Menu
Reply
jukbee
  • 25
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
874 Views
Message 1 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Slow speed internet

Hi,

Broadband speed has been great until the last 4-5 days when I could get no more than 10mb/s. I am on 200mb/s package. Tried switch off/on Hub 3, reset, etc. Tried to call CS but couldn't get through. So hoping someone can help out from this forum.

 

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.38K
  • 2.4K
  • 3.99K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
832 Views
Message 2 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed internet

You could try a factory reset again – a lot of the VM techies on here are suggesting it as a first option.

Note that a pinhole reset on a Hub3 can be a bit problematic - so do it EXACTLY this way (not as the VM website says!).

Firstly, make sure the Hub's sticker/card with the two passwords on it is still there and legible or you will be stuffed ! If its not – DON’T DO IT !

With the Hub "on" disconnect any ethernet connections and push in the “reset pin” with the end of a paperclip/thin nail or similar (bigger items like ball point pen ends may not press it in far enough) until you feel it at the “stop point” and hold it there firmly for a "timed" minimum of 60 seconds do NOT restart the Hub after that. Leave it 5' or so to stabilise and then your passwords/passphrase for both the Hub settings and the Wifi networks will revert to the two printed on the Hub sticker on its base/side/card. Make sure you use the wifi one for devices connecting to the wifi and the settings one to access the Hub.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
jukbee
  • 25
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
767 Views
Message 3 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed internet

Thanks, Mark.

I followed your instruction to the letter but it still doesn't solve the problem. I did the speed test and it could only get about 60-70mbps both ethernet (Cat 5e) and 5G band wifi.

 

I'll post some technical info here.

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
411000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
53699976
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
 

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14110000002.537256 qam33
22190000003.437256 qam11
32270000003.237256 qam12
4235000000337256 qam13
52430000003.237256 qam14
62510000003.237256 qam15
72590000003.237256 qam16
82670000003.537256 qam17
92750000003.237256 qam18
10283000000337256 qam19
112910000002.937256 qam20
12299000000337256 qam21
13307000000337256 qam22
14315000000337256 qam23
153230000002.937256 qam24
163470000002.737256 qam25
173550000002.537256 qam26
183630000002.437256 qam27
193710000002.437256 qam28
203790000002.537256 qam29
213870000002.537256 qam30
223950000002.737256 qam31
234030000002.537256 qam32
244190000002.237256 qam34



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.380
2Locked37.6140
3Locked37.6150
4Locked37.380
5Locked37.350
6Locked37.350
7Locked37.670
8Locked37.670
9Locked37.680
10Locked37.660
11Locked37.360
12Locked37.670
13Locked37.670
14Locked37.370
15Locked37.310
16Locked37.3130
17Locked37.350
18Locked37.380
19Locked37.380
20Locked37.390
21Locked37.390
22Locked37.690
23Locked37.690
24Locked37.640

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jukbee
  • 25
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
756 Views
Message 4 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed internet

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1536999764.375512064 qam2
2393999794.125512064 qam4
3462000394.225512064 qam3
4603000364.375512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
sgvca69834ncxv9873254k;fg87dsf



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID20850
Max Traffic Rate230000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID21289
Max Traffic Rate22000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling Type

BestEffort

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jukbee
  • 25
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
754 Views
Message 5 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed internet

Network Log

Time Priority Description

05/05/2020 08:32:45noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/05/2020 08:32:3Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/05/2020 21:30:2criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/05/2020 08:43:17noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2020 07:26:3criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/04/2020 13:22:31noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxl20016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/04/2020 13:22:31ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/04/2020 07:05:48ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/04/2020 02:39:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2020 12:15:54ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/04/2020 16:58:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/04/2020 16:11:58noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxl20016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/04/2020 16:11:58ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/04/2020 14:53:41ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/04/2020 15:36:37criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/04/2020 18:06:52noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxl20016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/04/2020 18:06:52ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/04/2020 17:01:55ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/04/2020 07:46:58criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/04/2020 21:04:9noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxl20016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Steven_L
  • 4.62K
  • 338
  • 458
Forum Team
Forum Team
726 Views
Message 6 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed internet

Thanks for posting your hub stats jukbee and I have also looked into the background of your account and cannot see any issues or network events that may have caused the issues that you're having.

 

Please would you be able to setup a broadband quality monitor using this site https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality, which will let us know what is happening to your connection and when the issues are occuring, we can then look into this further with this information.

 

Thanks

Steven_L

0 Kudos
Reply
jukbee
  • 25
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
716 Views
Message 7 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed internet

Thanks, Steven. I followed your instruction and here is the result of the test.2020-05-05_123931.jpg

 

Thanks

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Steven_L
  • 4.62K
  • 338
  • 458
Forum Team
Forum Team
695 Views
Message 8 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed internet

Thanks for the speed test information, the broadband quality monitor graph will look like the one below and shows details of the connection throughout the day, if you can leave this for 24 to 48 hours it will show us what and when the issue occurs, then log back into your account on the site and you will see Broadband quality monitor 

and the sections below 

 

'My list of BQM's and 'Full BQM graphs' click the Full bqm graphs

Once on that screen you can see the current date and select from any other day.

Please can you post that up here in 24 hours time.

 

 

My Broadband Ping - My Home Broadband

 

Regards

Steven_L

0 Kudos
Reply
jukbee
  • 25
  • 0
  • 0
On our wavelength
643 Views
Message 9 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed internet

Hi Steven,

I would like to share with you the BQM graph as you suggested.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/27befe5c381b7a528cbcc49bb6ad89da3c97d569

27befe5c381b7a528cbcc49bb6ad89da3c97d569.png

I did the speed test again. The result was still disappointing. It was around 80mbps, not even half of what I paid for.

I mean if the network in my area doesn't support 200mbps speed, then it could only be fair if the package is adjusted accordingly. I shouldn't be paying for what I couldn't get so to speak.

 

Thanks...

0 Kudos
Reply
Pawan_P
  • 141
  • 13
  • 20
Forum Team
Forum Team
620 Views
Message 10 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speed internet

Hi there my name is Pawan Paul I am a virgin media technician I can give you a few tips for example make sure all connections are tight from the back of the hub to the isolater then do a hard rest which can be found at the back of the hub

All and any advice given is based on my experience in the field. If my answer was helpful to you please Mark as helpful or consider leaving the post some Kudos.


Here to help! I'm a technician helping out whilst working from home. Find out more


0 Kudos
Reply