Menu
Blueskiesaregre
Joining in
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Slow VM350 WiFi

Hello,

I’m not technically proficient. I recently upgraded from the M200 broadband package to the M350. I’ve run numerous speed tests through the recommended speed test website and app, on many different devices. The fastest my download speed has ever been was on day three after I upgraded to M350. That was 134mbps. Usually I am given a reading of 40 to 90mbps. Does anyone know why it would be this slow? I live in Bromley, Area 20. 
I’ve attached a photo of the speed test that I’ve run just now. 

My home hub .3 is in a central place with no clutter around it. We are a family home with 15 devices regularly connecting (which is why I upgraded to M350mbps). On the old package, my family sometimes complained of slow speeds, buffering and dropped signal. On the M350 package, all family members are saying it’s even slower and more dropped WiFi signals. Kids now prefer to use their 4G data than our home Virgin Media broadband. 

i have reset and rebooted the home hub .3 many times, chatted online to VM tech support, but no success. I don’t expect to receive 350mbps, although when I upgraded, the VM operator said that M350 runs differently and we would always receive 350mbps, no matter how many devices are using the WiFi signal. I do expect better speed than 200mbps. 

I hope that someone could help me please?

Many thanks. D8D8F42C-63F4-41F8-B632-D644ECC81EAB.jpeg

0 Kudos
jpeg1
Community elder
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow VM350 WiFi

Upgrading the broadband speed will only give a faster connection with wired devices.

The WiFi speed depends on many factors in your house, and with many devices sharing it they will only get part of that speed each. The Hub has only very basic WiFi and many people find that they need to buy a better WiFi device or a mesh system to give solid coverage of a busy household. 

0 Kudos
Blueskiesaregre
Joining in
Message 3 of 13