Menu
Reply
andrewglass3
  • 69
  • 1
  • 10
Dialled in
610 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Speeds a bit wobbly - could you check my levels please?

Afternoon Mods

 

Im running my hub 4 in modem mode and Ive just moved my room around using extension cables that were provided by the virgin engineer some time ago.  However Ive noticed my speeds have been a bit up and down. Im not sure if there is a settling period for the 1gig service however would you be able to check my signal levels please?

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
japitts
  • 19.18K
  • 2.48K
  • 4.39K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
592 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speeds a bit wobbly - could you check my levels please?

To get your modem stats, goto to http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) but don't log in. Click on "router status", and copy & paste the data from each of the tabs.

Can you explain what you mean by "using extension cables that were provided by the virgin engineer"?

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
andrewglass3
  • 69
  • 1
  • 10
Dialled in
576 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speeds a bit wobbly - could you check my levels please?

Hiya

 

So when the virgin engineers were out, I explained that I was thinking of moving my room around and that the modem would need to be placed on the other side of the room. He made up a long enough cable out of coax so that I could move the splitter across the room and place the modem and the tivo box next to each other.  

 

Ive only managed to get the modem management ip to load once - it not just sits there and eventually times out. Ive added a static route from my lan and also allowed my wan out to 192.168.100.1.  I cannot hit it.

 

My network is basically:

 

Hub4 (modem mode) > UDM PRO > LAN

On the UDM pro I have allow wan out (new/est/related ) to 192.168.100.1

andrewglass3_0-1640711650963.png

Here is my static route:

andrewglass3_1-1640711692078.png

 

When I enabled this the route page loaded, however it only loaded once - its not done it again.

Any ideas?

 

Cheers

Andy

 

0 Kudos
Reply
andrewglass3
  • 69
  • 1
  • 10
Dialled in
553 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speeds a bit wobbly - could you check my levels please?

Grr ubiquiti! Wasnt picking up the static route - rebooted the udm and now it picks it up and I can hit the modem management ui

 

Here are my stats:

 

andrewglass3_0-1640715584683.png

 

3.0 Downstream channels
Channel	Frequency (Hz)	Power (dBmV)	SNR (dB)	Modulation	Channel ID
25	330750000	7.300003	38.983261	QAM256	25
6	178750000	8.500000	38.983261	QAM256	6
7	186750000	8.500000	38.983261	QAM256	7
8	194750000	8.699997	38.983261	QAM256	8
9	202750000	8.599998	40.946209	QAM256	9
10	210750000	8.199997	38.983261	QAM256	10
11	218750000	7.900002	38.983261	QAM256	11
12	226750000	7.099998	38.605377	QAM256	12
13	234750000	5.199997	38.983261	QAM256	13
14	242750000	4.699997	38.605377	QAM256	14
15	250750000	5.500000	38.983261	QAM256	15
16	258750000	5.199997	38.983261	QAM256	16
17	266750000	5.300003	40.366287	QAM256	17
18	274750000	5.300003	38.983261	QAM256	18
19	282750000	5.000000	40.366287	QAM256	19
20	290750000	4.900002	40.366287	QAM256	20
21	298750000	4.699997	38.983261	QAM256	21
22	306750000	5.199997	38.983261	QAM256	22
23	314750000	6.000000	40.366287	QAM256	23
24	322750000	6.800003	40.366287	QAM256	24
26	338750000	8.400002	40.366287	QAM256	26
27	346750000	7.599998	38.983261	QAM256	27
28	354750000	6.800003	38.983261	QAM256	28
29	362750000	7.300003	40.366287	QAM256	29
30	370750000	7.400002	38.983261	QAM256	30
31	378750000	7.699997	38.983261	QAM256	31
32	386750000	7.699997	38.983261	QAM256	32
33	394750000	7.400002	40.366287	QAM256	33
34	402750000	7.400002	40.366287	QAM256	34
35	410750000	6.900002	40.366287	QAM256	35
36	418750000	6.400002	38.983261	QAM256	36


3.0 Downstream channels
Channel	Lock Status	RxMER (dB)	Pre RS Errors	Post RS Errors
25	Locked	38.983261	0	0
6	Locked	38.983261	6	0
7	Locked	38.983261	0	0
8	Locked	38.983261	0	0
9	Locked	40.946209	0	0
10	Locked	38.983261	0	0
11	Locked	38.983261	0	0
12	Locked	38.605377	0	0
13	Locked	38.983261	0	0
14	Locked	38.605377	0	0
15	Locked	38.983261	1	0
16	Locked	38.983261	0	0
17	Locked	40.366287	0	0
18	Locked	38.983261	0	0
19	Locked	40.366287	0	0
20	Locked	40.366287	0	0
21	Locked	38.983261	0	0
22	Locked	38.983261	0	0
23	Locked	40.366287	0	0
24	Locked	40.366287	0	0
26	Locked	40.366287	0	0
27	Locked	38.983261	0	0
28	Locked	38.983261	0	0
29	Locked	40.366287	0	0
30	Locked	38.983261	0	0
31	Locked	38.983261	0	0
32	Locked	38.983261	0	0
33	Locked	40.366287	0	0
34	Locked	40.366287	0	0
35	Locked	40.366287	0	0
36	Locked	38.983261	0	0


3.1 Downstream channels
Channel	Channel Width (MHz)	FFT Type 	Number of Active Subcarriers	Modulation (Active Profile)	First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
159	94	4K	1840	QAM4096	424


3.1 Downstream channels
Channel ID	Lock Status	RxMER Data (dB)	PLC Power (dBmV)	Correcteds (Active Profile)	Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
159	Locked	43	6.2	76699225	0

 

Upstream

andrewglass3_1-1640715781836.png

 

andrewglass3_2-1640715795226.pngandrewglass3_3-1640715812303.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply
japitts
  • 19.18K
  • 2.48K
  • 4.39K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
543 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speeds a bit wobbly - could you check my levels please?

Can you copy & paste each of the tabs, rather than just screenshotting them?

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
andrewglass3
  • 69
  • 1
  • 10
Dialled in
539 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speeds a bit wobbly - could you check my levels please?

Sure here you go - thank you for your help 🙂

Cable Modem Status
Item	Status	Comments
Cable Modem Status	
Online
	
DOCSIS 3.1
Primary downstream channel	
Locked
	
SC-QAM
Channel Overview	Downstream	Upstream
DOCSIS 3.0 channels	
31
	
4
DOCSIS 3.1 channels	
1
	
0
3.0 Downstream channels
Channel	Frequency (Hz)	Power (dBmV)	SNR (dB)	Modulation	Channel ID
25	330750000	7.400002	38.983261	QAM256	25
6	178750000	8.500000	38.605377	QAM256	6
7	186750000	8.500000	38.983261	QAM256	7
8	194750000	8.699997	38.983261	QAM256	8
9	202750000	8.599998	40.366287	QAM256	9
10	210750000	8.300003	38.983261	QAM256	10
11	218750000	8.000000	38.983261	QAM256	11
12	226750000	7.099998	38.983261	QAM256	12
13	234750000	5.199997	38.605377	QAM256	13
14	242750000	4.699997	38.983261	QAM256	14
15	250750000	5.599998	38.983261	QAM256	15
16	258750000	5.199997	38.983261	QAM256	16
17	266750000	5.300003	40.366287	QAM256	17
18	274750000	5.300003	38.983261	QAM256	18
19	282750000	5.000000	40.366287	QAM256	19
20	290750000	5.000000	40.366287	QAM256	20
21	298750000	4.699997	38.983261	QAM256	21
22	306750000	5.199997	38.983261	QAM256	22
23	314750000	6.000000	40.366287	QAM256	23
24	322750000	6.800003	40.366287	QAM256	24
26	338750000	8.400002	40.366287	QAM256	26
27	346750000	7.599998	38.605377	QAM256	27
28	354750000	6.800003	38.983261	QAM256	28
29	362750000	7.300003	40.366287	QAM256	29
30	370750000	7.500000	38.983261	QAM256	30
31	378750000	7.699997	38.983261	QAM256	31
32	386750000	7.699997	38.983261	QAM256	32
33	394750000	7.400002	40.366287	QAM256	33
34	402750000	7.400002	40.366287	QAM256	34
35	410750000	6.900002	40.366287	QAM256	35
36	418750000	6.400002	38.983261	QAM256	36


3.0 Downstream channels
Channel	Lock Status	RxMER (dB)	Pre RS Errors	Post RS Errors
25	Locked	38.983261	0	0
6	Locked	38.605377	0	0
7	Locked	38.983261	0	0
8	Locked	38.983261	0	0
9	Locked	40.366287	0	0
10	Locked	38.983261	0	0
11	Locked	38.983261	0	0
12	Locked	38.983261	0	0
13	Locked	38.605377	0	0
14	Locked	38.983261	0	0
15	Locked	38.983261	0	0
16	Locked	38.983261	0	0
17	Locked	40.366287	0	0
18	Locked	38.983261	0	0
19	Locked	40.366287	0	0
20	Locked	40.366287	0	0
21	Locked	38.983261	0	0
22	Locked	38.983261	0	0
23	Locked	40.366287	0	0
24	Locked	40.366287	0	0
26	Locked	40.366287	0	0
27	Locked	38.605377	0	0
28	Locked	38.983261	0	0
29	Locked	40.366287	0	0
30	Locked	38.983261	0	0
31	Locked	38.983261	0	0
32	Locked	38.983261	0	0
33	Locked	40.366287	0	0
34	Locked	40.366287	0	0
35	Locked	40.366287	0	0
36	Locked	38.983261	0	0


3.1 Downstream channels
Channel	Channel Width (MHz)	FFT Type 	Number of Active Subcarriers	Modulation (Active Profile)	First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
159	94	4K	1840	QAM4096	424


3.1 Downstream channels
Channel ID	Lock Status	RxMER Data (dB)	PLC Power (dBmV)	Correcteds (Active Profile)	Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
159	Locked	43	6.2	87682944	0

 

3.0 Upstream channels
Channel	Frequency (Hz)	Power (dBmV)	Symbol Rate (ksps)	Modulation	Channel ID
1	39400000	45.020599	5120 KSym/sec	64QAM	12
2	32600000	44.770599	5120 KSym/sec	64QAM	13
3	46200000	44.770599	5120 KSym/sec	64QAM	11
4	53700000	45.020599	5120 KSym/sec	64QAM	10


3.0 Upstream channels
Channel	Channel Type	T1 Timeouts	T2 Timeouts	T3 Timeouts	T4 Timeouts
1	US_TYPE_STDMA	0	0	0	0
2	US_TYPE_STDMA	0	0	0	0
3	US_TYPE_STDMA	0	0	0	0
4	US_TYPE_STDMA	0	0	0	0

 

General Configuration
Network access	
true
Maximum Number of CPEs	
1
Baseline Privacy	
true
DOCSIS Mode	
3.1
Config file	
87dsfd;kfoA,.iyewrkldJKDH


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID	
11740
Max Traffic Rate	
1200000450
Max Traffic Burst	
42600
Min Traffic Rate	
0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID	
11741
Max Traffic Rate	
55000270
Max Traffic Burst	
42600
Min Traffic Rate	
0
Max Concatenated Burst	
16320
Scheduling Type	
bestEffort

 

Hope this helps?

Thanks

Andy

 

0 Kudos
Reply
andrewglass3
  • 69
  • 1
  • 10
Dialled in
460 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speeds a bit wobbly - could you check my levels please?

Speeds seem to have settled. Wonder if it was just something environmental on the line outside of contention?

 

Anyway I seem to be able to max out my line now 🙂

 

Cheers

 

Andy

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 10.38K
  • 1.66K
  • 4.74K
Alessandro Volta
452 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speeds a bit wobbly - could you check my levels please?

Keep an eye on things, as the downstream power levels you've posted were a bit erratic.  Sometimes the hub can cope with the range your figures showed, sometimes it can't. 

andrewglass3
  • 69
  • 1
  • 10
Dialled in
397 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speeds a bit wobbly - could you check my levels please?

I spoke to one of the virgin online chat people asking them to double check my levels after reading your post. Well that was an experience lol The chap said, I have sent refresh hits to your router. Please reset it and it will be ok.

When I asked him to explain what a refresh hit was he just repeated himself.

Eventually he asked what did you want to check your download speeds? I said no, please can you double check my downstream powerlevels as I was advised by a user on the forum that they were a bit erratic. Not sure if he checked. He just said they are fine and we ended the online chat.
0 Kudos
Reply
Robert_P
  • 4.63K
  • 222
  • 419
Forum Team
Forum Team
378 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speeds a bit wobbly - could you check my levels please?

Hello andrewglass3

 

Thanks for posting in regards to your connection, I've taken a look and there are a few downstream channels that look to have slight power level issues which may need a tech. I will send you a Private Message to get some details from you to get this looked into.

 

Thanks

 

Rob

0 Kudos
Reply