Menu
Reply
SkarBD
  • 72
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
501 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Slowness in resolving website lookups

Hello,

So I am SW19 virgin client on 200MBs, however for about 2 - 3 days 5 - 7/1/2021 I have been noticing that the time it takes to look resolve web addresses is taking time, it's not as snappy, taking 5 seconds+ some times. 

Speed tests are coming back fine once they start (e.g. speedtest.net) both the browser and the windows store app.

Ping times are good when running a ping -n 100 www.bbc.co.uk

Ping statistics for 212.58.237.252:
Packets: Sent = 100, Received = 100, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 11ms, Maximum = 60ms, Average = 16ms

My main PC is hard wired to my router and a Synology NAS also on the LAN, hard wired as well, also does lookups and that device is reporting issues every so often connecting to services on the web.

My DNS lookup on my router is using Google as the primary (8.8.8.8) and the secondary (1.1.1.1) and has been for a many many months.

Something isn't just right, if that makes sense.

I haven't rebooted my router, which I will of course try and the last update I applied was a couple of weeks ago.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
491 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slowness in resolving website lookups

If possible can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Please post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here straight away.

Instructions for posting BQM Live Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
490 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slowness in resolving website lookups

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then Advanced Settings > Tools > Network Status.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish.

Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
SkarBD
  • 72
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
458 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slowness in resolving website lookups

Downstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12990000008.337256 qam21
21390000008.137256 qam1
3147000000838256 qam2
41550000007.638256 qam3
51630000007.638256 qam4
61710000007.438256 qam5
71790000007.138256 qam6
81870000007.437256 qam7
91950000007.538256 qam8
102030000007.138256 qam9
112110000006.837256 qam10
122190000006.838256 qam11
132270000006.637256 qam12
142350000006.938256 qam13
152430000007.337256 qam14
162510000007.437256 qam15
17259000000738256 qam16
18267000000737256 qam17
192750000007.538256 qam18
202830000007.538256 qam19
212910000007.538256 qam20
223070000008.138256 qam22
233150000007.437256 qam23
243230000006.637256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.67460
2Locked37.614330
3Locked38.66169
4Locked38.62420
5Locked38.94390
6Locked38.93040
7Locked38.67890
8Locked37.63880
9Locked38.63640
10Locked38.65470
11Locked37.64200
12Locked38.67460
13Locked37.65960
14Locked38.96900
15Locked37.65820
16Locked37.65010
17Locked38.69840
18Locked37.38250
19Locked38.66310
20Locked38.98180
21Locked38.68960
22Locked38.64850
23Locked37.617530
24Locked37.624010
0 Kudos
Reply
SkarBD
  • 72
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
456 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slowness in resolving website lookups

Upstream

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000041.5512064 qam2
23940000039.5512064 qam4
34620000040512064 qam3
46030000041.5512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA00150
2ATDMA00100
3ATDMA00110
4ATDMA00110
0 Kudos
Reply
SkarBD
  • 72
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
455 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slowness in resolving website lookups

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
d;kfoA,.iyewrkldJKDHSUBsg



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID780
Max Traffic Rate230000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID779
Max Traffic Rate22000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
SkarBD
  • 72
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
453 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slowness in resolving website lookups

07/01/2021 13:11:46noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 11:57:18criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/01/2021 12:18:42noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/01/2021 12:18:42ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/2021 03:50:32criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
SkarBD
  • 72
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
448 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slowness in resolving website lookups

MyBQM 

0 Kudos
Reply
SkarBD
  • 72
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
442 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slowness in resolving website lookups

Hypothetically - possible upstream being maxed out was one thought, but it was occurring in the evening as well, when my wife and daughter (Google classroom - 7.5 hours) are logged off school and work?

0 Kudos
Reply
SkarBD
  • 72
  • 0
  • 2
On our wavelength
280 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slowness in resolving website lookups

Anyway I solved it on the day, by rebooting the router.

This is the first time in 20+ years that the router was actually the case of the problem. So both happy and sad. Happy that the problem was resolved, sad that it was my router. 

The router by the way is a Synology RT2600AC, which to be fair has been really good, and offers the features I need, however having to reboot it does give it a -1 in the old tick box. Not a fan of running a scheduled reboot once a month, but maybe something to consider.

0 Kudos
Reply