Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.73K
  • 91
  • 332
Problem sorter
318 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Speed Issues

Just wondering if there is any work being done in my area? Area 31. Wondering if there is a fault which hasn't yet been diagnosed in the area.

I have noticed my Download speeds and Upload speeds are all over the place today. I know it's nothing to do with my side. (Hard Wired)

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14830000003.738256 qam32
2203000000537256 qam9
32110000004.637256 qam10
42190000004.538256 qam11
52270000004.337256 qam12
62350000004.137256 qam13
72430000003.738256 qam14
82510000003.737256 qam15
92590000003.937256 qam16
102670000003.738256 qam17
112750000003.938256 qam18
122830000003.738256 qam19
13291000000438256 qam20
14299000000438256 qam21
15307000000438256 qam22
163150000004.138256 qam23
173230000004.138256 qam24
184270000004.140256 qam25
194350000004.538256 qam26
204430000004.138256 qam27
214510000004.338256 qam28
22459000000440256 qam29
23467000000440256 qam30
244750000003.538256 qam31



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.900
2Locked37.650
3Locked37.640
4Locked38.650
5Locked37.650
6Locked37.360
7Locked38.600
8Locked37.600
9Locked37.660
10Locked38.600
11Locked38.660
12Locked38.900
13Locked38.650
14Locked38.650
15Locked38.6190
16Locked38.950
17Locked38.900
18Locked40.900
19Locked38.9120
20Locked38.960
21Locked38.950
22Locked40.3130
23Locked40.350
24Locked38.95

0

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1326000004.225512064 qam3
2462000004.225512064 qam1
3394000004.2512064 qam2
4258000004.225512064 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Hopefully someone from VM can look into this for me. Thanks

----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.57K
  • 1.63K
  • 2.65K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
299 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issues

Stats all looking ok - post up the network logs as well.

Have you checked for “known network faults”?
As well as trying the “check service,” weblink (at the top of this forum board), there is also a Service Status number - 0800 561 0061 - which usually tells you of more local issues down to postcode level (that may not be listed on the Service Status web page) that may give you more info, but it wont cover problems affecting just a few customers.

Also try a pinhole rest - hold pin in for 60 seconds dont switch off leave 5' and then check again.

Also, in the meantime. Set up a free “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM.
If you just see a wall of "red" then your Hub is not accepting the "pings" - make sure you uncheck the “ignore ping from WAN side” box in the settings - note it will take an hour or two to start seeing a sensible picture.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Highlighted
  • 141
  • 13
  • 20
Forum Team
Forum Team
299 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issues

Hi there my name is Pawan Paul I am a virgin media technician I can give you a few tips for example make sure all connections are tight from the back of the hub to the isolater then do a hard rest which can be found at the back of the hub There has known to be a issue all over the uk with speed issues that are getting resolved as soon as possible 
All and any advice given is based on my experience in the field. If my answer was helpful to you please Mark as helpful or consider leaving the post some Kudos


Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more


Highlighted
  • 3.73K
  • 91
  • 332
Problem sorter
182 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issues

Thanks for the knowledge however this is something i all ready know as i'm a qualified Microsoft engineer and i see you post nearly the same information for everyone rather than something different. 

Not the information i was looking for ... I was asking for my connection to be checked.

----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 1.1K
  • 56
  • 101
Forum Team
Forum Team
171 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issues

Hi Stythinator, 

 

Are you still experiencing the same?

 

I have gone ahead and checked at our end, everything looks fine. IF you do need further support please let us know. 

 

Thanks, 

Hetty

Hetty_R
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 20.96K
  • 1.13K
  • 2.7K
Alessandro Volta
166 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issues

Being a “qualified Microsoft engineer” doesn’t mean you know everything and anything, especially about networking.

For all we know you could be qualified in SCCM or Exchange etc. which bears not meaning on anything here. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.73K
  • 91
  • 332
Problem sorter
133 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Speed Issues

Fine now. Thanks for looking into it.

----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution.
0 Kudos
Reply