Menu
Reply
Intermittent1
  • 26
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
816 Views
Message 1 of 28
Flag for a moderator

So Looks Like Everyone is getting Slow Speeds: Virgin do you have a reason or answer ?

Personally I've had about 10 days, although I'm sure it tied in with a Windows Update, even typing this it's SO slow

Use to get 100Mbps all the time, now down 10, 30 tops is around 75

So is it Virgin or Windows !! ??

 

 

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
Reply
UnimatrixOne
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Just joined
782 Views
Message 2 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: So Looks Like Everyone is getting Slow Speeds: Virgin do you have a reason or answer ?

Maybe it's to do with the massive hack that the world (USA, E.U, Asia etc.) suffered this year

0 Kudos
Reply
apcyberax
  • 33.44K
  • 1.87K
  • 5.95K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
762 Views
Message 3 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: So Looks Like Everyone is getting Slow Speeds: Virgin do you have a reason or answer ?

a hack wouldn't result in slow speeds. this is a tin foil hat comment.
0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.53K
  • 970
  • 2.28K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
748 Views
Message 4 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: So Looks Like Everyone is getting Slow Speeds: Virgin do you have a reason or answer ?

In my experience Windows update is a very carefully managed process that has little impact on day to day operation.  So a VM problem is more probable.  In terms of "everybody getting slow speeds", nope, my connection has been absolutely fine, and that's got four Windows machines, a Chromebook, and I've been playing around with multiple Linux downloads for another machine, not to mention the new Fire stick downloading a ton of updates, the Chromebook auto-updating, and the older nipper running collaborative degree-level aerospace engineering virtualisations (and gaming and video-calling around that).

Of late we've had a further lockdown, and the start of the 2020 game and console release cycle, both of which have driven traffic up hugely.  So possibly your problems are related to that, rather than your conection?

I'd suggest as a start to see if we can identify a problem, you post your hub's status data for Downstream, Upstream and Network log (as text not screenshots).

 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Intermittent1
  • 26
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
623 Views
Message 5 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: So Looks Like Everyone is getting Slow Speeds: Virgin do you have a reason or answer ?

Still flucating speeds from 3mbps to 60mbps

Network Log:

20/12/2020 10:38:15 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;
18/12/2020 22:02:4 notice LAN login Success;
14/12/2020 16:12:8 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
14/12/2020 09:46:22 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;
13/12/2020 09:42:6 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
10/12/2020 21:46:22 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;
07/12/2020 18:28:8 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
07/12/2020 09:46:21 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;
04/12/2020 09:34:21 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
03/12/2020 21:46:20 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;
02/12/2020 15:19:10 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
01/12/2020 02:18:46 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;
02/01/1970 12:42:13 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
01/01/1970 00:00:54 Error ToD request sent- No Response received;
01/01/1970 00:01:53 Warning! ToD request sent - No Response received;
01/01/1970 00:01:39 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;
01/01/1970 00:00:29 Error ToD request sent- No Response received;
01/01/1970 00:01:55 Warning! ToD request sent - No Response received;

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Intermittent1
  • 26
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
616 Views
Message 6 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: So Looks Like Everyone is getting Slow Speeds: Virgin do you have a reason or answer ?

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 298750000 14 38 256 qam 21
2 202750000 15.4 38 256 qam 9
3 210750000 15.1 37 256 qam 10
4 218750000 14.9 38 256 qam 11
5 226750000 14.6 37 256 qam 12
6 234750000 14.8 38 256 qam 13
7 242750000 14.6 38 256 qam 14
8 250750000 14.5 38 256 qam 15
9 258750000 14 38 256 qam 16
10 266750000 13.6 38 256 qam 17
11 274750000 13.6 38 256 qam 18
12 282750000 13.9 37 256 qam 19
13 290750000 13.9 37 256 qam 20
14 306750000 13.9 38 256 qam 22
15 314750000 13.9 37 256 qam 23
16 322750000 14 38 256 qam 24
17 330750000 14 37 256 qam 25
18 370750000 13.9 38 256 qam 26
19 378750000 13.6 37 256 qam 27
20 386750000 13.5 38 256 qam 28
21 394750000 13.1 38 256 qam 29
22 402750000 12.9 38 256 qam 30
23 410750000 12.9 37 256 qam 31
24 418750000 13 38 256 qam 32


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.6 45 0
2 Locked 38.6 10 0
3 Locked 37.6 24 0
4 Locked 38.6 32 0
5 Locked 37.6 35 0
6 Locked 38.6 30 0
7 Locked 38.6 39 0
8 Locked 38.9 29 0
9 Locked 38.6 18 0
10 Locked 38.6 27 0
11 Locked 38.6 25 0
12 Locked 37.6 30 0
13 Locked 37.6 47 0
14 Locked 38.6 76 0
15 Locked 37.6 38 0
16 Locked 38.6 51 0
17 Locked 37.6 20 0
18 Locked 38.6 10 0
19 Locked 37.3 24 0
20 Locked 38.6 27 0
21 Locked 38.6 48 0
22 Locked 38.6 88 0
23 Locked 37.6 47 0
24 Locked 38.6 40 0

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 46200000 33.8 5120 64 qam 1
2 39400000 33.3 5120 64 qam 2
3 25800000 32.8 5120 64 qam 4
4 32600000 33 5120 64 qam 3


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 1 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Intermittent1
  • 26
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
459 Views
Message 7 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: So Looks Like Everyone is getting Slow Speeds: Virgin do you have a reason or answer ?

No help those logs ?

22/12/2020 06:42:14 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;VER=3.0;
21/12/2020 18:40:28 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Is critical and error anything or just a standard ?

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
cje85
  • 2.58K
  • 162
  • 675
Trouble shooter
431 Views
Message 8 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: So Looks Like Everyone is getting Slow Speeds: Virgin do you have a reason or answer ?

The downstream power is much too high. You'll need an engineer visit to correct this, the forum team can arrange this but it takes them a few days to reply. Can a superuser flag this thread to the forum team? 

jbrennand
  • 20.53K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.63K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
430 Views
Message 9 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: So Looks Like Everyone is getting Slow Speeds: Virgin do you have a reason or answer ?

Your downstream power levels are all out of range - all above the maximum (+10dBmV). That will need a tech visit to bring them back into range. call it in asap - although 08.00 is the best time to get through qith no long waita


--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Intermittent1
  • 26
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
375 Views
Message 10 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: So Looks Like Everyone is getting Slow Speeds: Virgin do you have a reason or answer ?

Thanks for the replies

Yesterday the speeds were great from 11am all above 100Mbps (alas never checked Hub readings as we had managed to get an engineer booked and I presumed he was up the road at the box).

The engineer turned up at 3pm added an attenuator to the hub even though speeds were great he showed me his test phone were some of it was showing red alas can't remember what now.The 100Mpbs lastest for the 8hrs I was logged on too.

This morning the speeds are back flucuating between 33 & 80 Mbps with an Average of 60 Mbps over an hour (20 test readings)

I've called them again and they aren't willing to do anyway as the tests done when on the phone with them were over 55Mbps the min guranteed speed, really strange as we've always had great speeds and I only noticed as I actually thought it was my laptop running slow !

I'm still suspecting dampness in the joint on the pavement as that's where we had our only issue previously in the 3yrs we've had Virgin.

 

Power is a lot lower down to around 5dBMV

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 298750000 4.8 38 256 qam 21
2 202750000 5.8 38 256 qam 9
3 210750000 5.5 37 256 qam 10
4 218750000 5.4 38 256 qam 11
5 226750000 5 37 256 qam 12
6 234750000 5.1 38 256 qam 13
7 242750000 5.3 38 256 qam 14
8 250750000 4.9 38 256 qam 15
9 258750000 4.5 38 256 qam 16
10 266750000 4.3 37 256 qam 17
11 274750000 4.3 37 256 qam 18
12 282750000 4.5 37 256 qam 19
13 290750000 4.5 38 256 qam 20
14 306750000 4.8 38 256 qam 22
15 314750000 4.9 38 256 qam 23
16 322750000 4.9 38 256 qam 24
17 330750000 5 38 256 qam 25
18 370750000 4.6 38 256 qam 26
19 378750000 4.6 37 256 qam 27
20 386750000 4.1 38 256 qam 28
21 394750000 4 37 256 qam 29
22 402750000 3.7 38 256 qam 30
23 410750000 3.7 38 256 qam 31
24 418750000 3.7 38 256 qam 32

 

0 Kudos
Reply