Menu
Reply
twixy
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
807 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Upgraded from M500 to Gig1 Speed Halved

Hi,

I had a Hub 3 with M500 in modem mode using an Archer C7 (AC1750) getting a solid 450-500mbps on my devices via Ethernet. I was notified by email about Gig1 install near me and decided to go for it. They sent out a Hub 4, promptly installed it following all the instructions and put it into modem mode with my C7. Found it odd that the speed had halved to 200mbps on my devices other Ethernet, so I decided to stick the Hub 4 in router mode and try that plugged in directly - same thing, speeds of 200mbps. I've jumped on Samknows and I'm getting 1150mbps into the hub but only 200mbps to the devices. Nothing has changed apart from the Hub 4, trying to work out why these speeds are much slower within the network, cause as far as I can tell - the hub is receiving 1150mbps from the line. I've got 1 DOCSIS 3.1 channel showing. 

WiFi speeds are about the same at 150-200mbps, and I expect it would be slower than a cable obviously but when upgrading I did not expect that a new hub would half my speed and I would now prefer the old package and Hub 3 I had.

 

Cable Modem StatusItem Status CommentsChannel Overview Downstream Upstream

Cable Modem Status
Online
DOCSIS 3.1
Primary downstream channel
Locked
SC-QAM
DOCSIS 3.0 channels
31
4
DOCSIS 3.1 channels
1
0

 

Any advice?

Cheers,

Jordan.

0 Kudos
Reply
twixy
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
805 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M500 to Gig1 Speed Halved

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

263390000002.440.4QAM25626
11390000006.439QAM2561
21470000006.340.4QAM2562
31550000006.240.4QAM2563
41630000005.840.4QAM2564
51710000005.539QAM2565
61790000005.239QAM2566
71870000005.239QAM2567
81950000005.139QAM2568
92030000004.939QAM2569
10211000000540.4QAM25610
112190000004.940.4QAM25611
122270000004.839QAM25612
132350000004.840.4QAM25613
142430000004.740.4QAM25614
152510000004.639QAM25615
162590000004.439QAM25616
172670000004.139QAM25617
182750000003.739QAM25618
192830000003.239QAM25619
202910000002.939QAM25620
212990000002.939QAM25621
223070000002.939QAM25622
233150000002.839QAM25623
243230000002.738.6QAM25624
253310000002.739QAM25625
273470000002.439QAM25627
283550000002.539QAM25628
293630000002.439QAM25629
303710000002.239QAM25630
31379000000239QAM25631



3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

26Locked40.36628700
1Locked38.98326100
2Locked40.36628700
3Locked40.36628700
4Locked40.36628700
5Locked38.98326100
6Locked38.98326100
7Locked38.98326100
8Locked38.98326100
9Locked38.98326100
10Locked40.36628700
11Locked40.36628700
12Locked38.98326100
13Locked40.36628700
14Locked40.36628700
15Locked38.98326100
16Locked38.98326100
17Locked38.98326100
18Locked38.98326100
19Locked38.98326100
20Locked38.98326100
21Locked38.98326100
22Locked38.98326100
23Locked38.98326100
24Locked38.60537700
25Locked38.98326100
27Locked38.98326100
28Locked38.98326100
29Locked38.98326180
30Locked38.98326100
31Locked38.98326100



3.1 Downstream channels

Channel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
159964K1880QAM4096759


3.1 Downstream channels

Channel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
159Locked411.61381332787
0 Kudos
Reply
twixy
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
802 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M500 to Gig1 Speed Halved

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID
26681
Max Traffic Rate
1200000450
Max Traffic Burst
42600
Min Traffic Rate
0

 

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID
27141
Max Traffic Rate
55000270
Max Traffic Burst
42600
Min Traffic Rate
0
Max Concatenated Burst
16320
Scheduling Type
bestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
twixy
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
795 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M500 to Gig1 Speed Halved

Samknows Results

 

Speed to Virgin Media Hub 4

 

Download

Mbps
1139

Speed to computer

 

Download

Mbps
186
0 Kudos
Reply
ewhitey
  • 189
  • 0
  • 26
Superfast
782 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M500 to Gig1 Speed Halved

Hi

I have had pretty much the same issue which is still unresolved. I'm sure the staff here will be along soon to try and help but have a look at my thread in the meantime. It is a few pages long but has lots of great advice to help you troubleshoot your issue 👍

0 Kudos
Reply
twixy
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
768 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M500 to Gig1 Speed Halved

Hey,

I've had a read through your post and found that our issues differ slightly in the fact that my speed to the hub is perfectly fine, but the connection between the hub and my PC is slower since the Hub 3 -> Hub 4 change.

Applied a bit of the troubleshooting in the thread to no avail but thanks for posting!

0 Kudos
Reply
ewhitey
  • 189
  • 0
  • 26
Superfast
752 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M500 to Gig1 Speed Halved

Yeah there are some variations but if I remember correctly, my line deteriorated over a few months until an engineer found a "corroded" cable. The path has been arduous to say the least with VM call centre staff giving all sorts of reasons for the slow connections including having too many wifi connections and I was even once asked to connect my mobile phone to an ethernet cable to see if the wifi signal improved - The lesson here is stay with it as the Forum staff i'm sure will help 😉  

I will add however, following several engineer calls, resets and reboots, a change of fittings and a new external cable from the cabinet to my Hub, my Hub speeds have rarely been below 1000 (that issue was sorted around end October) . From the Hub to my PC however is a different story. I was previously getting anywhere between 100-300 odds for ages and despite all the fixes, I'm still getting lower speeds, the latest being in the in the range of 250-330Mbps via Cat5e from Hub direct to PC. My ASUS router was being used as the router with Hub4 in modem but the Hub 4 is now in router mode and the ASUS is in AP Mode for the wifi - which in general has never been an issue. The one thing that has not been changed is the Hub4 itself as it's been checked several times and considered working fine. Tonight, every connection except my PC was removed from the Hub4. I checked each port on the Hub in turn with a Cat 6 and Cat7 cable connected to my PC - Speeds FROM Hub4 remained between 270-340Mbps so no change and no further forward. 

I upgraded to 1GB because I was getting similar fluctuating speeds on M500 but Moving from Hub3 to 4 seems to have caused me and a few others the same or similar issues so I'm wondering if it's actually the Hub at fault in some way or something VM don't know how to fix...?        

0 Kudos
Reply
David_Bn
  • 8.54K
  • 359
  • 664
Forum Team
Forum Team
647 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M500 to Gig1 Speed Halved

Thanks for your post @twixy, and a very warm welcome to you!

Are you able to provide us with an update on the services?

Is it possible to place the hub in modem mode and run a speed test via a Cat 6 Ethernet cable? This will tell us what speed we have going into your property.

Is it also possible to run this on an alternative device to the PC as well? 

Kindest regards,

David_Bn

0 Kudos
Reply
twixy
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
638 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M500 to Gig1 Speed Halved

Hi @David_Bn,

Placing the hub in modem mode gets about 250 down compared to router mode which gives me 200~ download. I've ran this test on multiple devices (laptop, mobile via USB-C Gigabit Ethernet port, desktop PC, Gigabit-capable NAS) and all show a similar speed of 250 down in modem mode and 200 down in router mode. Much less than I was getting with a Hub 3 on M500.

 

All connected with a Cat 7e cable. I've tried different cables such as a Cat 8, Cat 6, Cat 5e and all produce similar results.

The speed coming into the property is published on Samknows when doing a real speed test. It shows as 1145 download~ which shows there is an internal problem. But the only thing that has changed between my previous setup which was happily receiving 500 down, is the new Hub 4. This leads me to believe that the Hub 4 has faulty ports (or isn't actually capable of producing even half-gigabit speeds down the ethernet ports).

 

Thanks,

Jordan.

John_GS
  • 14.39K
  • 737
  • 1.34K
Forum Team
Forum Team
589 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Upgraded from M500 to Gig1 Speed Halved

Hi @twixy / Jordan.

 

Thanks for coming back to us.

 

I've ran some further checks today and you've got low SNR (signal to noise ratio) on 2 of your upstream channels.

 

This will need a tech visit. I'll PM you now to assist further.

 

Best,

John_GS
Forum Team


Need a helpful hand to show you how to make a payment? Check out our guide - How to pay my Virgin Media bill

0 Kudos
Reply