Menu
Reply
LFXJester
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
701 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Socket Error

Hi,

Like several other posters on here I seem to be having problems with my socket. Running a speedtest (on speedtest.net) shows the following:

DOWNLOAD TEST ERROR

A socket error occurred during the download test. A firewall could be blocking the connection or the server might be having some issues. Please try again later.

Alternatively, check out our free Speedtest for Desktop apps for more reliable testing.

This has been happening for the past few days and whilst I can temporarily correct it by dialling 150, following the various instructions to get Virgin to automatically check my line and tell me there's an issue and they need to send a message to my box to reset it, I'm now bored of doing this  over and over and want a permanent fix to my problem.

If anyone knows the solution to this I would greatly appreciate some help!

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
680 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Socket Error

How is the broadband performing ?

Can you try a test at >>  SamKnows << with a direct connection using a Cat 5E or better ethernet cable between the Hub in Router Mode and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other devices connected ?


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
LFXJester
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
673 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Socket Error

It's difficult at the moment for me to disconnect all devices as we're working from home and we need the various laptops and phones connected for conference calls etc. I'll try later tonight when work ends but as I can't achieve a single device logging at the moment I've just run the test on SamKnows anyway with the following result:

Latency: 19.2ms, Jitter: 3.56ms, Download: 3.00mbps, Upload: 39.5mbps

The download speed seems better in reality than the test though that's my finger in the air/gut feel.

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
666 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Socket Error

If possible can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Please post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here straight away.

Instructions for posting BQM Live Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
665 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Socket Error

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then Advanced Settings > Tools > Network Status.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again.

Use one post for each tab if you wish.

Please do not use screen shots.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
LFXJester
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
578 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Socket Error

My BQM 

Downstream

Chnl Freq (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Mod Chnl ID

12987500004.840256 qam21
21387500003.240256 qam1
31467500003.540256 qam2
41547500003.540256 qam3
51627500003.440256 qam4
61707500003.540256 qam5
71787500003.540256 qam6
81867500003.540256 qam7
91947500003.540256 qam8
102027500003.740256 qam9
112107500003.540256 qam10
122187500003.540256 qam11
132267500003.740256 qam12
142347500003.740256 qam13
152427500003.740256 qam14
162507500003.540256 qam15
172587500003.740256 qam16
18266750000440256 qam17
19274750000440256 qam18
202827500004.140256 qam19
212907500004.540256 qam20
223067500004.540256 qam22
233147500004.640256 qam23
243227500004.840256 qam24

Downstream

Chnl Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Post RS

1Locked40.930
2Locked40.390
3Locked40.3130
4Locked40.9120
5Locked40.940
6Locked40.9100
7Locked40.3220
8Locked40.9230
9Locked40.9220
10Locked40.3150
11Locked40.370
12Locked40.3140
13Locked40.970
14Locked40.3120
15Locked40.990
16Locked40.3120
17Locked40.3130
18Locked40.9110
19Locked40.9100
20Locked40.990
21Locked40.380
22Locked40.9230
23Locked40.9210
24Locked40.980

 

U/S bnd chnls

Chnl Freq (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Mod Chnl ID

13940000947.5512064 qam4
24620000047.5512064 qam3
35369997147.5512064 qam2
46030002947.5512064 qam1


Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0020
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0010

 

General Config

Network access
Allowed
Max No of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
.iyewrkldJKDHSUBsgvca6983


Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID4698
Max Traffic Rate575000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID4697
Max Rate38520000
Max  Burst42600
Min Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

13/01/2021 20:06:50criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/01/2021 10:18:22noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/01/2021 22:02:22criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/01/2021 13:00:52Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/01/2021 04:23:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/01/2021 01:12:19noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/01/2021 01:12:19ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/01/2021 16:20:34Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/01/2021 19:40:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/01/2021 07:28:46noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/01/2021 07:28:46ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/01/2021 23:09:32criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/01/2021 08:18:49Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/01/2021 22:32:34criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/01/2021 19:28:46noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/01/2021 19:28:46ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/12/2020 20:37:37criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/12/2020 14:01:24Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
558 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Socket Error

Your Hub doesn't seem to be responding to Ping.

Can you go into the Hub Settings and set the Hub Firewall up as shown below ...

Hub-3-Firewall

 


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
557 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Socket Error

Your Hub data all looks OK.

Just the Sam Knows speed test required and the BQM.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
LFXJester
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
548 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Socket Error

Apologies, I thought the BQM linked in a previous post (under the hyperlink "My BQM") but I've posted again directly below.

My BQM link is here

Please let me know if this link doesn't work.

SamKnows data is shown below:

Latency: 17.6ms

Jitter: 2.14ms

Download: 2.38 Mbps

Upload: 36.7 Mbps

My hub is set up as per the picture i.e. block fragmented IP packets is not ticked.

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
539 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Socket Error

OK.

Can you please set up a new BQM, it still isn't working.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply