Menu
Reply
  • 82
  • 3
  • 9
Mart280
Up to speed
593 Views
Message 21 of 39
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed has dropped from 385MBPS to 9.5MBPS

Hi John,

 

Engineer arrived at 8:00AM first call really good guy, did diagnostics of the Hub, he even connected his phone to it and the device was only like 5 inches away, and the speed was dreadful think it was comming back as 15.5MBPS D/L and 8.2MBPS U/L, funny enough the operative that arrived only lives a few roads away from me and assured me that all the talk about how much ram I have in my PC, what O/S I am running, what type of hard drive, graphics card, processor and all that good stuff that the tech support team mentioned is meaningless, it doesn't matter even if they stuck it in safe mode it wouldn't have mattered, he said that they should have just booked the appointment in the first instance instead of all the messing around, he then tried to change some settings on the Hub and it still didn't make any improvements.

In the end after about 45 minutes or so it was agreed to replace the Hub, since then my speeds have gone from 25.4MBPS D/L and 18.7MBPS U/L on a hardwired Eithernet connection right up to 391.5MBPS D/L and 21.5MBPS U/L so it was a fault with the Virgin Media equipment and nothing to do with my PC or other connected devices, he said he had a feeling I was gonna be an avid game player as my Rig is quite high spec needs a few upgardes soon but nothing much, even on wireless I'm now getting around 280MBPS D/L and 20.6MBPS U/L.

He has asked me to keep running speed tests over the weekend and he will call me back on Monday to see how it is going, if the speed drops he said he will escalate this with the network team on Tuesday, but so far so good.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
m4drums
Tuning in
586 Views
Message 22 of 39
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed has dropped from 385MBPS to 9.5MBPS

Don't fall for any of the Virgin Media [REMOVED] that's going around at the moment regarding your WiFi speed!

The WiFi speed issues are as a result of their "Intelligent WiFi". I was connecting wirelessly before this "upgrade" at 275 MBPS plus. Now I get anything from 7.0-35.0 MBPS! 

They condemned my internal cabling (that's always been fine with no issues) so I told them to connect their hub directly to their incoming cable.

The engineer connected his test equipment to the cable "yeah, this has been your problem. The signal if A1 here". Guess what? When he connected the hub I had the same problem but now with even slower speeds.  "Oh it must be the hub then"? VM changed the hub, exactly the same problem. They then told me I would have to purchase signal boosters. I did with EXACTLY the same speed issues. Fortunately I've been able to send the boosters back for credit.

The engineer has now escalated the problem to his manager. I've lodged an official complaint with VM but if they can't sort it I might as well go to Sky or BT!

Oh and they're using overseas call centres once again with a number of job losses in this country!

BBC news 3rd May 2018:

800 jobs cut as Virgin Media to shut Swansea call centre

Post Edit - Inappropriate Language

 [MOD EDIT: Inappropriate language removed, please review the Forum Guidelines]

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 82
  • 3
  • 9
Mart280
Up to speed
568 Views
Message 23 of 39
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed has dropped from 385MBPS to 9.5MBPS

I know, theoperative said that things have basically gone nuts since they released the so called intelegent WIFI, he said there wasn't anything intelegent about it and that they should have waited and tested it properly before releasing it, I to put a compliant in at CEO level last week still not heard anything back properly yet, I'm going to see how this goes and if it drops then the engineer who attended today said he will be escalating it to the network team to sort out.

He did find it laughable when I told him that the so called tech support staff tried to blame it on my PC, he said that they shouldn't of done that and just got me an appontment booked in the first instance, it was laughable when the guy from their call center was asking me "Do you use an AMD or Intel processor in your computer????? How much RAM are you using????? What type of graphics card?????? What type of cooling system do you use??????" And they said it all in a "I am smarter than you!!!" attitude, when in all respect they are not. I built my PC so I know it like the back of my hand and know how to fix it when it goes wrong, but to then try and blame my smart phones which are all Samsung, then the X-Box, then Alexa, but then when I said I am having the same problem whilst it is also hard connected into the V6 box his attitude changed, but stil it was "No!!!! We are not sending you an engineer out!!!!"

Oh well lets see what happens within the next 24 - 48 hours then, my contract is due to end in 2 months so clock is ticking down.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 82
  • 3
  • 9
Mart280
Up to speed
577 Views
Message 24 of 39
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed has dropped from 385MBPS to 9.5MBPS

I know right, I even told the engineer that attended what they said about it being my PC and that they would not be sending an engineer out because it was my equipment that was causing the problem, the operative then went on to say that they shouldn't have said that and should have just booked in an appointment without me having to go through all the messing about getting it sorted.

The call I had with their so called tech support team was laughable. "What type of processor are you using AMD or Intel!!!! How much RAM do you have!!!! What is the size of your hard drive!!!!! What cooling system do you use!!!!! What type of graphics card have you installed!!!!! What version of Windows are you using!!!!!" All these questions were stupid, dumb and meaningless, even the engineer was laughing at what I told him, they blames my PC, which I built, I could take it all aprt and rebuild it in I'd say half an hour, any faults on it I would know what it was and how to fix it, as building it you can do a lot and fix it yourself, he then went on to blame my smartphone's that are connected to it all of which are Samsung, he then went on to blame the X-Box and any other device that was connected, I then said to him on the phone "So does that include you Flagship V6 box that keeps kicking me off the network whilst watching Netflix???" His reply was "Oh no..... But we are still not sending you an engineer!!!!!!!!!!!!!" He said it all in that "I am smarter than you attitude!!!!" Erm well no you are not, with all respect, you should have just done your job and sent an engineer out last week when I asked.

I also sent this to Tom Mockridge so a complaint has already been logged, if I hear anything back we will see, will the speed of my broadband stay as is, we will see, will I be going back to BT / Sky when my contract is up in 2 months, we will see, the next 24 - 48 hours are going to be interesting to monitor.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 82
  • 3
  • 9
Mart280
Up to speed
553 Views
Message 25 of 39
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed has dropped from 385MBPS to 9.5MBPS

Well so far so good, I've ran a couple of speed tests this morning and one just 2 minutes ago, speed is 382.7MBPS D/L and 21.8MBPS U/L got a call from them today asking is everything okay, so far so good I said, they advised that operative who attended left a note on the system to show it was a fault with the Hub and that he will be giving me a call back tomorrow, so happy days.

If the speed stays as is and stays between 340 - 380 I'll be happy with that, thanks for the assistance in this Tom_S its appreciated. 🙂

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 21
  • 0
  • 2
jasonjenkins
On our wavelength
301 Views
Message 26 of 39
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed has dropped from 385MBPS to 9.5MBPS

I have the same issue, I am pulling my hair out with the way the call center staff talk to me like I am some kind of idiot. I had a 200 Mbps connection and that was always giving a hard wired connection speed of >=220 Mbps. I upgraded this year to a 350 Mbps connection and have never seen it above 250 Mbps in my house. This is where it gets interesting, my next door neighbor also has a 350 Mbps connection so I go into his house armed with my 6e Ethernet cable, my HP windows 10 laptop and plug it into his network achieving a speed of 375 Mbps, while I am there I connect my IPhone 7 on the 5Ghz network achieving a wireless speed of 370 Mbps (about a foot away from his Hub 3). I then return to my house carry out the same procedure and get 145 Mbps hardwired and 220 Mbps wireless on the phone.

I have spoken to 5 different "technical advisers" explaining what should be a simple task by getting an engineer to call around as there is clearly something wrong. I have been asked every question except what I ate for dinner by the combination of the 5 advisors that they are clearly under the impression that I have no idea what I am doing and that they are so concentrated with what software, what ram,that I go into safe mode with networking, they are totally blinkered with the FACT that the same 3 pieces of hardware (the laptop, the cable and the Iphone) were totally hitting the speed plus some in my neighbors house and yet under performing in my house. The only variable is a different wired node connection, the installation and the HUB 3.

How can that be hard to understand?

First Adviser agreed to send an Engineer to the house after he reset everything and realised there was an issue. The Engineer never arrived after I waited in all day on the date I was given.

Second Adviser said there was no record of an Engineer being booked. He then done exactly the same as the first Adviser and told me there was a small issue and it would get better.

It never got better the third Adviser done exactly the same as the second one and I was also asked to do a master reset on the Hub 3, had to then set my wireless networks back up and reconnect my devices. No improvement

Adviser number 4 got as far as what Cable are you using question, I stopped him asked him to send me an Engineer, he would not so I hung up.

Adviser number 5 done the same as the last adviser so I also had to hang up on him.

The last week I have been driving around my village looking for a VM Engineer to ask them to come and check my equipment. Surly that is not the way to run a company? Customer satisfaction should be a priority. I am not an idiot and fault find faults on multi-million pound machinery, I am highly qualified at what I do and I although I am not trained on VM systems and equipment, I am fully aware that a HUB 3 is not high end equipment and could easily be malfunctioning. Sometimes when faultfinding equipment even faulty ones return healthy diagnostics.

Can someone from VM from this country please contact me regarding this issue. I upgraded for better speeds not for worse. My patience is wearing thin and I cannot bear to phone up "Technical adviser" number 6.

Cheers   

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13.37K
  • 1.03K
  • 3.12K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
297 Views
Message 27 of 39
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed has dropped from 385MBPS to 9.5MBPS

@jasonjenkins the only contact you will get from VM is on here - they will not call you but may send a pm to invite you for a chat session - you give chapter and verse about contact to offshore - lets not get into what they have said or done other than they know little and can do less

so some info needed - start with

log into hub3 - 192.168.0.1 [or 192.168.100.1 if in modem mode] - DON'T SIGN IN, click - click router status [centre of screen] - and post the downstream and upstream figures - to see those press on the grey buttons/boxes labeled - upstream - downstream

concentrate on wired tests to start with - nothing wrong with your laptop and lan card or lan cable as they have all been tested next door

do a wired test with your hub3 in modem mode and see if that helps - if it does nothing do a full reset on the hub3 and repeat the speedtest

 

____________________

Tony
  • 21
  • 0
  • 2
jasonjenkins
On our wavelength
291 Views
Message 28 of 39
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed has dropped from 385MBPS to 9.5MBPS

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1323000000-4.237256 qam24
2187000000-2.737256 qam7
3195000000-2.937256 qam8
4203000000-3.237256 qam9
5211000000-337256 qam10
6219000000-3.437256 qam11
7227000000-3.437256 qam12
8235000000-3.537256 qam13
9243000000-3.537256 qam14
10251000000-3.937256 qam15
11259000000-437256 qam16
12267000000-4.237256 qam17
13275000000-4.237256 qam18
14283000000-4.237256 qam19
15291000000-4.437256 qam20
16299000000-4.237256 qam21
17307000000-437256 qam22
18315000000-4.437256 qam23
19443000000-437256 qam25
20451000000-4.437256 qam26
21459000000-4.537256 qam27
22467000000-4.737256 qam28
23475000000-4.537256 qam29
24483000000-4.537256 qam30


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked37.61170
2Locked37.39360
3Locked37.374185
4Locked37.626350
5Locked37.650331
6Locked37.610416
7Locked37.62530
8Locked37.333610
9Locked37.61620
10Locked37.61810
11Locked37.635828
12Locked37.62116
13Locked37.32680
14Locked37.615311
15Locked37.3130220
16Locked37.62774
17Locked37.63240
18Locked37.65810
19Locked37.61820
20Locked37.63100
21Locked37.358311
22Locked37.63700
23Locked37.61600
24Locked37.63620
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 21
  • 0
  • 2
jasonjenkins
On our wavelength
286 Views
Message 29 of 39
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed has dropped from 385MBPS to 9.5MBPS

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1394000383.575512064 qam9
2462001443.55512064 qam8
3537000203.525512064 qam7
4326000423.575512064 qam10


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13.37K
  • 1.03K
  • 3.12K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
285 Views
Message 30 of 39
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed has dropped from 385MBPS to 9.5MBPS

they look fine - do the speedtests as i describe

____________________

Tony