Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
330 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Traffic Management means I can't work effectively.

Hi there,

I rely on the internet, particularly my upload speed, to do my job which is streaming to Twitch.

My connection seems fairly solid when tested via SpeedTest, but when I actually try and use my upload speed I am losing 1 in 5 of my frames when streaming, and the results I am getting from Google's speedtest are about 60-70% lower than those that the Virgin website is giving me.

Attached is a screenshot from my OBS program which I use to stream. In a 5 minute stream, I dropped 8219 frames (a rate of about 23%) which makes my content all but unwatchable over longer periods. I had one stream tonight in which I clocked about 100,000 dropped frames (about 1 in 5) before the connection failed entirely at 2350.

I am paying for an M350 which says I have a Minimum speed of 18mbs upload. but I am clearly not receiving this or anything close to it when my connection craps and dies out at a bitrate of 4000 per second. I'm connected via ethernet cable and I've been able to replicate this issue on my partner's PC (she also streams, connected via ethernet) so it's clearly an issue from the Hub backwards.

I left a BT FTTP connection for this and I am massively regretting my choice to move to Virgin at the moment. Please fix it.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
325 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Traffic Management means I can't work effectively.

I should also add I tried to approach your customer services through Twitter and was quite conclusively ignored.

So you've got ground to make up.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5.93K
  • 1.12K
  • 1.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
302 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Traffic Management means I can't work effectively.

Hello

There is no traffic management https://www.virginmedia.com/help/virgin-media-broadband-traffic-management-policy

Can you please post your network stats from the hub
Open a Web browser (e.g. Internet Explorer) and enter the address http://192.168.0.1
Note: If you have enabled Modem Mode on your Hub 3.0 you will need to use 192.168.100.1 instead.
Posting the stats by copy and paste will remove all personal information so no breaches.
Do not login but click on where it says "Check Router Stats" and then copy and post from the following 4 tabs, Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network logs (if they are pasted then all personal information is * out) and we can check your power level, also while you about that can you please go around and check that all connectors to VM equipment are hand tight. Also while doing this please check for any damage to cable, or un-terminated connection without either coax or a terminator.
Also please run "Check service status" at the top right of this forum and call 0800 561 0061 to check for local issues.
Also one think you can do is too signup at https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality and setup a broadband quality monitor which will keep an eye on you connection by sending a small amount of data to the hub asking if it still on, give it a few hrs and then post the live BQM link.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
283 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Traffic Management means I can't work effectively.

Cable Modem Status Item Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
643000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
39400000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1643000000237256 qam30
24750000002.737256 qam9
34830000002.737256 qam10
44910000002.737256 qam11
54990000002.937256 qam12
65070000002.537256 qam13
75150000002.537256 qam14
85230000002.737256 qam15
95310000002.737256 qam16
105390000002.737256 qam17
115470000002.737256 qam18
125550000002.737256 qam19
135630000002.937256 qam20
145710000002.737256 qam21
155790000002.737256 qam22
165870000002.537256 qam23
175950000002.737256 qam24
186030000002.737256 qam25
196110000002.737256 qam26
206190000002.537256 qam27
216270000002.237256 qam28
22635000000237256 qam29
23651000000237256 qam31
24659000000238256 qam32


Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.6350
2Locked37.61840
3Locked37.628516
4Locked37.32840
5Locked37.32860
6Locked37.31730
7Locked37.61520
8Locked37.61310
9Locked37.31450
10Locked37.61570
11Locked37.31180
12Locked37.6970
13Locked37.6910
14Locked37.6750
15Locked37.3620
16Locked37.6440
17Locked37.3560
18Locked37.6370
19Locked37.6340
20Locked37.6440
21Locked37.3370
22Locked37.6520
23Locked37.6250
24Locked38.6470

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000040.3512064 qam2
22580000040.3512032 qam4
33259994240.3512064 qam3
44620000040.3512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0010
4ATDMA0000

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
.iyewrkldJKDHSUBsgvca6983



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID2396
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID2395
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Time Priority Description

20/11/2020 01:26:45criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/11/2020 23:52:45noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/11/2020 22:28:6criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x:e9;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/11/2020 22:17:25noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 16:59:15criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 00:46:15noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 00:46:15ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 00:16:5criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 00:13:41criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=cx;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 00:11:45Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/11/2020 00:11:44criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 23:50:7criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 22:09:11noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/11/2020 22:07:49Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/11/2020 01:13:3criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/11/2020 01:13:2Warning!B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MACx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/11/2020 01:12:16criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=f8:x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/11/2020 01:11:40criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/11/2020 01:11:34criticalDHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/11/2020 01:10:23criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=x;CMTS-MAC=x;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;



0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.91K
  • 626
  • 859
Community elder
272 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Traffic Management means I can't work effectively.

Hi MC1992,

There's a problem with channel 2 on your upstream channels, the modulation should be 64 qam and not 32 qam.

You should look at Check Service Status at the top of the page. You can also a run a test on your equipment from there.

If nothing is showing  you could also try the  Service Status number  0800 561 0061.  This often gives details of more local issues down to postcode level.

Check all cables are finger tight and then try a reboot. If it's still showing 32 qam then you will need an engineer visit to put things back into spec.

If there are any local issues indicated above then VM won't send out an engineer until the local faults have been fixed

 

You can call  150 from a Virgin landline, or 0345 454 1111, or freephone number 0800 052 0422, selecting the faults option but best to call at 8am to avoid call queues or around tea time.

You could try the text messaging service. Just send  a text with a description of broadband faults  to 07533 051809. Your message will go into a queue and a representative will respond to you as soon as possible. It may take a few days

A member of the Forum Team may pick this up for you, however it will probably be a few days to a week.

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000040.3512064 qam2
22580000040.3512032 qam4
33259994240.3512064 qam3
44620000040.3512064 qam1
Dave

The Service you do for others is the rent you pay for your room here on Earth - Muhammad Ali
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 1.01K
  • 46
  • 137
Well-informed
258 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Traffic Management means I can't work effectively.

Why not get a business connection if it's that essential to your work?

Paying residential pittance but whinging like you should get better really is funny to me.

I don't work from home but I have a business line -because I really DO rely on it and just the 6 hour fix time along makes it worth it.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
245 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Traffic Management means I can't work effectively.

Helpful input, Happy. Nice to see even on this forum you've got trolls!

Why am I complaining? I'm paying for a package I'm not receiving. You'd do the same.

Anyway, thank you to NewApollo & DJ for your replies. I'll wait on a CS rep and maybe give them a call after work.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 31.43K
  • 1.64K
  • 5.5K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
230 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Traffic Management means I can't work effectively.

you are also breaking the T&C if you are using the connectin for a business reason

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.51K
  • 157
  • 658
Problem sorter
230 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Traffic Management means I can't work effectively.

32QAM on the channel with the frequency starting with 258 isn't really a problem. That channel is on quite a noisy part of the upstream spectrum and is gradually being phased out. It wouldn't cause the problems being described here.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
221 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Traffic Management means I can't work effectively.

I'm also working from home for my employer. So I'm doubly dependent.

If it transpires I need to switch to a business account I'm happy to do so, but given the issues I am experiencing I'm not sure it'll fix it.

0 Kudos
Reply