Menu
Reply
Spix83
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
679 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Slow broadband, constantly resetting my hub

My broadband is consistently slower than the minimum guaranteed speed of 107Mbps. Resetting the hub usually rectifies this (not always). I have made contact and been chatting to resolve it and was referred to the phone line means of communication. 40 minutes of terrible hold music followed be disconnection. After resets the speed is brilliant but it does not last. Do I need a new hub?

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
673 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband, constantly resetting my hub

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

 

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish. Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
Spix83
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
667 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband, constantly resetting my hub

My BQM 

0 Kudos
Reply
Spix83
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
662 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband, constantly resetting my hub

Downstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1 202750000 2.2 37 256 qam 9

2 210750000 1.9 37 256 qam 10

3 218750000 1.5 37 256 qam 11

4 226750000 1.2 37 256 qam 12

5 234750000 1.2 37 256 qam 13

6 242750000 1 37 256 qam 14

7 250750000 1 37 256 qam 15

8 258750000 0.9 37 256 qam 16

9 266750000 0.7 37 256 qam 17

0 Kudos
Reply
Spix83
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
660 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband, constantly resetting my hub

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1 53700000 51 5120 64 qam 2

2 60300000 51 5120 64 qam 1

3 39400000 51 5120 64 qam 4

4 46200000 51 5120 64 qam 3

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Spix83
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
658 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband, constantly resetting my hub

Network Log

Time Priority Description

17/10/2020 16:25:22 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

17/10/2020 09:28:59 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

15/10/2020 23:45:48 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

15/10/2020 11:47:2 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

15/10/2020 11:35:13 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
Spix83
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
589 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband, constantly resetting my hub

How long does it take for someone to analyse the data requested above? 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
583 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband, constantly resetting my hub

It seems odd that you have 9 Downstream Channels, which Hub do you have ?

Your Upstream Power levels are maxed out and will need an engineer to put them right.

You can either phone in (08:00 is the best time) or wait on here for a few days until one of the VM Forum Staff comes along.

If you wait on here Do Not bump the thread it will put it further down the VM 'to do list'.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Spix83
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
581 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband, constantly resetting my hub

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
12027500002.437256 qam9
22107500002.237256 qam10
32187500001.737256 qam11
42267500001.537256 qam12
52347500001.437256 qam13
62427500001.237256 qam14
72507500001.237256 qam15
8258750000137256 qam16
9266750000137256 qam17
102747500000.737256 qam18
112827500000.437256 qam19
122907500000.236256 qam20
132987500000.237256 qam21
143067500000.237256 qam22
15314750000037256 qam23
16322750000-0.437256 qam24
17402750000-2.737256 qam25
18410750000-2.737256 qam26
19418750000-337256 qam27
20426750000-3.237256 qam28
21434750000-3.437256 qam29
22442750000-3.537256 qam30
23450750000-3.537256 qam31
24458750000-3.537256 qam32


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked37.3500
2Locked37.3470
3Locked37.6630
4Locked37.3860
5Locked37.3680
6Locked37.3970
7Locked37.31280
8Locked37.6940
9Locked37.31870
10Locked37.61850
11Locked37.32290
12Locked36.62160
13Locked37.31960
14Locked37.31760
15Locked37.31650
16Locked37.31880
17Locked37.35500
18Locked37.35680
19Locked37.36990
20Locked37.38360
21Locked37.39510
22Locked37.39600
23Locked37.310270
24Locked37.311670
0 Kudos
Reply
Spix83
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
345 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow broadband, constantly resetting my hub

This broadband speed problem still remains, less than 40Mbps this morning! What is the point of a guaranteed minimum speed of 107Mbps if you can't meet it?

0 Kudos
Reply