Menu
Reply
splinter1
  • 24
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
425 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Switched from BT to Virgin after 10 years (BQM inside!)

Just had Virgin installed and wondered if a Guru could comment on my install please -

My BQM 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13310000008.438256 qam25
22030000009.538256 qam9
32110000009.438256 qam10
4219000000938256 qam11
52270000008.838256 qam12
62350000008.538256 qam13
72430000008.338256 qam14
82510000008.438256 qam15
92590000008.538256 qam16
102670000008.438256 qam17
11275000000838256 qam18
122830000008.338256 qam19
13291000000838256 qam20
142990000008.138256 qam21
153070000008.338256 qam22
163150000008.440256 qam23
17323000000838256 qam24
183390000008.438256 qam26
193470000008.138256 qam27
203550000008.138256 qam28
21363000000838256 qam29
22371000000838256 qam30
233790000007.938256 qam31
243870000007.840256 qam32

 

0 Kudos
Reply
splinter1
  • 24
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
424 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Switched from BT to Virgin after 10 years (BQM inside!)

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.980
2Locked38.9110
3Locked38.690
4Locked38.6110
5Locked38.670
6Locked38.9110
7Locked38.9150
8Locked38.970
9Locked38.990
10Locked38.670
11Locked38.9130
12Locked38.990
13Locked38.9160
14Locked38.9130
15Locked38.960
16Locked40.990
17Locked38.6140
18Locked38.970
19Locked38.660
20Locked40.3100
21Locked38.980
22Locked38.9110
23Locked38.990
24Locked40.350
0 Kudos
Reply
splinter1
  • 24
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
423 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Switched from BT to Virgin after 10 years (BQM inside!)

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13259998639.5512064 qam3
22580000038512032 qam4
33940004639.5512064 qam2
44620000039.5512064 qam1

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0010
0 Kudos
Reply
splinter1
  • 24
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
422 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Switched from BT to Virgin after 10 years (BQM inside!)

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
UBsgvca69834ncxv9873254k;fg87

 

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID18331
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0

 

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID18330
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
409 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Switched from BT to Virgin after 10 years (BQM inside!)

Your Download Power Levels are on the high side but within spec (-6.0dBmV to +10.0 dBmV)

You have one Upstream Channel Modulation at 32 QAM, all four channels should be at 64 QAM.

Try a reboot to see if the Hub can renegotiate a better connection using this method ...

Switch the Hub off using the small switch on the rear of the Hub next to the power cord and pull the PSU plug from the wall socket.

Give it a good 5 minutes put the plug back in and switch the Hub back on.

Allow the Hub a few minutes to fully restart then check the Modulations again.

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13259998639.5512064 qam3
22580000038512032 qam4
33940004639.5512064 qam2
44620000039.5512064 qam1

 

 


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
splinter1
  • 24
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
398 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Switched from BT to Virgin after 10 years (BQM inside!)

Thanks for the quick reply. I will power off my hub for a while and see if the modulation changes on that channel.

As for the Download Power Level being on the high side what does this mean in real terms for the quality of the connection. I should probably read the Technical Primer thread at some point.


0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
389 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Switched from BT to Virgin after 10 years (BQM inside!)

The closer the Power Level are to the limits the more chance you have of problems if anything changes upstream, in that resect the closer to 0dBmV the better.

Connection wise I have read (but don't know how accurate it is) that the higher the Power Level the better the actual connection is.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
splinter1
  • 24
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
379 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Switched from BT to Virgin after 10 years (BQM inside!)

I power cycled the hub and that channel seems to oscillate between 16/32/64 QAM (on clicking refresh data).

Is configuration of the physical connection (Power Levels etc) performed at the cabinet or can it be done remotely.

The power could be high because the incoming line originally had an external 2 way split. After the engineer visit i noticed he had removed the splitter (not sure why).

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
366 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Switched from BT to Virgin after 10 years (BQM inside!)

The Power Levels and QAM can be sorted by a VM Tech by changing things at the street cabinet.

The power Level can be brought down by putting an attenuator on the cable between the wall socket and Hub, not that you should do it 😉

Attenuator

 


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
splinter1
  • 24
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
355 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Switched from BT to Virgin after 10 years (BQM inside!)

Cheers, no I wouldn't' dare touch any of VM's kit 😉

0 Kudos
Reply