Menu
Reply
tkp1920
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
439 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Slow unstable connection

My husband and I are both NHS workers who work from home whenever possible. We are both on video-conference calls pretty much all day, and my M100 broadband is really slow and unreliable, with regular drop-outs. I’m wondering if BT would be faster and more stable, or if my speed is the problem and I need an upgrade. I’m at the end of my contact so I’m wondering is it worth trying a speed upgrade or should I just switch providers?

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
434 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow unstable connection

if you are not getting the speed you pay for an upgrade will not help.
Don't be fooled by what VM sales tell you.

First is this only slow wireless speeds or are wired speeds slow as well
0 Kudos
Reply
tkp1920
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
430 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow unstable connection

I’ve tried connecting via the Ethernet cable and Wi-fi and alternating between the two.  It’s the same - intermittently slow and regular drop-outs. I also did a hard reset of the box, I thought that had helped for a short time but no. 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
422 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow unstable connection

can you post the hub stats for the upstream, downstream and network log from the status page on http://192.168.0.1
0 Kudos
Reply
tkp1920
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
398 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow unstable connection

is it this? 

15/05/2020 12:09:46Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/05/2020 12:09:42criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/05/2020 10:39:51Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/05/2020 10:39:50criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/05/2020 09:51:24Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/05/2020 09:51:15criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

1411000000-0.235256 qam31 
2195000000-1.935256 qam8 
3203000000-235256 qam9 
4211000000-2.235256 qam10 
5219000000-2.735256 qam11 
6227000000-335256 qam12 
7235000000-3.435256 qam13 
8243000000-3.734256 qam14 
9251000000-4.234256 qam15 
101258000045.1512064 qam6
 2326000415.1512064 qam5
 3394000265.1512064 qam4
 4462000045.1512064 qam3

 

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.61K
  • 1.9K
  • 4.07K
Alessandro Volta
382 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow unstable connection

Your upstream levels are too high. 
Unless there’s an area issue you’ll need a tech visit 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
tkp1920
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
377 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow unstable connection

Thank you, that’s helpful. I had a little attenuator thing attached to my old router, but when I got the super hub 3 and the V6 box, it didn’t say anything about an attenuator in the instructions, so I took it off. Should I put that back on? I think I still have it somewhere. 

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.61K
  • 1.9K
  • 4.07K
Alessandro Volta
365 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow unstable connection

Depends.

It may drop the downstream levels too low and out of spec.

You can try putting it on then posting the stats back again after rebooting the hub. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Eeeps
  • 757
  • 47
  • 119
Rising star
363 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow unstable connection

No, don't put the attenuator back in - that will reduce your signal levels.

However, since you have both broadband and TV you must have a signal splitter in the coax line.

If you are up to it you could try removing the splitter and connecting the modem directly to the cable as it comes in.

Depending on how your cable is arrange that could be quite simple. Obviously when you do this your TV won't work but if you get a good broadband connection when you do then at least your problem will probably be easily fixed by an engineers visit.

So looking at the cable, you should have a white box on your skirting board with a cable going to a splitter (a connection on one side and two on the other),
From there two cables go to the modem and the V6 box.

What you need to do is disconnect the cable from the box on the skirting board and connect the cable from the modem directly to it.

If you manage that, post you results  and stats here.

(The reason this may work is the splitter introduces an attenuation in signal levels.)