Menu
Reply
TAtherton
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
646 Views
Message 1 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Slow, and variable speeds

Hi,

Having issues with variable and at times vary slow speeds on WiFi. 
I have had a booster added and although this ‘seemed’ to make a difference initially it has all reverted back to very slow speeds at times. 
Near the hub speed test start well over 100 but ends up around 75, elsewhere, including 2 meters from the booster is between 5 and 30mb. 
I should be getting up to 200mb. 
Here is the info from the router if anyone is able to help?

Thank you in advance. 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620001743.5512064 qam1
22580000043.5512064 qam4
33260000043.5512064 qam3
43939996143.5512064 qam2

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0010

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13230000001.537256 qam24
2139000000035256 qam1
3147000000035256 qam2
4155000000035256 qam3
5163000000035256 qam4
61710000000.235256 qam5
7179000000035256 qam6
8187000000035256 qam7
9195000000-0.236256 qam8
10203000000-0.735256 qam9
11211000000-0.235256 qam10
12219000000036256 qam11
132270000000.236256 qam12
14235000000036256 qam13
15243000000-0.236256 qam14
16251000000-0.236256 qam15
17259000000036256 qam16
18267000000036256 qam17
192750000000.236256 qam18
202830000000.537256 qam19
212910000000.737256 qam20
22299000000137256 qam21
23307000000137256 qam22
243150000001.237256 qam23

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.3400
2Locked3565970
3Locked35.548730
4Locked35.518740
5Locked35.518340
6Locked35.519300
7Locked35.79640
8Locked35.712400
9Locked36.62820
10Locked35.73510
11Locked35.74190
12Locked36.31820
13Locked36.31020
14Locked36.3800
15Locked36.31650
16Locked36.3960
17Locked36.6750
18Locked36.6810
19Locked36.6600
20Locked37.6430
21Locked37.3480
22Locked37.3430
23Locked37.6450
24Locked37.3290

 

04/01/2022 17:00:16noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/01/2022 17:58:0noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/01/2022 17:58:0ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/2022 21:34:42criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/2022 10:43:11noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/12/2021 21:38:58criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2021 23:37:55noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2021 23:37:55ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/12/2021 03:50:15criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/12/2021 11:37:55noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/12/2021 11:37:55ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/12/2021 21:11:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/12/2021 13:38:2noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/12/2021 13:38:2ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2021 21:09:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2021 15:29:1noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2021 15:29:1ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/12/2021 02:09:59criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/12/2021 23:26:8noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/12/2021 23:26:8ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
Akua_A
  • 4.03K
  • 102
  • 272
Forum Team
Forum Team
633 Views
Message 2 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow, and variable speeds

Hi @TAtherton,

Welcome back to our community forums and sorry to hear you have been having issues with your service speeds.

We want to do our best to understand and to help. I have been able to access your account and I can see everything looks good back end. Just to confirm, how long has this issue been ongoing? Are you recording these speeds on wired or wireless devices? 

Thanks,

Akua_A
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
TAtherton
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
626 Views
Message 3 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow, and variable speeds

Hi,

Thanks for getting in touch. The issues have been going on for months. I hoped that the booster would help upstairs but it hasn’t. The devices are on WiFi and can drop the connection to some of them when only 2 meters from the router which is out in the open. 
The speed can be over 100 at times as I say but it’s not consistent. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 6.08K
  • 511
  • 1.57K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
614 Views
Message 4 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow, and variable speeds

Firstly you stats look fine, however here are a couple of things to try;

Try checking with Area faults on 0800 561 0061 or if you have a VM landline 150 as small area faults are nor listed on the VM status page.

Try a full factory reset as below;

Remove any ethernet cables from the Hub and hold the pinhole reset switch for 60 seconds. Do NOT reboot the Hub, just let it do it's thing. Note you will need the passwords from the bottom of the Hub afterwards, so make sure they are legible.

Also setup a BQM here www.thinkbroadband.com/ping 

Once done we can comment.   Make sure your speeds tests are NOT wifi, and are done with a known good Cat 6a cable directly to the Hub with a gigabit capable device.  VM do not recognise wifi tests.

I would have also suggested splitting the wifi SSID, but as you have Pods, it can't be done I believe.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Molly_T
  • 1.45K
  • 45
  • 136
Forum Team
Forum Team
588 Views
Message 5 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow, and variable speeds

Hi @TAtherton, Thank you for getting back to us. 

I have had a look on our systems again today, and all your speeds are looking good - averaging 216 download and 19.49 upload in the last week. However I can see a couple of disconnections from the last week, the most recent being Friday 7th. 

There are not currently any area issues showing that would be affecting you. 

If you could try some of the steps advised by @Adduxi - Check all cables, do a pinhole reset and set up a BQM, and get back to us letting us know how you got on. (Please be aware doing a pinhole reset will return your hub to its factory settings, so any personalised settings or passwords for your network will need to be set up again.)

Hopefully we can get to the bottom of the issue for you! 

All the best. 

Molly
0 Kudos
Reply
TAtherton
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
566 Views
Message 6 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow, and variable speeds

Thank you for yours and @Adduxi assistance.

I have reset the router as instructed and created a BQM.  the link to the first test is here: https://www.thinkbroadband.com/speedtest/1641840184394435155

Just for your reference we lost connection this afternoon again for s short time, before the reset.

regards.

Tracy

0 Kudos
Reply
TAtherton
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
565 Views
Message 7 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow, and variable speeds

Thank you so much 🙂
0 Kudos
Reply
Beth_G
  • 4.8K
  • 276
  • 513
Forum Team
Forum Team
518 Views
Message 8 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow, and variable speeds

Thanks TAtheton.

It does appear that you have completed a speed test from the broadband quality monitor website - we would need you to set up a monitor instead if possible 🙂 sorry for any confusion. A monitor can be set up for free here

However from the link that you sent with the speed test, your speeds are above your advertised speeds - was this test conducted over a wired or wireless connection this time?

Thanks

 

Beth
0 Kudos
Reply
TAtherton
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
512 Views
Message 9 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow, and variable speeds

Hi Beth, 

I did set up a monitor-link here.  Let me know if there is an issue with access or if I have misunderstood your request.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/863aeb1297bc33b68cbb3049992b040622...

The speed test was done on a device wired to the hub.  The problem with a one off test is that is does not show the dips in performance.  Today, around 2m from the booster, on a new iPad, the speed was around 30mb.   I know that you need to measure the wired speed but this is not practical for all other devices in the house, especially on brand new ones.

I do appreciate all your help in getting to the bottom of this.

Tracy

0 Kudos
Reply
Kath_F
  • 33.66K
  • 1.29K
  • 2.72K
Forum Team
Forum Team
476 Views
Message 10 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow, and variable speeds

Hi TAtherton, 

Thanks for coming back to us on this one. 

Have you had your hub turned off? If not then it looks as though you have set up the BQM incorrectly as it's not reporting any data currently. 

As all your stats are looking good, the area is fine too and the wired speed checks you've sent are correct, it sounds as though this issue is to do with the WiFi. If the devices are away from the Hub, it may be worth looking at adding WiFi pod to your network to help improve things. You can read more about that here. As you already have one, you may need the second to help boost things further. If you do wish to order one, speak to the team on 0345 454 1111.

These links will also help to improve things.

Please pop back and let us know how things go. 

Thanks,  

Kath_F
Forum Team




New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply