Menu
Reply
Dekenba
  • 16
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
453 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Upgraded to 0.5 Gig - Speeds Now Slower Than Ever!!??

Yesterday, I upgraded from 200Mbps to 500Mbps. The previous 200Mbps had been pretty rock solid, with 214Mbps down & 18Mbps up, all day & all night.

I have a Hub 3 on modem mode, with a TP-Link AC400 as the Hub 3 wifi was awful, and it's all been working smoothly for many months.

However, after "upgrading", my download speeds are now consistently around 112Mbps down & 37Mbps up. So I'm paying more for approximately 50% of my 200Mbps speed.

I've tried resetting, I've run tests - it makes no difference. Don't think it's hardware, as it's just too coincidental that my speed halved when it should have more than doubled.

I dread phoning up Virgin & following some tick-box exercise lasting an hour, that finds nothing wrong.

 

Any suggestions, please?

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.16K
  • 1.08K
  • 2.62K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
419 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to 0.5 Gig - Speeds Now Slower Than Ever!!??

Connect to the hub by clicking on this link http://192.168.0.1/  That should pull up the log in page for the hub.  But don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"  That'll bring up a window with five tabs.  Open the Downstream tab.  Select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here as text not screenshots.  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time.

Then we can check for any obvious problems with power, noise or error counts, and these are evident the forum staff can book a technician for you.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.16K
  • 1.08K
  • 2.62K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
418 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to 0.5 Gig - Speeds Now Slower Than Ever!!??

Oops, that's the URL for a hub in router mode - but if you know enough to run in modem mode you'll have no problem getting the hub status via the correct URL.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Dekenba
  • 16
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
395 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to 0.5 Gig - Speeds Now Slower Than Ever!!??

Thanks, I've done as you asked.

 

I managed to get into the Hub 3 using 192.168.100.1

 

Here's what the various tabs say:

20210421_214729.jpg20210421_214757.jpg20210421_214810.jpg20210421_214831.jpg20210421_214909 (1).jpg

 

I've done another speedtest using the TP-Link software, and it's 36.7 Mbps up and 106.5Mbps down.

0 Kudos
Reply
Dekenba
  • 16
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
393 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to 0.5 Gig - Speeds Now Slower Than Ever!!??

Here they are copied & pasted:

(My knowledge of computers & networks is very limited, relying upon Google & trial & error to educate myself!)

 

Item Status Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
139000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
39400000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 139000000 1 40 256 qam 1
2 147000000 0.9 40 256 qam 2
3 155000000 0.7 40 256 qam 3
4 163000000 0.5 40 256 qam 4
5 171000000 0.9 40 256 qam 5
6 179000000 0.9 40 256 qam 6
7 187000000 0.9 40 256 qam 7
8 195000000 0.7 40 256 qam 8
9 203000000 0.5 40 256 qam 9
10 211000000 0.2 40 256 qam 10
11 219000000 0.4 40 256 qam 11
12 227000000 0.4 40 256 qam 12
13 235000000 0.2 40 256 qam 13
14 243000000 0 40 256 qam 14
15 251000000 0 40 256 qam 15
16 259000000 -0.2 40 256 qam 16
17 267000000 0 40 256 qam 17
18 275000000 -0.2 40 256 qam 18
19 283000000 -0.2 40 256 qam 19
20 291000000 -0.2 40 256 qam 20
21 299000000 0 40 256 qam 21
22 307000000 0 40 256 qam 22
23 315000000 0 40 256 qam 23
24 323000000 0 40 256 qam 24


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 40.3 1032 29
2 Locked 40.3 1393 32
3 Locked 40.9 196 29
4 Locked 40.3 152 36
5 Locked 40.3 103 31
6 Locked 40.9 99 32
7 Locked 40.3 96 30
8 Locked 40.3 111 15
9 Locked 40.3 114 13
10 Locked 40.3 92 14
11 Locked 40.9 1501 3408
12 Locked 40.9 1054 21
13 Locked 40.3 93 13
14 Locked 40.3 90 14
15 Locked 40.9 97 11
16 Locked 40.9 78 15
17 Locked 40.9 79 13
18 Locked 40.9 75 14
19 Locked 40.3 77 14
20 Locked 40.9 70 12
21 Locked 40.3 87 14
22 Locked 40.3 75 13
23 Locked 40.9 65 15
24 Locked 40.3 77 13

 

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 39400000 36 5120 64 qam 4
2 46200000 36 5120 64 qam 3
3 32600000 36.3 5120 64 qam 5
4 25800000 36.5 5120 64 qam 11


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

 

General Configuration
Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053+voc-b.cm


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID 96232
Max Traffic Rate 575000000
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID 96231
Max Traffic Rate 38520000
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0
Max Concatenated Burst 16320
Scheduling Type BestEffort

 

Network Log
Time Priority Description
21 -04 -2021 21 -38 -35 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=18 -35 -d1 -63 -65 -e3;CMTS-MAC=00 -01 -5c -97 -72 -66;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21 -04 -2021 21 -38 -24 Warning! LAN login FAILED - Incorrect Username - Password - ConnectionType;CM-MAC=18 -35 -d1 -63 -65 -e3;CMTS-MAC=00 -01 -5c -97 -72 -66;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01 -01 -1970 00 -01 -40 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=18 -35 -d1 -63 -65 -e3;CMTS-MAC=00 -01 -5c -97 -72 -66;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19 -04 -2021 22 -13 -53 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=18 -35 -d1 -63 -65 -e3;CMTS-MAC=00 -01 -5c -97 -72 -66;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17 -04 -2021 19 -53 -20 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=18 -35 -d1 -63 -65 -e3;CMTS-MAC=00 -01 -5c -97 -72 -66;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16 -04 -2021 10 -13 -53 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=18 -35 -d1 -63 -65 -e3;CMTS-MAC=00 -01 -5c -97 -72 -66;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15 -04 -2021 00 -49 -7 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=18 -35 -d1 -63 -65 -e3;CMTS-MAC=00 -01 -5c -97 -72 -66;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13 -04 -2021 14 -04 -59 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=18 -35 -d1 -63 -65 -e3;CMTS-MAC=00 -01 -5c -97 -72 -66;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08 -04 -2021 23 -04 -8 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=18 -35 -d1 -63 -65 -e3;CMTS-MAC=00 -01 -5c -97 -72 -66;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08 -04 -2021 17 -32 -35 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=18 -35 -d1 -63 -65 -e3;CMTS-MAC=00 -01 -5c -97 -72 -66;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08 -04 -2021 17 -22 -50 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=18 -35 -d1 -63 -65 -e3;CMTS-MAC=00 -01 -5c -97 -72 -66;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08 -04 -2021 12 -29 -25 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=18 -35 -d1 -63 -65 -e3;CMTS-MAC=00 -01 -5c -97 -72 -66;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05 -04 -2021 07 -47 -23 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=18 -35 -d1 -63 -65 -e3;CMTS-MAC=00 -01 -5c -97 -72 -66;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01 -04 -2021 17 -33 -40 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=18 -35 -d1 -63 -65 -e3;CMTS-MAC=00 -01 -5c -97 -72 -66;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01 -04 -2021 17 -33 -38 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=18 -35 -d1 -63 -65 -e3;CMTS-MAC=00 -01 -5c -97 -72 -66;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01 -04 -2021 16 -17 -30 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=18 -35 -d1 -63 -65 -e3;CMTS-MAC=00 -01 -5c -97 -72 -66;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.16K
  • 1.08K
  • 2.62K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
330 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Upgraded to 0.5 Gig - Speeds Now Slower Than Ever!!??

Your hub stats are all in range, and downstream power and SNR is excellent, but despite that there's a very unwelcome sprinkling of post-RS (uncorrected) errors across the downstream channels and a notable problem on D/S channel 11.  Post-RS errors hammer speed, so this might be the reason for the poor speeds.  Do a reboot of the hub, and repost the downstream data after say 12 or 24 hours, because rebooting zeroes the error counters.  If they've built up again, particularly around the downstream channels around 219 MHz, then there's a problem that will need a technician visit.  This could well be radio noise ingress from a poorly screened joint somewhere, or damaged cabling above ground, but that's a modestly educated guess on my part.

If it looks like a continuing fault then forum staff can assign a technician for you, but they'll need the hub in router mode to confirm any status data.  As a short term move, you may want to put the hub in router mode (with wifi turned off) and the TP-Link in access point mode.  That will give VM staff remote access to hub status data, but means your wifi devices will still be using the AC400.  When it's all solved just change the hub and router modes back to how you now have them. 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Dekenba
  • 16
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
321 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to 0.5 Gig - Speeds Now Slower Than Ever!!??

Thanks Andrew, really appreciate your help - I'll reboot & repost tomorrow as you suggest.

The Hub 3 was replaced a couple of weeks ago by a Virgin tech (who was excellent, by the way), after the cable attachment point snapped off the back of the original. Maybe coincidental, but has that got something to do with it? The original installer left about 6 inches of cable between the wall socket & the router, so the point it joins onto the hub is a little stressed.

Would a Hub 4 improve things, or is that not really applicable in this case? 

I'm OK at English & Welsh, but my IT is not great, so although I don't understand your analysis, I'm sure you know what you're talking about!

I'll post new figures tomorrow, thanks again for your help.

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.16K
  • 1.08K
  • 2.62K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
315 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to 0.5 Gig - Speeds Now Slower Than Ever!!??

Difficult to say if the hub replacement is related, although a six inch cable is never going to be ideal.  If this is putting stress on the joint and has already been implicated in a previous failure, I'm staggered the tech who replaced the hub didn't fix that.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Laurie_C
  • 440
  • 19
  • 46
Forum Team
Forum Team
273 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to 0.5 Gig - Speeds Now Slower Than Ever!!??

Hi Dekenba,

 

Thanks for getting in touch and welcome back to the Community Forum! I'm sorry to hear that you're having problems with slow speeds.

 

I've been able to access your account using your Forum details, and I can't see any issues from our end. Please let us know if you are still experiencing these slow speeds, and I can take a closer look at this for you.

 

Thanks,

Laurie

Laurie_C
Forum Team
0 Kudos
Reply
Dekenba
  • 16
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
266 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded to 0.5 Gig - Speeds Now Slower Than Ever!!??

Speeds continue to be slow, my latest speedtest result giving 136Mbps down and 14.93Mbps up, so if anything it's getting worse. Even when I had the 200Mbps service, I was getting better speeds than this.

Here's what the Hub 3 Network Status shows now - it may as well be Greek to me!

Item Status Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
139000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
39400000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11390000000.740256 qam1
21470000000.540256 qam2
31550000000.440256 qam3
41630000000.440256 qam4
51710000000.540256 qam5
61790000000.540256 qam6
71870000000.540256 qam7
81950000000.440256 qam8
92030000000.240256 qam9
10211000000040256 qam10
112190000000.240256 qam11
122270000000.240256 qam12
13235000000040256 qam13
14243000000-0.240256 qam14
15251000000-0.240256 qam15
16259000000-0.440256 qam16
17267000000-0.240256 qam17
18275000000-0.240256 qam18
19283000000-0.440256 qam19
20291000000-0.240256 qam20
21299000000040256 qam21
22307000000040256 qam22
23315000000-0.240256 qam23
24323000000-0.240256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.9170
2Locked40.370
3Locked40.3380
4Locked40.3220
5Locked40.3230
6Locked40.9320
7Locked40.3280
8Locked40.3260
9Locked40.9330
10Locked40.9330
11Locked40.3140
12Locked40.3140
13Locked40.3160
14Locked40.3290
15Locked40.3300
16Locked40.3170
17Locked40.3230
18Locked40.3160
19Locked40.9200
20Locked40.3250
21Locked40.3440
22Locked40.3340
23Locked40.3290
24Locked40.3370

 



 

 

0 Kudos
Reply