Menu
Reply
CCM82
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
654 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Stats check please?

Hi there, i'm on the M500 plan and while overall my connection is good, i'm not getting the speed-test results that i would expect - normally in the 200 - 300 range. I've noticed that my Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz) is sitting at 299000000 and i'm not sure if that's the issue?

I've tried a factory reset (twice) of the Hub 3.0 and it appeared to do nothing - it remembered all my settings (i have wi-fi disabled and i'm using the BT Whole Home discs).

I've attached pics of my router stats page. If anyone who understands what these mean could take a look, i'd be grateful!

Stat1.jpg

config.jpgUpstream.jpgDownstream2.jpgDownstream1.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
650 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Stats check please?

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then Advanced Settings > Tools > Network Status.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish.

Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
CCM82
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
642 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Stats check please?

Cable Modem Status Item Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
299000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
60300000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12990000003.236256 qam21
21390000001.736256 qam1
31470000001.936256 qam2
41550000001.737256 qam3
51630000001.937256 qam4
6171000000237256 qam5
7179000000237256 qam6
81870000002.237256 qam7
91950000002.537256 qam8
102030000002.437256 qam9
112110000002.237256 qam10
12219000000237256 qam11
13227000000236256 qam12
142350000001.736256 qam13
152430000001.436256 qam14
16251000000136256 qam15
172590000000.736256 qam16
182670000000.736256 qam17
192750000002.436256 qam18
202830000002.736256 qam19
21291000000336256 qam20
223070000003.237256 qam22
233150000003.237256 qam23
243230000003.237256 qam24

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked36.6210
2Locked36.340
3Locked36.6110
4Locked37.380
5Locked37.650
6Locked37.360
7Locked37.350
8Locked37.350
9Locked37.350
10Locked37.360
11Locked37.350
12Locked37.630
13Locked36.62150
14Locked36.626000
15Locked36.627940
16Locked36.622080
17Locked36.321620
18Locked36.616100
19Locked36.65130
20Locked36.61100
21Locked36.6130
22Locked37.3190
23Locked37.3170
24Locked37.650

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

16030000047.3512064 qam1
23940000047.3512064 qam4
34620000047.3512064 qam3
45370000047.3512064 qam2

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000




0 Kudos
Reply
CCM82
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
641 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Stats check please?

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFIDRemoved for privacy?
Max Traffic Rate575000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFIDRemoved for privacy?
Max Traffic Rate38520000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Network Log

Time

Priority

Description

31/12/2020 10:06:35

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

31/12/2020 10:06:30

Warning!

LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

31/12/2020 00:23:10

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/12/2020 06:12:43

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

29/12/2020 20:53:41

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

29/12/2020 17:43:52

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

26/12/2020 08:53:41

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

25/12/2020 23:55:14

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

23/12/2020 15:05:47

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

18/12/2020 22:02:39

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

18/12/2020 13:41:44

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

15/12/2020 09:48:38

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

15/12/2020 01:41:44

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

11/12/2020 14:37:41

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

11/12/2020 13:41:44

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

08/12/2020 03:06:58

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

08/12/2020 01:41:44

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

05/12/2020 10:35:2

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

04/12/2020 13:41:44

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/12/2020 20:01:18

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CMTS-MAC=REMOVED-MAC-ADDRESS-FOR-PRIVACY;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 8.17K
  • 1.36K
  • 3.7K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
638 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Stats check please?

At the time you took those shots all power, SNR and modulation was good, but the spread of downstream errors is slightly troubling, because in the time that channels below 235 MHz have racked up a handful, the channels above that but below 275 MHz are measuring many hundreds.  Those at the moment are all pre-RS errors, meaning that the hub's error correction has caught and corrected them, and there's no material overhead from that.  But if they keep building, and start breaking through as post-RS errors (meaning uncorrectable) that will have an impact on connection performance.  Keep an eye on those figures and repost if they change materially, remembering that restarting the hub will zero the counters.

The other thought is how are you measuring speed?  The benchmark is always with an ethernet connected device, because wifi can be both variable and constrained by the device and protocol it connects on.  A high end device connected over 5 GHz, with a good signal and no bandwidth management by the router can hit around 550 Mbps, but I would be surprised if the BT system (or most mesh systems) would achieve that, because mesh wifi is about optimising solid coverage rather than optimising peak device speeds.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

CCM82
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
628 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Stats check please?

Thank you for taking the time to reply, much appreciated.

I'll keep an eye on the errors and re-post if they increase significantly.

I was concerned that it was connecting to the network in a way that was capping my speed at 300 instead of the 500 (actually 550 i think?) that i should be.

I understand that the mesh approach won't typically give the top speeds, but i was previously consistently getting close to the 500 mark on most speed-test sites (including the Ookla one), and now i'm never breaking through that 300 mark. Not sure if the change is something to do with the line / hub, or maybe the discs or home devices themselves.

One final question for now - any known reason why resetting the hub didn't work properly? I held the pin in the reset hole for over 60 seconds, then switched the hub off for a while, but when it booted back up it was like no reset took place?

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
625 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Stats check please?

What speeds do you get at >>  SamKnows << with a direct connection using a Cat 5E or better ethernet cable between the Hub in Router Mode and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other devices connected ?


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
CCM82
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
615 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Stats check please?

I'll test that later today. 

What i have just discovered (and do find strange) is that if i use my VPN, i can get 350 on the samknows test, but it's only 203 without the VPN? That's on the same PC - not hard-wired to the hub, but on an ethernet cable to one of the Whole Home dishes. I used to be able to get around 500 (without VPN) on exactly the same setup.

Same thing happens on the Ookla site.

Wouldn't it normally be the other way round in terms of the straight connection versus VPN?

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
611 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Stats check please?

You need to forget any connections that aren't direct ethernet connections to the Hub until the status of the Hub is determined, after that other things can be looked at.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
CCM82
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
519 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Stats check please?

Hi there,

On a direct ethernet connection to my laptop, i can only seem to get around 250-250 Mbps.

I feel like my line is capped out at the 300 Mbps mark. Is there anything in my stats that suggests that might be the case?

 

0 Kudos
Reply