Menu
Reply
ImissBroadband
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
447 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Slow broadband on V350

Afternoon all,

Had my broadband installed on Friday but was unable to get my advertised speeds of 350 at the time of installation. The engineer went to the cabinet to take a look and said there was an issue that would be resolved Saturday (05/11/20).

Now on Wednesday, I still seem unable to get anything stable. Download ranges from 50MB to 350MB but never stays there. Most of the time its hovering around the 170 mark. In the evenings it seems to be worse. Last night it seemed to fail to reconnect after a reboot.

Any ideas? Would be greatly appreciated. Here are the logs from my router:

 
0 Kudos
Reply
ImissBroadband
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
444 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband on V350

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1331000000440256 qam25
2203000000440256 qam9
32110000003.738256 qam10
42190000003.940256 qam11
52270000003.538256 qam12
62350000003.238256 qam13
72430000002.538256 qam14
82510000002.240256 qam15
92590000002.540256 qam16
102670000003.240256 qam17
112750000003.240256 qam18
122830000003.440256 qam19
132910000003.540256 qam20
142990000003.940256 qam21
15307000000440256 qam22
163150000003.940256 qam23
173230000003.740256 qam24
183710000003.740256 qam26
193790000003.740256 qam27
203870000003.740256 qam28
213950000003.540256 qam29
224030000003.540256 qam30
234110000003.240256 qam31
244190000003.540256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3100
2Locked40.360
3Locked38.980
4Locked40.3110
5Locked38.960
6Locked38.980
7Locked38.9140
8Locked40.3180
9Locked40.3130
10Locked40.9110
11Locked40.370
12Locked40.380
13Locked40.9100
14Locked40.3250
15Locked40.360
16Locked40.360
17Locked40.3110
18Locked40.9140
19Locked40.390
20Locked40.900
21Locked40.990
22Locked40.350
23Locked40.380
24Locked40.3190
0 Kudos
Reply
ImissBroadband
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
441 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband on V350

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370003543.5512064 qam6
26030003044.3512064 qam5
33939994743512064 qam8
44620010743512064 qam7



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0010
0 Kudos
Reply
ImissBroadband
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
440 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband on V350

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062+voc-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID1267576
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID1267575
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
ImissBroadband
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
437 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband on V350

Network Log

Time Priority Description

08/12/2020 23:53:52criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/12/2020 23:27:42noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
08/12/2020 23:26:11noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
08/12/2020 20:12:13criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/12/2020 22:23:51noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
01/01/1970 00:01:36criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/12/2020 21:52:28noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
01/01/1970 00:01:40criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/12/2020 20:10:13Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/12/2020 19:41:58noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
07/12/2020 12:51:5Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/12/2020 12:51:0criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/12/2020 12:50:59Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/12/2020 12:50:59criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/12/2020 12:50:57Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/12/2020 12:50:41Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/12/2020 12:50:37criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/12/2020 12:50:37Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/12/2020 12:50:37criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/12/2020 12:50:36Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
ImissBroadband
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
432 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband on V350

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.51K
  • 2.7K
  • 4.92K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
423 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband on V350

Stats look ok. BQM looks ok shows the software update around 11.30 pm last night.

Nothing obcvious. So are you experiencing the issues on a computer/laptop/etc connected by ethernet cable or just on wifi connections?  It might just be a wifi issue rather than a network connection one.

Do a quick once over...

____________________

First switch the Hub off for 5 minutes AND unplug it from the mains. Whilst it's off, do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any connectors etc.  Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends.  Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure.  Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.  Then switch it on again and leave 5 minutes


--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
ImissBroadband
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
415 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband on V350

Hi John,

Thanks for the speedy reply.

Experiencing the issue on both laptop (WIFI) and wired connections to the hub. The hub is in modem mode and im using my own TP Link router. I didn't think this made any difference though as I had the same setup at a previous property with 0 issues, also on Virgin.

Curious whether there is an actual issue at the cabinet or it is beyond that. Service status said there were issues in my area but its all green now, and hasn't seemed to affect my connection for better or worse.

Bit of a head scratcher.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
ImissBroadband
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
414 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband on V350

"First switch the Hub off for 5 minutes AND unplug it from the mains. Whilst it's off, do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any connectors etc.  Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends.  Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure.  Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.  Then switch it on again and leave 5 minutes"

Thanks John, tried this last night after seeing this advice on another post. This is the outage you can see in the BQM late last night. Didnt seem to make a difference, but did take a long time to reconnect with some red flashing lights on the router.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.51K
  • 2.7K
  • 4.92K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
409 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband on V350

Tried a 60-second pinhole reset ?

Actually - logs do look a bit odd.  Someone who understands them more than me should comment more.


--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply