Menu
Reply
chrisr2021
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
736 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Terrible network packet loss

Anyone know if there are issues going on in Manchester?

Since approx 26 July 2021, my connection has been terrible to Virgin Media, but none of the systems can tell me what is going on. 

The service status page normally says:

"There are no problems in your area",

but if I then do a test on my equipment it says:

"We have detected an issue on our network which maybe affecting your broadband service."

I've setup a BQM https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/608e152ccd6782fea058a8855a08fd1b6f...

 

 which is showing around 20% packet loss.

On Tuesday 3rd approx 11pm the packet loss stopped only for it to restart at approx 4pm on Wednesday 4th!

When the packet loss stops, I can get the full speed I expect to get from the connection.  The issues affect both wired and wireless connections.

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13307500000.238256 qam25
22027500001.740256 qam9
32107500001.440256 qam10
42187500001.240256 qam11
52267500001.238256 qam12
6234750000140256 qam13
72427500000.738256 qam14
82507500000.538256 qam15
92587500000.738256 qam16
102667500000.738256 qam17
112747500000.740256 qam18
122827500000.738256 qam19
132907500000.538256 qam20
142987500000.738256 qam21
153067500000.740256 qam22
163147500000.738256 qam23
173227500000.238256 qam24
183387500000.238256 qam26
193467500000.438256 qam27
203547500000.438256 qam28
21362750000038256 qam29
22370750000038256 qam30
23378750000-0.537256 qam31
24386750000-0.237256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.980
2Locked40.360
3Locked40.380
4Locked40.380
5Locked38.940
6Locked40.3100
7Locked38.9100
8Locked38.940
9Locked38.9100
10Locked38.650
11Locked40.360
12Locked38.9120
13Locked38.990
14Locked38.960
15Locked40.370
16Locked40.3220
17Locked38.980
18Locked38.9110
19Locked38.990
20Locked38.9140
21Locked38.6160
22Locked38.670
23Locked37.690
24Locked37.630

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000045.3512064 qam3
23260000046.8512064 qam5
33940000045.3512064 qam4
45370000044.8512064 qam2
56030000044.8512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0080
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA00250
5ATDMA0043

0

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 30.78K
  • 3.04K
  • 5.83K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
711 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible network packet loss

Try the “free & automated” Service Status number - 0800 561 0061 - which usually gives the most up to date info. and tells you of more local issues down to postcode level. These may not be listed on the Area Status web page (Areas are not “Geographic” they are billing areas) as that usually only covers faults affecting 1000’s of customers) so phone may give you more info, but even that wont cover problems affecting just a few customers.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
chrisr2021
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
687 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible network packet loss

Just tried the phone number, the Service Status number says nothing wrong in my area, so at least consistent with their Service Status page.

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 30.78K
  • 3.04K
  • 5.83K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
645 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible network packet loss

Is your Hub in modem mode with your own router ? Is there other equipment connected to the Hub on ethernet cables?

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
chrisr2021
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
639 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible network packet loss

The SuperHub3 is running as a router.  Its normally got a NAS drive wired in but I've disconnected that for testing.

I've got a Draytek router configured as a WiFi access point upstairs that is linked via ethernet to the one of the 4 ethernet ports on the SuperHub3 but again this has been disconnected for testing.  (Its a old, tall house with brick walls no neither router will cover the whole house with usable WiFi)

Without me changing anything, the ThinkBroadband BQM has been going all over the place.  No packet loss overnight, then started again this morning, and just cleared up again this afternoon.

chrisr2021_0-1628258438058.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Tom_F
  • 4.22K
  • 250
  • 536
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
602 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible network packet loss

Hi chrisr2021, thanks for getting in touch.

 

Sorry to hear about the problems you've had with your connection. I've cone through some checks from here using your forum details, there are no known issues at the moment and everything appears to be fine - power levels are within spec and there are no signs of congestion either - I do appreciate that's not been your experience though.

 

I also appreciate it may be a long-shot given the diagnostics you've already done, but have you tried a 60 second pinhole reset? If not please try that and get back to us with fresh hub data so we can see if errors build up from there.

 

Tom 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.92K
  • 1.6K
  • 4.42K
Alessandro Volta
594 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible network packet loss

If I could politely observe that although things might look good from VM's perspective, the hub status that @chrisr2021 posted is distinctly dodgy, in that the hub was using five upstream channels, and two of those had very high T3 timeout counts, despite a recent reboot (concluding that from the low downstream error counts).

Needs a technician visit, I'd suggest.

0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 18.61K
  • 773
  • 1.96K
Alessandro Volta
573 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible network packet loss


@chrisr2021 wrote:

I've setup a BQM https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/608e152ccd6782fea058a8855a08fd1b6f...

 


Your BQM is looking ok today.

 

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
chrisr2021
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
550 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible network packet loss

Hi,

The recent reset that I did on 3/8 was a pinhole reset.  I did end up leaving the power off on the router for over an hour before doing it but I don't think that would be an issue.

Chris

0 Kudos
Reply
chrisr2021
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
548 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Terrible network packet loss

I've been away from the computer all day Sunday so can't say how its been then.  The BQM had settled down on Saturday to no packet loss and connection was usable.

I'll have to see how it goes working from home today (Monday).

So far the T3 timeouts have gone down

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0010
4ATDMA0050
5ATDMA0010

and the Network log reports nothing since 6/8

Network LogTime Priority Description
06/08/2021 10:51:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/08/2021 10:43:8noticeReceived REG-RSP while in REG-HOLD1 state;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2021 18:38:16criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:51Warning!ToD request sent - No Response received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/08/2021 18:05:45criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply