Menu
Reply
oysteroyster
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
822 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Speed drops until I restart router

Hi,

Ever since I switched to Virgin a few months ago, I find my M100 connection starts off working at full speed, then over a period of a few days, my speed drops to a crawl and stays that way until I reboot the router, at which point it works at full speed again.

This is happening over WiFi - I'll check my wired connection too next time it happens - but is this a common issue and are there any potentially useful solutions?

Thanks in advance.

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.93K
  • 1.6K
  • 4.43K
Alessandro Volta
815 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Speed drops until I restart router

Commonest cause is a noise or power level problem, and in the vast majority of cases they are easily fixed.  You can try phoning it in (and possibly finding out how VM earns and retains the grim reputation that it has), or you can do a bit of detective work to see if there's a clear cause, and the forum staff can then book you a technician visit.

If you want to do that latter approach, then (ideally after the hub's been running a good while and not been rebooted even if slow) connect to the hub by clicking on this link http://192.168.0.1/  That should pull up the log in page for the hub.  But don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"  That'll bring up a window with five tabs.  Open the Downstream tab.  Select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here as TEXT not screenshots.  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time.

Then we can check for any obvious problems with power, noise or error counts.

Megan_L
  • 2.85K
  • 171
  • 303
Forum Team
Forum Team
738 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed drops until I restart router

Hi Oysteroyster, 

Thanks for using the forums to get this issue with your WIFI looked into, I am sorry if this has been causing some frustration. I would be more than happy to look into this for you.

I've already taken the time to look into your services on my side, I can't find any red flags or faults that would explain the slow speeds. However, I do see that there is an issue with one device on your WIFI that needs some attention.

Usually this kind of WIFI issue is caused by congestion on the WIFI bands, if one or more devices are on the wrong WIFI channel (2.4ghz & 5.0ghz) it can cause congestion which materialises as intermittent connection and slow speeds. 

  • 2.4ghz - This channel is more suitable for low impact devices, so things like mobile phones, tablets, in-home PA systems etc. The things that don't need a huge amount of bandwidth to work effectively. 2.4ghz has a lower capacity, but it's signal reach has a wide radius, so even if you go upstairs it will still be able to connect (unless you live in a mansion! lol)
  • 5.0ghz - This is a channel for the more heavy hitter devices like PC's, Consoles and laptops that you may use for gaming, streaming and other heavy usage. 5.0ghz has a smaller signal radius, but it's capacity is much better. The radius can be boosted by using our WIFI Pods so even if you have a PC in another room, you can still connect to 5.0ghz.

In order to keep congestion in check, you'll need to follow the steps on this link - Change WIFI Channel - this will show you how to change them if any devices are on the wrong band. Please have a go and we'll see if the slow speeds improves over the next few days 🙂

I also have a few general links below for future issues, or if any other users are looking for help on this thread they can use them too 🙂

  • Our Service Checker is a good tool to use to check if there are any area outages ongoing with Broadband, TV, Landline and Mobile. It usually lets you know what is wrong and how long it's going to take for the engineers to fix (estimated time of course)
  • Your Online Account also has a good tool which helps diagnose a fault within your home network with your Broadband, TV and Landline, it will tell you what's up and what to do next. 
  • We also have a good section for faults on our website here - Help Website - it will give you flows for diagnosing and rectifying faults on a multitude of aspects. A really good link to bookmark!  

Thanks,

Megan_L

0 Kudos
Reply
oysteroyster
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
678 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed drops until I restart router

Thanks @Andrew-G - I'll try this next time things slow down and let you know.

@Megan_L - Happy to try that and I see that my Amazon Alexas are running on 5ghz, instead of the maybe the better suited 2.4ghz. However, using your suggested method that simply allows me to change which number (channel) each channel is operating, rather than choose which device is running on 5ghz or 2.4ghz - how do I change that? And do I also want to change the channels in which 5ghz and 2.4ghz are operating (currently 11 and 44)?

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
676 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed drops until I restart router

The channel settings are in 'Advanced --> Wireless'

You'll need to switch off smart channel optimisation

Then change it from Auto to a channel

For the 2.4GHz - stick to channels 1,6, or 11 (you may need to use a WifI analyser app for your phone to see which one is the clearest!

Hope this helps!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
Akua_A
  • 3.39K
  • 81
  • 220
Forum Team
Forum Team
672 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed drops until I restart router

Thank you for getting back to us @oysteroyster.

 

Was the great advise given by @lotharmat useful? Do you need any further help regarding this?

 

Thanks,

Akua_A
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
oysteroyster
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
542 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed drops until I restart router

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13710000003.438256 qam30
22030000003.238256 qam9
32110000002.938256 qam10
42190000002.538256 qam11
52270000002.738256 qam12
62350000002.538256 qam13
72430000002.438256 qam14
82510000002.538256 qam15
92590000002.938256 qam16
10267000000338256 qam17
112750000002.538256 qam18
122830000002.738256 qam19
13291000000340256 qam20
142990000003.438256 qam21
153070000003.538256 qam22
163150000003.538256 qam23
17323000000438256 qam24
18331000000438256 qam25
193390000003.938256 qam26
203470000003.538256 qam27
213550000003.538256 qam28
223630000003.540256 qam29
23379000000338256 qam31
243870000003.238256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9150
2Locked38.650
3Locked38.990
4Locked38.970
5Locked38.960
6Locked38.690
7Locked38.670
8Locked38.990
9Locked38.960
10Locked38.960
11Locked38.660
12Locked38.680
13Locked40.370
14Locked38.990
15Locked38.960
16Locked38.990
17Locked38.9100
18Locked38.690
19Locked38.9100
20Locked38.980
21Locked38.9110
22Locked40.3140
23Locked38.9140
24Locked38.9130
0 Kudos
Reply
oysteroyster
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
541 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed drops until I restart router

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

12580000041.8512064 qam4
23260000041.8512064 qam3
34620000042.3512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA00442
2ATDMA00441
3ATDMA0020
0 Kudos
Reply
oysteroyster
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
540 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed drops until I restart router

Network Log

Time Priority Description

06/09/2021 21:50:6criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:50:6criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:46:7criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:46:6criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:42:7criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:42:7criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:39:27criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:39:27criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:36:28criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:36:27criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:35:8criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:35:8criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:32:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:32:48criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:23:9criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:23:9criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:21:49criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:21:49criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:21:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 21:21:29criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
498 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed drops until I restart router

looks like a sever upstream problem to me!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply