Menu
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Slow speeds 200mbps to 80mbps Help needed

I recently just installed a CAT 6 cable from my router to my computer. When i first installed the cable i was getting speeds of 200+ but after a week or two they have shot right down to the 80s. I've restarted my router and contacted customer service but all they have told me is that if your internet is still working, you should not let it bother you. I'm a Electrician as trade, so i do a lot of projects which means i need a high download speed. 

Photo of internet when first installed:

85184442_775405379952315_1034721268726759424_n.png

Photo of speed now:now.PNG

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Legend
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speeds 200mbps to 80mbps Help needed

Those speeds are indicative of a flaky cable or a Network Interface Card (NIC) running at 10/100 Gbs.

Check the NIC settings and driver status in your computer if they are good a different cable may help.

If it isn't the NIC or cable get the ball rolling with fault diagnosis.

..............................................................................................................

Firstly set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

then

Type 192.168.0.1 into your browser URL bar and press enter.  When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’. Copy and paste the contents of each tab onto here, a Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Joining in