Menu
Reply
jenx
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
682 Views
Message 1 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Upgraded to M500 but speeds are less than half.

After upgrading to M500 speeds were initially good for a few days but since then speed is consistently less than half the expected. Is anyone able to decipher if there is anything wrong with the below (Channel data and logs provided a few minutes after a reboot):

Many thanks.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12027500003.238256 qam9
2210750000338256 qam10
3218750000338256 qam11
4226750000338256 qam12
5234750000338256 qam13
62427500002.738256 qam14
72507500002.938256 qam15
82587500002.440256 qam16
92667500002.540256 qam17
102747500002.238256 qam18
11282750000240256 qam19
122907500002.238256 qam20
132987500002.538256 qam21
143067500002.538256 qam22
153147500002.740256 qam23
163227500002.940256 qam24
174027500003.540256 qam25
184107500003.540256 qam26
194187500003.440256 qam27
204267500003.740256 qam28
214347500003.240256 qam29
224427500003.240256 qam30
234507500003.240256 qam31
244587500003.240256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9140
2Locked38.960
3Locked38.940
4Locked38.640
5Locked38.950
6Locked38.940
7Locked38.900
8Locked40.300
9Locked40.950
10Locked38.960
11Locked40.350
12Locked38.9130
13Locked38.640
14Locked38.9170
15Locked40.340
16Locked40.300
17Locked40.350
18Locked40.340
19Locked40.300
20Locked40.350
21Locked40.3130
22Locked40.340
23Locked40.3120
24Locked40.900

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1537000004.575512064 qam1
2394000004.475512064 qam3
3326000004.45512064 qam4
4462000004.5512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA000

0

 

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
Reply
awaybreaktoday
  • 16
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
668 Views
Message 2 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to M500 but speeds are less than half.

If you are not getting the speeds you should be, inform virgin and tell them you are giving 4 weeks notice to fix or you will cancel contract. if they cannot fix within a 4 week period you are entitled to cancel contract without termination fee.

Anonymous
Not applicable
657 Views
Message 3 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to M500 but speeds are less than half.

Absolutely nothing wrong with the stats you have posted.

Could you post the 'Network log' tab data?

Could you please create a BQM (Broadband Quality Monitor) here, and post the live link?

Are both wired and wireless devices affected?

0 Kudos
Reply
jenx
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
648 Views
Message 4 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to M500 but speeds are less than half.

Network Log although doesn't seem to be much in it:

 

01/01/1970 00:01:28criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/10/2020 13:28:12ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/10/2020 00:46:54criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/10/2020 12:58:11ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/09/2020 14:47:2criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/09/2020 00:58:10ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/09/2020 00:27:14criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/09/2020 00:26:44criticalTFTP Request Retries exceeded, CM unable to register
29/09/2020 00:26:44criticalTFTP failed - Request sent - No Response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/09/2020 00:26:13criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/09/2020 00:25:11criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/09/2020 00:20:32Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/09/2020 00:20:27Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/09/2020 00:20:27criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/09/2020 00:20:27Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/09/2020 00:20:27criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/09/2020 00:20:27Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/09/2020 00:34:59criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;




0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
646 Views
Message 5 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to M500 but speeds are less than half.

BQM then?

0 Kudos
Reply
jenx
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
624 Views
Message 6 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to M500 but speeds are less than half.

Sorry. There seems to be an issue with their website and me logging in. Working on it 😕

0 Kudos
Reply
jenx
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
622 Views
Message 7 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to M500 but speeds are less than half.

0 Kudos
Reply
jenx
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
565 Views
Message 8 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to M500 but speeds are less than half.

Live Graph not working. Possibly because my router was blocking WAN ICMP packets.

 

Still seeing the slow speed.   Is there any chance that my upgrade to M500 has been rolled back?  Just seems suspicious that I am seeing similar speeds to those I had before upgrading.

 

Should the upload be different for M500?

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
545 Views
Message 9 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to M500 but speeds are less than half.

BQM is working now, and looks ok so far.

You can check your config under the 'Configuration' tab:

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
 



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID570
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID569
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
jenx
  • 18
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
526 Views
Message 10 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to M500 but speeds are less than half.

So am I correct in thinking this means I should be getting ~500 down and ~38 Up?

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053+voc-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID225726
Max Traffic Rate575000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID225725
Max Traffic Rate38520000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply