Menu
Reply
silentknives
  • 31
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
804 Views
Message 1 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Unusable internet speed

Hey so since yesterday I have bern having problems with my internet, both wired and wireless. Drops in connection are regularly happening and when I do a speed test the download speed jumps all over the place going from 1mb all the way up to 350mb, the main concern however is that every time I do the test the upload speed is showing 0mb sometimes goes up to 0.2mb. I think this is what’s causing most of my issues as even basic web pages are taking for ever to load. I have done both a standard reboot and a pin reboot on the hub and also check the cables and connections. I am in the WD18 area of Watford. Thankyou for any help

0 Kudos
Reply
mjkerr
  • 97
  • 0
  • 6
On our wavelength
779 Views
Message 2 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unusable internet speed

Firstly, you need to work out if the Hub or the device is the cause 
Login to the Hub, look at the Connected Devices and the speed of connection

0 Kudos
Reply
silentknives
  • 31
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
762 Views
Message 3 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unusable internet speed

Hey sorry I should have mentioned in the original post, all my devices are performing the same, unstable download and pretty much non-existent. Devices include 1 PC wired and an Xbox one, and then 2 phones and tv via wireless. Obviously tried removing the devices connected aswell so that I only had the 1 wired connection. I am a gamer and fairly confident in my ability to tell if the problem was one of my devices* I’m pretty certain it’s either the hub or the local area service.

thanks for the reply however

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.43K
  • 2.4K
  • 4K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
747 Views
Message 4 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unusable internet speed


Do a quick check that all of your coax connections are in nice and "finger" tight at the Hub and wall box and at any splitters/attenuators/etc with no “unterminated loose ends, and that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing. Also check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

If that’s all good.... Post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there. In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before] click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle of first page up and then copy/paste 3 FULL sets of data onto here – from the Downstream, Upstream, & Network Logs pages. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button a second time). If you dont see the "router status" button you need to log in, change something, apply changes, log out and try again.

Also, in the meantime. Set up a free “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM.
If you just see a wall of "red" then your Hub is not accepting the "pings" - make sure you uncheck the “ignore ping from WAN side” box in the settings - note it will take an hour or two to start seeing a sensible picture.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
silentknives
  • 31
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
746 Views
Message 5 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unusable internet speed

Thankyou! I will do that ASAP, I have also just seen on the service tracker it’s now updated to saying they have a fault in the area they are aware of. Fingers crossed it gets fixed via that!

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.43K
  • 2.4K
  • 4K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
740 Views
Message 6 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unusable internet speed

Worth setting up the BQM now though. It takes 24h to get a sensible picture and then stores each days data for you.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
silentknives
  • 31
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
687 Views
Message 7 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unusable internet speed

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
11387500005.840256 qam1
21467500005.640256 qam2
31547500005.540256 qam3
41627500005.540256 qam4
51707500005.940256 qam5
61787500005.540256 qam6
71867500005.540256 qam7
81947500005.540256 qam8
92027500005.440256 qam9
102107500005.540256 qam10
112187500005.340256 qam11
122267500005.140256 qam12
132347500004.940256 qam13
142427500004.840256 qam14
152507500004.640256 qam15
162587500004.540256 qam16
172667500004.640256 qam17
182747500004.540256 qam18
192827500004.540256 qam19
202907500004.440256 qam20
212987500004.538256 qam21
223067500004.540256 qam22
233147500004.440256 qam23
243227500004.540256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.390
2Locked40.3100
3Locked40.3280
4Locked40.9240
5Locked40.3270
6Locked40.3220
7Locked40.3290
8Locked40.3310
9Locked40.3290
10Locked40.3110
11Locked40.9170
12Locked40.9360
13Locked40.3270
14Locked40.3290
15Locked40.3330
16Locked40.9350
17Locked40.3290
18Locked40.3450
19Locked40.3440
20Locked40.3540
21Locked38.9620
22Locked40.3490
23Locked40.3350
24Locked40.3540
0 Kudos
Reply
silentknives
  • 31
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
670 Views
Message 8 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unusable internet speed

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1394034734.55512016 qam4
2603051294.425512016 qam1
3462037814.575512016 qam3
4537044674.575512016 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Network Log
Time Priority Description
09/05/2020 09:14:10noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/05/2020 09:14:3Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/05/2020 09:08:9noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/05/2020 09:08:6Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/05/2020 14:29:57criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/05/2020 13:47:27noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/05/2020 13:47:20Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/05/2020 13:42:33criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/05/2020 13:42:32Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/05/2020 13:42:32criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/05/2020 13:40:39Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/05/2020 13:39:48Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/05/2020 13:39:43Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/05/2020 13:39:43criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/05/2020 13:39:42Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/05/2020 13:39:42criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/05/2020 13:25:55criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/05/2020 13:25:26criticalREG RSP not received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/05/2020 13:25:26ErrorT6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.43K
  • 2.4K
  • 4K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
648 Views
Message 9 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unusable internet speed

Only thing of note there is that the Up's are all on 16qam - a VM person needs to comment on that.

Post up your most recent BQM

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Endor
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
624 Views
Message 10 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Unusable internet speed

I'm having exactly the same issue I'm also in the WD18 range

0 Kudos
Reply