Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 26
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
801 Views
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Upgraded to Ultimate Oomph speeds slower than my 350mb connection

Hello

Upgraded to ultimate oomph a couple of days ago prior to this I always had no matter what time of day a rock stable 350mb connection never dropping below 320ish at peak and 370+ on speednet tests off peak (wasnt always like this was terrible when I first went from 200mb to 350mb requiring an engineer visit to sort) The downstream has peaked once around 410mb but most times never above 300mb and at peak times less than 200mb. The upstream night and day is at a rock stable 37mb on test.

Please advise as doesnt seem much point paying more for less.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12350000002.738256 qam13
21390000002.738256 qam1
31470000002.738256 qam2
41550000002.938256 qam3
51630000002.738256 qam4
61710000002.938256 qam5
71790000002.738256 qam6
81870000002.738256 qam7
91950000002.738256 qam8
102030000002.538256 qam9
112110000002.738256 qam10
122190000002.738256 qam11
132270000002.738256 qam12
142430000002.538256 qam14
152510000002.538256 qam15
162590000002.738256 qam16
17267000000338256 qam17
182750000003.238256 qam18
192830000003.238256 qam19
202910000003.238256 qam20
212990000003.238256 qam21
223070000003.438256 qam22
233150000003.738256 qam23
243230000003.738256 qam24


Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9640
2Locked38.98938
3Locked38.912160
4Locked38.68500
5Locked38.92070
6Locked38.62590
7Locked38.63880
8Locked38.94420
9Locked38.61410
10Locked38.6850
11Locked38.61850
12Locked38.9710
13Locked38.9530
14Locked38.9710
15Locked38.6680
16Locked38.6700
17Locked38.9810
18Locked38.6970
19Locked38.6930
20Locked38.91200
21Locked38.61170
22Locked38.61080
23Locked38.91210
24Locked38.61130

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1325999704.65512064 qam3
2394000004.7512064 qam2
3462001464.75512064 qam1
4257998984.575512064 qam4

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

Network Log

Time Priority Description

19/11/2019 07:29:57noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/11/2019 19:44:2criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/11/2019 18:51:54noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:32criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/11/2019 11:41:39ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/11/2019 05:26:38criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/11/2019 20:40:57ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/11/2019 07:35:4criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/11/2019 06:35:50ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/11/2019 01:40:28ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/11/2019 01:37:33criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2019 20:45:9ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2019 15:29:18criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2019 10:54:32ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2019 21:32:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/11/2019 10:43:17ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/11/2019 18:58:14ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/11/2019 04:51:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/11/2019 03:13:14ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/11/2019 10:13:2criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 80
  • 2
  • 1
On our wavelength
744 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Ultimate Oomph speeds slower than my 350mb connection

I was just going to post exactly the same thing. Since upgrading to the new bundle from M350 to M500 my speeds have actually dropped and can't surpass 220Mbps down. Was getting between 320 and 350Mbps pretty consistently before. I am getting 37Mbps up which has obviously improved.

How can upgrading your package to a higher speed with the same hardware actually result in slower download speeds lol?
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.48K
  • 564
  • 1.36K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
711 Views
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Ultimate Oomph speeds slower than my 350mb connection

"How can upgrading your package to a higher speed with the same hardware actually result in slower download speeds lol?"

Because higher speeds take the Hub 3 much closer to it's ultimate performance limits.  Anecdotal evidence from these forums suggests that a Hub 3 can (under absolutely optimal conditions) go up to about 670 Mbps, although VM seem to be limiting to the 550 offer, and concentrating on DOCSIS 3.1 and the Hub 4 for higher speeds.  If line conditions are not optimal, then the Hub 3 won't be able to perform as well, despite attempting to do so.  In the original poster's case and perhaps yours, there's a few T3 timeouts that COULD* indicate upstream noise.  All of the OP's stats look within spec, although I wonder how fast the error counts are rising.  One other thought is whether there's a local congestion issue?  The Hub 4 spreads the load over 32 channels, and maybe the 24 of the Hub 3 struggle to cope at times.

On a less demanding speed my (guessed) upstream noise issue is less likely to cause a noticeable problem, but when pushing the hub closer to its limits, I'm theorising that these errors have a more significant effect.

From a contractual point of view, VM only guarantee speeds half of those promised, so VM may believe they are within their rights to charge you more for a nominally higher speed yet provide less than you were getting before.  Obviously that's really damaging for customer relations, but so is the world-class awfulness of VM's offshore telephone support, and they won't do anything about that.

The best you can both hope for is that the forum staff pick this up and that the company realise that charging more for less is a very poor strategy, and fix whatever is the underlying problem.  For most customers, the promised speed is delivered when upgrading, but I've seen so many tales in these forums of worse performance after a "speed upgrade" that personally I wouldn't consider taking a higher speed, and indeed I turned down a heavily discounted Oomph package at my last contract renewal for this reason.  If VM want things to be different, they need to make sure that they deliver the speeds customers expect, regardless of the weasel words in their contracts.

* I'm not expert, so don't rely on this.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 26
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
710 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Ultimate Oomph speeds slower than my 350mb connection

Does seem to be saturated as if on a speedtest it wants to go quicker but cant but ultimately net result is now slower than previous so hardly seems good value for money 

As regards the error count it is increasing but I wouldnt know what was considered high in this regard

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.61310
2Locked38.915168
3Locked38.918920
4Locked38.914150
5Locked38.92960
6Locked38.93840
7Locked38.96160
8Locked38.96510
9Locked38.63270
10Locked38.93200
11Locked38.63990
12Locked38.91660
13Locked38.61110
14Locked38.61330
15Locked38.61220
16Locked38.61310
17Locked38.61540
18Locked38.91940
19Locked38.92030
20Locked38.62060
21Locked38.92310
22Locked38.92150
23Locked38.92260
24Locked38.62670
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.48K
  • 564
  • 1.36K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
687 Views
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Upgraded to Ultimate Oomph speeds slower than my 350mb connection

Assuming error count is 24 hours different, it is increasing, and perhaps a little faster than is desirable, but not at a rate that really establishes the cause of your speed problem, nor even that would themselves indicate a speed problem.  The sort of error count that causes problems would be to rack up an average of 30,000 pre-RS and 20,000 post-RS for each channel in a couple of days.  I had that the other week, and the connection was awful, fortunately it either resolved itself, or somebody else complained and it got fixed.

Based on your stats, the increase in pre-RS errors (that is, errors detected and corrected by the hub) is not outlandish, and there's no change in the trivial number of post-RS errors (errors detected by the hub but that can't be corrected, and then have to be dealt with either by the transmission protocol or in the worst case the application).  So I think we can park those for the time being.

The forum staff will get round this presently, suggest you wait and see what they can arrange.  

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 26
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
673 Views
Message 6 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Ultimate Oomph speeds slower than my 350mb connection

Yes the second set of figures are approx 24 hours later so as you say will wait it out and I am sure things will get sorted.

Also as pointed out earlier I cannot rule out network saturation locally however I would expect early mornings (pre 5am) to be indicative of true speed but again not seen anything even remotely near 500mb and barely any slower at 7pm in an evening when I would expect the speed to drop.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 1.34K
  • 81
  • 257
Forum Team
Forum Team
609 Views
Message 7 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Ultimate Oomph speeds slower than my 350mb connection

Hi ZinG,

 

Thank you for getting in touch and posting these stats, I'm really sorry that you haven't been receiving expected speeds since your upgrade.

 

I'd really like to take a look at this for you, but have been unable to locate your services based on the details you've signed up with here. Therefore, I'll need to private message you to gather some information. Please head to the purple envelope in the top right corner to respond.

 

Thanks,

Rachael

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 26
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
605 Views
Message 8 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Ultimate Oomph speeds slower than my 350mb connection

Thanks replied privately

Highlighted
  • 1.34K
  • 81
  • 257
Forum Team
Forum Team
597 Views
Message 9 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Ultimate Oomph speeds slower than my 350mb connection

Hi mark1970,

 

It's disappointing to hear you're also not receiving the service you're expecting, thank you for commenting.

 

I've had a look at the backend of your services and everything looks good entering your property. Your hub stats are reporting within spec and, although there appears to be a local SNR fault over the past 24 hours, it doesn't look to be affecting the segment of network you're connected to.

 

However, there do appear to be a number of issues with your in-home wireless network. Could you please confirm whether you've been testing speeds on a wired or wireless connection? Could you also let me know what kind of device you've been using to run these tests? It may be worth taking a look at our WiFi Wins for information on getting the best out of your wireless connection.

 

Thanks,

Rachael

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 80
  • 2
  • 1
On our wavelength
575 Views
Message 10 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to Ultimate Oomph speeds slower than my 350mb connection

Wired all the way.  Only use WiFi for phones, Alexa devices etc.  Game consoles, PC and Mac are all ethernet.

If the speed issue continues I will start my own thread, didn't want to hijack Zings, was just funny we both had the same issue.

0 Kudos
Reply