Menu
Reply
jimo2012
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
311 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Slow Upload Speeds

Hello All

For months now I've been getting slow upload speeds during the day of around 4-5mps.  

I wasnt really bothered before, but now we're working from home, its becoming and issue.  I've got an engineer booked, but I'm assuming my high Upload powerlevels maybe the issue?

Thanks

James

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620016846512064 qam5
23260007745.5512064 qam7
33940010345.5512064 qam6
42580001345.5512064 qam8



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0010

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13310000007.540256 qam25
22190000006.438256 qam11
32270000006.538256 qam12
42350000006.838256 qam13
52430000006.940256 qam14
6251000000740256 qam15
7259000000740256 qam16
8267000000738256 qam17
9275000000738256 qam18
102830000007.140256 qam19
112910000007.138256 qam20
122990000007.438256 qam21
133070000007.540256 qam22
143150000007.538256 qam23
153230000007.540256 qam24
163710000007.140256 qam26
173790000007.138256 qam27
183870000007.140256 qam28
19395000000740256 qam29
20403000000738256 qam30
214110000006.938256 qam31
224190000006.438256 qam32
23427000000640256 qam33
244350000005.640256 qam34



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.380
2Locked38.980
3Locked38.930
4Locked38.9180
5Locked40.3110
6Locked40.390
7Locked40.3120
8Locked38.9100
9Locked38.970
10Locked40.3110
11Locked38.9150
12Locked38.9260
13Locked40.3230
14Locked38.6270
15Locked40.3270
16Locked40.370
17Locked38.990
18Locked40.980
19Locked40.3130
20Locked38.9110
21Locked38.9220
22Locked38.980
23Locked40.3220
24Locked40.3200
0 Kudos
Reply
sayekm
  • 304
  • 26
  • 56
Fibre optic
299 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Upload Speeds

Also been few months since kids started home school. What internet package do you have.?

Your upstream is perfect..even better than mine.. I have 1 stuck at 16 qam




xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
M200 Oomph - 5GB SIM + 3 extra SIM family plan - BT whole Wi-Fi - Sky Q
............................................................................................................................
Don't cry over Virgin price increase instead speak to retentions team and negotiate a better deal.
0 Kudos
Reply
jimo2012
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
294 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Upload Speeds

I'm on the 200mps package..

It was my understanding that voltage should be a close to 0 as possible? 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.48K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.61K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
289 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Upload Speeds

Lets see how "busy" your connection is
______________________________

If you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
sayekm
  • 304
  • 26
  • 56
Fibre optic
270 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Upload Speeds

The desireable power for downstream is zero but it still has a wide range. The max for upload is 51 and yours is well below that with 4x perfect 64qam.

If follow Jbrennand instruction and setup the BQM should be able to check how congested your area network is.
I have M200 and get around 210down but 10up durring the day.. but outside the peak day times its back to 20up



xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
M200 Oomph - 5GB SIM + 3 extra SIM family plan - BT whole Wi-Fi - Sky Q
............................................................................................................................
Don't cry over Virgin price increase instead speak to retentions team and negotiate a better deal.
0 Kudos
Reply
jimo2012
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
252 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Upload Speeds

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.48K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.61K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
217 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Upload Speeds

Wall of red means either the i.p. address in the BQM settings is not yours - double check your i.p. address.
Or, the Hub (or your own router) is set to not respond to pings - you need to tick the box to allow it to accept them.

Navigate to routers web interface
>Advanced Settings > Advanced > Ping > (tick box to) Respond to ICMP echo requests sent to WAN IP)

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
jimo2012
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
181 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Upload Speeds

Thanks!  I'll take a look...

The engineer visited and claimed that there are nationwide issues with upload speeds the moment and they are working on it.  He wanted to also swap my super hub for a new one, but the system they use for provisioning new routers is not working...

So no further forward... lol

0 Kudos
Reply
Corey_C
  • 2.73K
  • 152
  • 221
Forum Team
Forum Team
106 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow Upload Speeds

Thanks for replying, jimo2012,

 

We have been having issues with hub activations in the past few days. Have you been able to get this sorted since your post?

 

Cheers,

Corey C

0 Kudos
Reply