Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
267 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Slow speed issues on new m500

I've just moved to m500 from m350 (which was working fine)

Since the upgrade, I've been having an issue with the connection - slow speeds and intermittent inability to even connect to the internet.

Hub 3

I suspect it's something to do with the upstream power / qam

 

And advice appreciated.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11467500004.340256 qam2
21387500004.438256 qam1
3154750000440256 qam3
4162750000438256 qam4
51707500003.538256 qam5
61787500003.538256 qam6
71867500003.438256 qam7
81947500002.938256 qam8
92027500002.440256 qam9
102107500002.238256 qam10
112187500001.938256 qam11
12226750000138256 qam12
132347500000.238256 qam13
14242750000-0.538256 qam14
15250750000-0.238256 qam15
162587500000.538256 qam16
172667500000.738256 qam17
182747500000.438256 qam18
192827500000.538256 qam19
202907500000.738256 qam20
212987500000.738256 qam21
223067500000.538256 qam22
233147500000.438256 qam23
243227500000.240256 qam24

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000043.5512032 qam5
23940000043.5512032 qam4
34620000043.5512032 qam3
45370000043.5512064 qam2

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA00230
3ATDMA001810
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 12.14K
  • 944
  • 1.56K
Alessandro Volta
251 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Slow speed issues on new m500

Your Downstream Power Levels are all individually within spec BUT the differential between the highest at +4.4dBmV and the lowest at -0.5dBmV is to great.

Your Upstream Power Levels are OK but the Modulation on three of the Channels are at 32 QAM, they should be 64 QAM.

This will need an engineer to put right.

You can either call in (08:00 is the best time) or wait on here for a few days (6 to 7 days average) until one of the VM Forum Staff comes along.

If you wait on here Do Not bump the thread it will put it further down the VM 'to do list'.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
242 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed issues on new m500

Thanks very much.

I used their online fault checker which showed no fault at first, but now it shows one so I've been able to arrange an appoinment for someone to come over via the website.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.52K
  • 1.84K
  • 3.06K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
236 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed issues on new m500

Just be aware that if there is a "known fault" at your location, then all Tech visits are auto-cancelled until it is fixed - makes sense really not to visit individual customers until the local fault is fixed elsewhere.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
234 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed issues on new m500

 

Any way to find out if there is a known fault in the area?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 12.14K
  • 944
  • 1.56K
Alessandro Volta
219 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed issues on new m500


@mvr_london wrote:

 

Any way to find out if there is a known fault in the area?


Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting your district. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.52K
  • 1.84K
  • 3.06K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
212 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed issues on new m500

You said in message 3.....

"I used their online fault checker which showed no fault at first, but now it shows one"

What were you looking at ? I assumed it was the check that Mike says.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
192 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed issues on new m500

Yes, it followed from the "Run Test" link on the service status page.

I don't recall exactly what the message said.  I don't think there was a fault number. It offered an appointment so I took it.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
51 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed issues on new m500

Absolutely useless bunch at VM

They confirmed (by text) an appointment for someone to come by.  5 hour window.  So I waited. No one came.

So I called them.

"I'm sorry but your appointment was cancelled".

By whom?

"By us - there is a wider fault in the area"

Did anyone consider letting me know?

"I can only apologize"

When will it be fixed?

"We have no idea"

 

The connection has been useless for 10 days now.  The "Run Test" on the Check Service page alternates between saying everything is fine and there is a fault in the area.

 

I completely understand the need to cancel an appointment if there is a larger area issue.  But to confirm an appointment the day before and then not show up or let me know is ridiculous.  How am I supposed to know there is a wider issue when I haven't been told.

0 Kudos
Reply