Menu
Reply
Mykorl
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
555 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Speed a lot slower since upgrading to M500 package

Hi, recently upgraded to the M500 package from the M350 as my contract was coming to an end. The connection seems to be fine as always, but the speeds are A LOT slower. To my knowledge the package was not supposed to have any speed trafficking, well that was what the agent on the phone said to me. 

I could run a speed test any time of the day/night on my old package and my speed would actually be more. Around 450mbps which is 45MBps with an ethernet connection. Now my top speed is 100mbps / 10MBps with an ethernet cable. I will post my router settings below for someone to maybe help me some more? 

 

Thanks a lot! Really appreciate any help given before I leave VirginMedia due to this. Not looking good already since renewing, haha!

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
548 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed a lot slower since upgrading to M500 package

100mbps / 10MBps sounds like your device is not connecting to the HUB at gigabit speeds.

Could you access the 'Connected devices' section, once logged into the HUB, and check what the 'Speed (Mbps)' value is next to your device?

0 Kudos
Reply
Mykorl
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
570 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed a lot slower since upgrading to M500 package

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14027500003.738256 qam30
22027500004.137256 qam9
32107500003.437256 qam10
42187500003.538256 qam11
52267500003.538256 qam12
62347500003.538256 qam13
72427500003.738256 qam14
82507500003.738256 qam15
92587500003.938256 qam16
10266750000437256 qam17
11274750000437256 qam18
122827500004.138256 qam19
13290750000438256 qam20
142987500004.438256 qam21
153067500004.338256 qam22
163147500004.538256 qam23
173227500004.838256 qam24
183307500004.838256 qam25
193707500003.738256 qam26
203787500003.938256 qam27
213867500003.738256 qam28
223947500003.738256 qam29
234107500003.738256 qam31
244187500003.738256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.980
2Locked37.670
3Locked37.6100
4Locked38.670
5Locked38.950
6Locked38.6150
7Locked38.6170
8Locked38.6150
9Locked38.6120
10Locked37.680
11Locked37.6140
12Locked38.670
13Locked38.9180
14Locked38.980
15Locked38.6100
16Locked38.680
17Locked38.6130
18Locked38.610
19Locked38.660
20Locked38.6110
21Locked38.970
22Locked38.660
23Locked38.660
24Locked38.660
0 Kudos
Reply
Mykorl
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
569 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed a lot slower since upgrading to M500 package

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1461999444.475512064 qam3
2394000294.425512064 qam4
3537000194.5512064 qam2
4603000124.625512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Mykorl
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
566 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed a lot slower since upgrading to M500 package

Network Log

Time Priority Description

18/09/2020 11:10:34criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/09/2020 11:06:22criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/09/2020 11:05:28Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/09/2020 11:05:23criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/09/2020 11:05:22Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/09/2020 11:05:22criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/09/2020 11:05:17Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/09/2020 10:08:34noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/09/2020 10:08:34ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/09/2020 09:40:15criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/09/2020 09:39:45Warning!TCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/09/2020 09:39:44Warning!Initializing Channel Timeout Expires - Time the CM can perform initial ranging on all upstream channels in the TCS has expired;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/09/2020 09:38:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/09/2020 09:37:29criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/09/2020 09:34:31Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/09/2020 09:33:55Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/09/2020 09:33:53criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/09/2020 22:55:36criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/09/2020 20:03:58noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/09/2020 20:03:58ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Mykorl
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
560 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed a lot slower since upgrading to M500 package

The speed next to it is 100 Mbps. I don't get how it's dropped though considering it was a lot quicker before I upgraded? 😕 very strange.

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
553 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed a lot slower since upgrading to M500 package


@Mykorl wrote:

The speed next to it is 100 Mbps. I don't get how it's dropped though considering it was a lot quicker before I upgraded? 😕 very strange.


This indicates:

  • Faulty HUB.
  • More likely the ethernet cable has gone bad.

Do you have another cable you could try?

Try other ethernet ports on the back of the HUB.

Mykorl
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
542 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed a lot slower since upgrading to M500 package

I just reset my router now. It's just gone 11pm here in the UK so I'm not sure if it's to do with possible traffic management or the reset helped? Speeds are back to how they were before. Speeds are 56MBps now. The connected device speed also has 1000 next to it now. Would it have said 100 if it was being throttled on Virgin's end?

Anonymous
Not applicable
534 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed a lot slower since upgrading to M500 package


@Mykorl wrote:

I just reset my router now. It's just gone 11pm here in the UK so I'm not sure if it's to do with possible traffic management or the reset helped? Speeds are back to how they were before. Speeds are 56MBps now. The connected device speed also has 1000 next to it now. Would it have said 100 if it was being throttled on Virgin's end?


If the 'Speed (Mbps)' is now showing 1000 then it appears it was a 'blip' with the local network speed, not your internet connection.

Mykorl
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
529 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed a lot slower since upgrading to M500 package

Fantastic! So my speed wasn't being managed by Virgin?

0 Kudos
Reply