore agent that doesn't speak English as a first language.

Or you can wait on here for one of the VM Staff to pick up the thread but this may take a few days.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
janskit
  • 36
  • 1
  • 4
On our wavelength
544 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload : 1 channel seems to be locked out of 4

Thanks. I'll try calling in the morning. 

Oddly as i mentioned before, speed is right up there with what it should be!

0 Kudos
Reply
janskit
  • 36
  • 1
  • 4
On our wavelength
475 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload : 1 channel seems to be locked out of 4

Fuming.

 

I got a text this morning, after agreeing an appointment, that there's an issue in my area, so they are putting my appointment on hold.

An hour later, after a few dropouts (others in the village experienced them too), i got a text that all is fixed - and my appointment is GONE!

 

Modem still at wrong levels!!!!!!!!!! what kind of bullcrap is that.

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
473 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload : 1 channel seems to be locked out of 4

Repost your Hub stats now that the local are issue has been sorted.

 


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
janskit
  • 36
  • 1
  • 4
On our wavelength
472 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload : 1 channel seems to be locked out of 4

  DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)139000000147000000155000000163000000171000000179000000187000000195000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID12345678
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)-2.36-2.99-3.44-3.30-3.84-4.34-4.92-5.23
RxMER (dB)37.0936.8436.8436.8437.3637.0937.0936.84
Pre RS Errors
397358298315293308951329
Post RS Errors
305283286287275295930306

 

 

  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type2.02.02.02.0
Channel ID3214
Frequency (Hz)32600000394000004620000025800000
Ranging StatusSuccessSuccessSuccessSuccess
Modulation64QAM64QAM64QAM64QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000512000051200005120000
Mini-Slot Size2222
Power Level (dBmV)51.0051.0051.0051.00
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts46000
T4 Timeouts0000

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
469 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload : 1 channel seems to be locked out of 4

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you can post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
janskit
  • 36
  • 1
  • 4
On our wavelength
462 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upload : 1 channel seems to be locked out of 4

0 Kudos
Reply