Menu
mariacatherine
Joining in
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Speed

Hi,  I’m having big issues with speed in certain areas of the house. I have a download speed of 111 Mbps in the room with the hub but drops right down to 2.89 in other rooms. This is with a booster aswell located halfway between hub and those rooms without much signal.

6886F2BC-23C9-40C6-B6E5-7F8FE6EB1CB9.jpeg

0 Kudos
john_haggart
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed

Hi mariacatherine

Sounds like the booster may be at fault here! Are the booster supplied by virgin media?

If so have they been cloned to the hub ie when you're looking for a wifi to join are you just seeing 1 which is your hub or does the booster have a different SSID and password to join.

What happens when if you plug the booster in the same room as he hub are you still experiencing slow speeds?

Regards

John 

I am a Virgin Media Field Technician. All and any advice given is based on my experience in the field or my personal experiences If my answer was helpful to you please Mark as helpful or consider leaving the post some Kudos.

Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more

0 Kudos
mariacatherine
Joining in
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Hi John,

We are using a NETGEAR booster, however I have turned off the booster and connected to the main WiFi and we are experiencing the same speeds. The booster appears as a seperate option on my WiFi settings with -EXT on the end however it makes no difference. My son has also just tested the speeds on his PlayStation and the upload speed was around 600KBPS. The download speed remained between 2-4 mbps also. 

0 Kudos
Toj_H
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator