Menu
Reply
jamstar2k
  • 41
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
714 Views
Message 1 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Upgraded to 1gpbs slow speeds at 200mbps

Hi,

Recently upgraded to the 1Gbps service.. the connection is really slow it fluctuates from 150-250mbps. Is there anythig that i can be tweaked from Virgin or my end? Same speeds over Ethernet and 5GHz wifi using the superhub 4.0 in its regular mode.. Ive siwthched it to modem mode too and used my own Linkys router and im getting the same downstream speeds. Upload is fine at a steady 45-50mbps.

0 Kudos
Reply
jamstar2k
  • 41
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
713 Views
Message 2 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to 1gpbs slow speeds at 200mbps

3.0 Downstream channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
30 402750000 12.199997 38.605377 QAM256 30
1 138750000 9.900002 37.636276 QAM256 1
2 146750000 9.900002 37.636276 QAM256 2
3 154750000 10.000000 37.636276 QAM256 3
4 162750000 10.099998 38.605377 QAM256 4
5 170750000 10.099998 37.636276 QAM256 5
6 178750000 10.099998 37.636276 QAM256 6
7 186750000 10.199997 37.636276 QAM256 7
8 194750000 10.300003 38.605377 QAM256 8
9 202750000 10.400002 37.636276 QAM256 9
10 210750000 10.400002 38.605377 QAM256 10
11 218750000 11.000000 38.983261 QAM256 11
12 226750000 11.000000 38.605377 QAM256 12
13 234750000 11.000000 38.605377 QAM256 13
14 242750000 11.099998 38.605377 QAM256 14
15 250750000 10.900002 38.605377 QAM256 15
16 258750000 11.099998 38.605377 QAM256 16
17 266750000 11.000000 38.605377 QAM256 17
18 274750000 11.000000 38.605377 QAM256 18
19 282750000 10.800003 38.605377 QAM256 19
20 290750000 10.699997 38.605377 QAM256 20
21 298750000 10.900002 38.605377 QAM256 21
22 306750000 11.199997 38.605377 QAM256 22
23 314750000 11.099998 38.605377 QAM256 23
24 322750000 11.300003 38.605377 QAM256 24
25 330750000 11.199997 38.605377 QAM256 25
26 370750000 11.599998 38.983261 QAM256 26
27 378750000 11.699997 38.605377 QAM256 27
28 386750000 12.000000 38.605377 QAM256 28
29 394750000 13.800003 38.605377 QAM256 29
31 410750000 11.599998 38.605377 QAM256 31


3.0 Downstream channels
Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
30 Locked 0 0 0
1 Locked 273323624 0 0
2 Locked 181811634 0 0
3 Locked 185794183 0 0
4 Locked 182771408 0 0
5 Locked 180535305 0 0
6 Locked 185397878 0 0
7 Locked 179666736 0 0
8 Locked 127470324 0 0
9 Locked 128451868 0 0
10 Locked 184252015 0 0
11 Locked 123648118 0 0
12 Locked 126538952 8 0
13 Locked 123877397 0 0
14 Locked 126487532 0 0
15 Locked 125715868 0 0
16 Locked 123278439 0 0
17 Locked 122741049 0 0
18 Locked 126196391 0 0
19 Locked 128513104 0 0
20 Locked 84900299 0 0
21 Locked 130218699 0 0
22 Locked 122145261 0 0
23 Locked 126757766 0 0
24 Locked 369178291 0 0
25 Locked 194281943 0 0
26 Locked 201071389 0 0
27 Locked 196266067 0 0
28 Locked 199189082 0 0
29 Locked 198306886 0 0
31 Locked 203897654 0 0


3.1 Downstream channels
Channel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
33 86 4K 1680 QAM4096 424


3.1 Downstream channels
Channel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
33 Locked 11.4 5553563 0
0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
711 Views
Message 3 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to 1gpbs slow speeds at 200mbps

Your downstream power levels are too high.

A visit is required to correct.

jamstar2k
  • 41
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
686 Views
Message 4 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to 1gpbs slow speeds at 200mbps

Thanks Carl - I wish they would assess this before selling the service. I guess i'll need to spend a few hours on the phone to get through? Is there an online form?

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
682 Views
Message 5 of 31
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Upgraded to 1gpbs slow speeds at 200mbps


@jamstar2k wrote:

Thanks Carl - I wish they would assess this before selling the service. I guess i'll need to spend a few hours on the phone to get through? Is there an online form?


You can:

  • Wait for a response from one of the VM staff on here (1 - 2 weeks).
  • Text 07533 051 809.
  • Contact by phone 0345 454 1111 (8am is best).
jamstar2k
  • 41
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
666 Views
Message 6 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to 1gpbs slow speeds at 200mbps

Thanks for the response Carl - Very much appreciated.

What will the engineer need to do to rectify this? Is it straight forward?

Cheers

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
664 Views
Message 7 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to 1gpbs slow speeds at 200mbps


@jamstar2k wrote:

Thanks for the response Carl - Very much appreciated.

What will the engineer need to do to rectify this? Is it straight forward?

Cheers


They will probably adjust the power levels at your local cabinet (The green/grey boxes dotted around).

The power levels are by connection, as in your specific line.

Make sure you are happy before they leave!

jamstar2k
  • 41
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
644 Views
Message 8 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to 1gpbs slow speeds at 200mbps

Thanks for the insight Carl - much appreciated!

0 Kudos
Reply
jamstar2k
  • 41
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
588 Views
Message 9 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to 1gpbs slow speeds at 200mbps

Just got off the phone too VM and they tell me that the line is fine.

I told them that i've visited this forum and the kind people have told me there opinion of what the porblem could be.. The VM operator told me to try SAMKNOWS and the results i got back were interesting..

Screenshot 2020-12-31 at 09.30.28.png

Not dog awful but expect to be a little faster.. (Same in Modem mode going to my Linkys Router)

They said connection is fine.. should i still insist on an engineer visiting??

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
573 Views
Message 10 of 31
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to 1gpbs slow speeds at 200mbps

With the correct speed being supplied to the Hub the problem is most likely to be the configuration of your Local Area Network (LAN).
Try a different cable between the Hub and the test machine.

 


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply